We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highland escape garve hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garve Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garve Country Hotel to your Saves list
Garve Country Hotel
Mar Road | Garve Center, Garve IV23 2PR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Garve B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“highland escape garve hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

a very nice hotel if not the most modern.it was about 20 miles from inverness with no shops etc so you were stuck there untill bus took you on the trips but want a problem with any one there at same time as me .everyone else on trip were friendly and people soon paired up for entertainment nights all mixed in with each other and shared tables etc happily and made some lasting friendships swapping adresses /numbers etc at end of trip. it was clean and beds and showers were as good as any other hotel i have been in.maybe a slight bit of a paintjob was needed in room but i was not bothered as david urquart tour prices are very good value and worth a try.food was good and plenty to eat with a nice choice all served by very pleasent staff and quickly seen to if you had a problem with meal or wanted more coffee /toast etc.entertainment was more geared to older people but i enjoyed the scotish night greatly and was let down by sixties /seventies night by a person who seemed drunk sang only 2 1970 s songs and spent more time playing shadows music which he said were his favourite.kept popping into kitchen area for no good reason and when he did his stupid puppet act was quite rude to people who didnt want to give their name and was almost shouting via the puppet.the people got up and moved further back the room away from him..some one also said they were sure he drove away from hotel after show and as he looked drunk it was a bit of a worry.
last night was a dreary sounding comedian with old jokes but again older people loved him and sang and danced along with him when he did his acordian music.i could face comedian and first night singer alan roy who was excelent but would stay in other lounge while haggis the puppet was there with someone who looked like he couldnt give a dam if you were entertained or not.trips were good though our full day in inverness was cut short by a trip first to a woollen mill /gift shop place and then we were back in hotel very early that day and i would have preffered the full day as promised in holiday advert.driver was pleasent enough and pointed out some bits of intrest etc. i would recomend you do not use toilet on bus as it stank badly even though he said it had a airfreshner in it.i was ill and still managed to note the foul smell in there.al in all a good value for money trip and i would recomend it and in fact i am going away with david urquart again in november to dunnoon trip and cant wait

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    42
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
15
53
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
fife scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

this was our 2nd visit to this hotel&it hasn't changed,we were given a two bedrom "apartment"which was in a tired condition with no shower only a bath!and a rubber hose to fix to the taps but nowhere to hang the shower head !but it was clean&comfortable,the hotel has seen better days and for the price we paid it was good value,the food was adequate although not exiting,in fact we paid more for a very poor meal in inverness than we paid for dinner bed&breakfast at garve hotel,overall good value,and the location for touring wester ross is superb,i used to tour the highlands with a caravan&find this the best option for me to tour the highlands at not to much over the price of a caravan site £118 for two nights dinner b&b cannot be beaten,so finally, for touring,and a bit of entertainment at night this is an ok hotel&the girls serving meals etc are excellent,pleasant&courtious&i will return again.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhanbryde
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Seriously long over due an upgrade - in fact it wants demolishing and start again - I have never seen such dilapidated buildings and rooms which ok we are in the Highlands but do we really need the old tatty tartan country look and stuffed animals and fish everywhere - the place stank of mould and un-aired rooms. The food was shockingly bad - cheap trade supplied food - not even fresh vegetables - peas and carrots out of a tin served on plates and stainless steel dishes - it was like school dinners, sorry it wasn't even that good, hardly what you would expect from a country hotel. The entertainment was dire - we really could not force ourselves to endure it ! Only plus was location for exploring north west Highlands. I pity the poor folk who are paying probably a fair price for a coach trip holiday and end up here.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garve hotels

1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner have just came back from a 2 night stay at the grave hotel. The manager came onto the bus to meet us before we went in and straight away we could tell the guy was in the wrong job. His name is Ian and I mean this when I say it his attitude was terrible. The room was basic and small, we were lucky enough to get a shower in our room as most of them have baths. The tv was rite up at the ceiling and all the floor boards creeked everywhere. The first night we went down for dinner and the manager tried to get us to share a table with other people, I have never experiencied this before ever and when we said no we were nearlly arguing with him. After dinner we had ententairment if you can call it that, the second night was 60s music and a puppet added into it yeah a puppet it was that bad. The only good thing I can say is the food cause it was the only good thing.. I would not recommend this place to anyone and if anyone is thinking about going I would strongley recommend you don't.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Here for 2nights on our tour of Scotland and it was the worst place by a long way.The room was adequate and clean but every sound could be heard from next door.The food left a lot to be desired and was of a poor standard,you had to order what you wanted for the evening meal at breakfast and starters and bread rolls were on table in afternoon when we returned from a trip out.Breakfast very basic and only Luke warm and only served from 8 til 8.30 to accommodate coach trips,when I complained about this I was told in no uncertain terms that was the nature of their business and what could I expect from the price I paid!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Just back from D.U holiday to the Garve Hotel Scotland.Although this holiday was value for money, very friendly helpful staff, clean rooms & excellent food it is not advisable to have a room directly above the entertainment room. Room 117 & 115 were occupied by myself and family (gran, grandad & mother). My gran is 83 & likes to bed down relatively early (9.30pm) after an exhausting day & on the odd day myself also. This was impossible due to extreme noise level from downstairs entertainment, you wouldve thought the music was being played in the bedrooms. This went on till 11pm every night. Even though we put the tv on some nights as loud as poss it didnt drown the racket. Bedroom walls very thin everything can be heard ( a pin dropping), bathrooms very dated, enamel worn baths & also very small.

Room Tip: rooms above the entertainment room experience extreme noise levels ie. 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from an enjoyable weekend at the Garve Hotel. We spent 3 nights over the Easter weekend on an easybreak which included bed breakfast and evening meal.
The hotel is located in a small village with no shops or public houses within walking distance, so options in the evenings are very limited, the hotel did lay on entertainment on each of the nights we where there, unfortunately it was not to our taste.
The staff within the hotel where friendly and helpful, the room we had been allocated (204) was on the third floor and could be accessed by either stairs or a small lift, it was clean and spacious, the evening meals where good with 3 or 4 choices for each course, the full breakfast was limited to bacon, egg, fried bread, tomato and if you where lucky a small amount of beans.
The bar prices where reasonable for hotel prices, two alcohol drinks for around £5, the price of wine by the bottle was good £7 to £10 depending on type.
Overall the hotel is a good base for a number of walks around the area, if the weather is not too good there is limited number of indoor attractions in the area.
We have visited a number of areas over the highlands and would suggest there are better located hotels within the same price range.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garve Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garve Country Hotel

Address: Mar Road | Garve Center, Garve IV23 2PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Garve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Garve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Garve Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garve Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.