We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay! Could not have been bettered!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birch Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birch Cottage
Save
You added Birch Cottage to your Saves list
7 Station Road, Garve IV23 2PS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Garve B&B and Inns
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay! Could not have been bettered!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stopped off to stay here en route to the Orkney islands and thoroughly recommend this lovely cottage and its friendly and kind owners. The accommodation is lovely: our rooms were next to the road, but we were not disturbed by traffic AT ALL and this was the height of the holiday season. Very comfortable accommodation, delightfully comfortable bed and spotlessly clean all round, including our ensuite bathroom. Also there were lovely gardens and a nice little village nearby. However, BEST OF ALL IS THE FANTASTIC FOOD! Both the evening meal and breakfasts were superb standard, better than any restaurant we have visited for a very, very long time; the owner was a chef for many years at top hotels and this experience is obvious from the wonderful cooking. We also met a German family staying overnight too and they told us it was the best accommodation they had found anywhere. BRILLIANT VALUE FOR MONEY AND WE THOROUGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We arrived really late (later than we had said!), yet had a friendly reception and no complaints. Slept like a log. The breakfast was really tasty and the ingredients were high quality. Best poached eggs I have eaten. Also very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

A warm welcome, clean comfortable room and superb evening meals and delicious breakfasts - especially the smoked salmon and scrambled egg!
We stayed for 3 nights in the room nearest to the road and whilst some traffic could be heard, there was very little after 10-00pm. We are light sleepers and it did not disturb us.. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Recommended for cyclists; super evening meals, for closeness to station + opportunities to cycle on routes to the north.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in the Carpathians
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Ray and Linda a most welcoming and friendly couple who went out of their way to ensure that their guests were well looked after. Ray as a cook for many years provided a most varied, excellent and delicious dinner with all fresh produce and a breakfast of size and taste to last the day. Linda meanwhile served with her happy smiling self. Even though situated close to the main road, there was no problem with noise during the night even with a window open. A very excellent place to stay whether for one night or several.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

They have three rooms. I cannot comment on the room inside the main house, but the external rooms are right on the main road - loud traffic all through the night. You could not sleep with the windows open. And I could not sleep with the windows closed - there is a real damp problem here, very bad musty smell. I had to leave. Completely unacceptable. (The evening meal was lovely though!)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuck in Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

A bit of a mixed bag. Garve's a great location for the hills but Birch Cottage is right on the main road and traffic noise intrudes badly into one of the rooms. Having dinner on the premises is a plus but it can be difficult to make a choice from a lengthy menu when standing in the hall whilst dripping wet after a five hour drive with bags at feet when one hasn't even thought about the evening ahead. The 1980's retro menu is interesting. I assume that's the intention. Bedrooms need some serious updating and refreshing. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birch Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Cottage

Address: 7 Station Road, Garve IV23 2PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Garve
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Garve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birch Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.