We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going the Extra Mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garve Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garve Country Hotel to your Saves list
Garve Country Hotel
Mar Road | Garve Center, Garve IV23 2PR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Garve B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Going the Extra Mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent Hogmanay at the Garve Hotel. While there we observed what good management and staff using their skills and imagination can do to provide a first-class experience. (Are you listening Dunblane Hydro?) If good management is that which achieves results and delivers service without fuss or request then the Garve has got it right.

Our room was very clean, warm and in good repair offering us a comfortable stay. The food was more than ample in variety and quantity and served with a quiet efficiency. A special 'thank you' to the kitchen staff who were beavering away behind the scenes while others had their holiday.

Entertainment was provided each night of our stay and was enjoyed by all to judge from the reactions. To the critic who compained of the "embarassing" Haggis puppet, I can only say that over a hundred people were so "embarrassed" that they gave every sign of enjoying the act. The Panto (you had to be there to appreciate it) was an example of what can be achieved by Managment initiative and the 'Lost Boy' will be remembered by many.

What lifted our stay above the ordinary were also the little touches e.g. the glossy calendar which appeared in each room and the delivery of a bottle of wine and a packet of shortbread to each room on Ne'erday; all without charge. These acts could have been omitted and nobody would have been any the wiser but the Management went the extra mile and it was very well appreciated.

Thank you Garve Hotel and all who sail in her; you made our holiday one to remember.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    42
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
15
53
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Garve Hotel. The food was great, the staff brilliant and the bar prices were very reasonable. 7 quid for a bottle of wine was very good. The only thing I would criticise was the time for breakfast. 8am for one coach party and 8.30 for the other. This is far too early for a lot of people and as we were there from 2 January we were getting up when it was still dark! The consensus of opinion from other guests from the same coach was that it was far more regimented than other Urquhart holidays. It was as if guests were to get up and out as early as possible for goodness knows what reason. We were on our way to Inverness at 9.45am and it's only 11 miles away from the hotel! Far too early I'm afraid. Hugh the coach driver was very good and was knowledgeable of the area. The entertainment was the norm for these holidays but it was okay. Apart from timing of breakfast the holiday was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linlithgow scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

went to garve hotel for new year 30th dec 2011 till the 2nd jan 2012 third time there would recomend this hotel to anyone from manageress to waiters/waitresses cleaning staff could not praise the enough about the standered of service that we received food was brilliant plenty of it all i can say is would recommend this hotel to anybody entertainment was brilliant with a variety of entertainers each night some reviews criticise the entertainer with the hand puppet called haggis i was the butt of his jokes and i thought it was hilariuos it all great fun as for the entertainers that were on the other two nights they were very very good as well

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Not Gleneagles, but it does not pretend to be, clean rooms, good food, very reasonable prices, great service from super staff, must be best value for money hotel I have ever stayed in, yes you could nit pick, but not for the price.
Highly recommended to anyone on a budget who will appreciate that this hotel is mainly used by coach parties, geared to great value and service - there were two coach parties when we were there and they had entertainment both evenings which we were invited to - super fun, it was all over by 11.00pm and shortly after this the hotel was silent.
Good car parking facilities.
We will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here while on a David Urquhart coach holiday. We stayed from Monday evening till Friday morning. We both found the staff to be polite, friendly and the manageress, Jeanette, was very welcoming and helpful. Check-in was well organised and simple, just a matter of collecting your key and being directed to your room. The rooms were immaculate as was the whole hotel. The food was tasty but one tiny criticism perhaps would be that the portions might be a bit meagre for those with very healthy appetites. The entertainment the first night was the excellent Alan Roy, the second night was a surly bass player/singer of limited ability who seemed to resent people not paying 100% silent attention and would glare or make barbed comments if he heard or saw anyone talking. He is completely charmless. The third entertainer was a Hank Marvin style guitar player who spoiled his act with a silly puppet performance which changed our tapping toes to curling. We enjoyed our stay at Garve very much and we would happily return if in the area. Thank you to Jeanette and all her staff. Have to also mention our driver Ken and his wife Linda. They are great. Kens knowledge is amazing and he puts a lot of effort and care into making sure everyone is informed, entertained and looked after. Linda is sweet and helpful and very approachable. They are a credit to David Urquhart Travel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Garve Country Hotel is situated a long way from a town. On saying that, I knew that before going there on my second ever bus tour. I said I would never do it again because the last one to Folkestone was dreadful, however I had my travelling companion to think of who loves bus tours! The hotel itself was surprisingly nice. Sheets,towels and bathroom immaculate. Rooms well cleaned, although carpet could do with being renewed in the bedroom I was in. A lick of paint on window ledges at entrance to hotel would do a lot to make it look smarter. No hairdrier but kettle, coffee and tea in room. The food was acceptable both at breakfast and dinner. The thing that makes this hotel is how friendly and smiling the waitresses are. Couldn't be more helpful and deserve a mention. Ian the guy who runs the place was nice too. The entertainment laid on nightly was a mix. The first night it was an accordian player/singer. He was excellent. The next night it was some guy with a mangey glove puppet called Haggis, which was a real insult to your intelligence and cringe-worthy. The third night it was a singer who gave the residents several rows for talking. We left as soon as we could. He was really cheeky. One out of three wasn't too bad. All in all a well run decent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

On our arrival, whilst passing on our way to west coast, we had booked a double room but were given a 2 bed apartment. loads of space complete with kitchenette and lounge area.Two coach parties arrived but we heard no noise at all in this selfcontained apt. I was surprised how big this hotel was and the staff were very attentive and helpful. A full breakfast was served next morning. I have to say i never usually have porridge away from home but this hotel had a huge pot at the self serve table and it was gorgeous, as wasthe lovely light and fluffy scrambled eggs. With a bit of TLC this hotel could be something very special. Just dont make it too modern that would not suit thebuilding.

Room Tip: We had apt no. 1. It looked out onto the car park and main road. Only tip would b to switch off wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garve Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garve Country Hotel

Address: Mar Road | Garve Center, Garve IV23 2PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Garve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Garve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Garve Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garve Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.