We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another welcome return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bruno's Bistro

Bruno's Bistro
4 Commerical Street | Willington, County Durham, Willington DL15 0AD, England
01388 746534
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Willington
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another welcome return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is fast becoming our favourite little bistro to take friends and family - we have visited many times since my last review and are never disappointed. Our last visit was with a party of 11 adults and teenagers to celebrate my friends birthday - it was the first time she had been and was very impressed with the food we all had pasta, chicken or pizza (one fussy teenager requested no herbs on the pizza -not a problem). We all had deserts or excellent coffee - clean plates all round. Beverley, the owner could not have been more welcoming -and even gave a birthday gift to my friend and a complimentary pud with sparkler in!
I cannot understand the inarticulate mindless reviewer who would think otherwise of such a lovely little restaurant - which begs the question - has he really been?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent first visit will definitely be back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Superb food, visited for the first time with my partner for her birthday. Brunos is a real Gem! Friendly and attentive staff set in a cosy atmospheric restaurant brunos has a real Italian feel that beats most if not all italians in the area, highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, poor service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Just back from Bruno's Bistro. Decided to give it a try after hearing good reviews. I have to say the food was very good and the prices were very reasonable as it was happy hour. We booked for 5pm and were told that we would have to vacate the table for 6 which we had no problem with, but our starter didn't come until 530 which left us half an hour to eat a starter and a main. We wanted dessert but were not even offered it we just had the bill shoved down on the table. I also noticed that another couple were turned away due to double booking and the owner pointed to where we were sat. Nice, this made it feel even worse and made it feel like they were desperate to get us out. Had our starter came in good time this would not have been a problem but we felt as though we were in the way. We also offered to move to a different table when a group of four came in but the owner said no and was quite rude about it. A real shame because the food was very good and represented great value for money, the service was sadly lacking. Might give it another try but would expect a more courteous welcome!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“extremely good food and amazing value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we had a table for 9 booked at half 5. i had to double look at the menu when i saw the prices. to be honest i was abit dubious what the food was going to be like as it was so cheap. i ordered a prawn cocktail and a chicken dish and it was delicious. i will definately be returning and recommending brunos as a terrific restaurant! oh and the service was fine i thought for such a busy place

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

really enjoyed this one.good,fresh, homemade,authentic italian food.good sized portions and excellent value.
only downside its a little cramped inside.
staff are pleasent and friendly

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno's Bistro also viewed

Willington, Derbyshire
Crook, County Durham
 

Been to Bruno's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruno's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.