We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come back Bruno & Beverley” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bruno's Bistro

Bruno's Bistro
4 Commerical Street | Willington, County Durham, Willington DL15 0AD, England
01388 746534
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Willington
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Come back Bruno & Beverley”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Unfortunately I was in the resteraunt on 12th October and witnessed the extremely poor service, food not up to normal standards and regulars being turned away due to the lack of tables despite previously booked. In fairness the one waiter that was on duty (as the second one had not turned into work) did try his very best best but I feel the harder he tried the worse it got. I am probably one of many many local residents who frequented Bruno's on a regular basis but now feel we must try and find a new "Italian" gem further afield. I understand that Bruno's health was not good hence the sale and wish him and Beverley a healthy retirement but we too will not be back until normal service is resumed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Have visited this restaurant many times and always been a favourite. Sadly my opinion has totally changed, the restaurant is no longer owned by Bruno. I had a table booked for 2 people which had been booked for 3wks, I rang on the evening we were due to dine there to confirm the booking, no problem I was told. We arrived and it was obvious there was no table for us, we hovered in the tiny doorway while the waiter did everything but acknowledge our presence, obviously hoping that if he ignored us for long enough we would take the hint and go away. When it became apparent we were going nowhere he eventually came and asked us if we had booked. When we said yes he told us 10 minutes we would have a table. I could see how busy it was and he didn't look like he knew what he was doing (not taking any notice of table reservations was a fair indication of this) so I suggested we would go and have a drink and return in half an hour thinking this would give him more time. We returned at the agreed time and no one had moved. In fact the people who were waiting for food when we had first gone in were still waiting when we returned and were still waiting in the following 15mins we were still stood waiting for a table, a table which it was becoming apparent he had given to someone else and we weren't going to get. He apologised and pointed to a couple who had eaten and paid the bill saying we could have their table but they were still enjoying their bottle of wine and nor should they have felt they were being encouraged to leave just because he had no idea how to follow his list of reservations, or get the food out on time. He did offer us a free drink but then failed to get us one so finally we decided just to leave. A huge disappointment as I loved having a good Italian restaurant on my doorstep but Bruno's no longer fits that description.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shocking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked table for 7.15 for 7 of us for my wife's birthday got there on time ordered our meal from the menu then waited for a hour for them to be served then after another hour one of out party got up and asked if there was a problem with our order only to have her head ripped off by the owners wife that said they were busy and that we had messed around with the menu which was a load of rubbish then she approached our table and ask if we still wanted our meal if not just go we were disgusted with her lack of customer service and attitude .
We have been to Bruno's on several occasions and understand they struggle to get food out as they only have 1 guy cooking but they should never treat customers like that
We will never step foot in the place again 0 out of 10

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We use brunos quite regular more because of lack of alternatives than anything else but never the less this is usually a good experience with average food can be very cramped and warm if busy though!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Squisito”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This place is seriously good. The whole dining experience is fantastic. This has to be the best italian experience outside Italy

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno's Bistro also viewed

Willington, Derbyshire
Crook, County Durham
 

Been to Bruno's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruno's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.