We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ibis budget Derby

ibis budget Derby
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added ibis budget Derby to your Saves list
ibis budget Derby
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etwall Road, Willington DE65 6DX, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Derby)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Modern no-frills basic motor hotel aimed at the budget conscious traveller. Reminds me of Ikea with its functionally designed furnishings in bright colours and pale wood-coloured laminates. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. The reception area includes tables and chairs where one can socialize, have breakfast.... or eat your own takeaway meal in the evening. All-you-can-eat continental breakfast is £4.95 extra and is good value.

Hotel is located in a travel plaza with other food options a short walk away across the car park. The hotel policy on quietness is appreciated. All room and bathroom equipment worked well. No leaky taps or sinks that didn't drain well! Checkin and checkout was quick and efficient. Would I stay at the Ibis Budget Hotel again when next in the Derby area? Certainly!

Note: Guests should recognize that this hotel is located out in the country midway between Derby and Burton at a travel rest stop at the junction of two major roads (A38 and A50). As a result, public bus or train transport to the Ibis Derby is challenging and a taxi to this hotel would be relatively expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you very much for your positive comments; I am happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Budget Derby again very soon. Kind Regards, Lamyae Frija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    137
    46
    12
    14
See reviews for
110
103
41
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunbar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is our third trip to this hotel and each time we have stayed there is has been for a trip to Alton Towers which is just a 30 minute drive away.

The rooms in this hotel are basic but clean, everything you would expect from an Ibis. We had a family room which has the double bed with a bunk bed above. This is fine for our 9 year old but you wouldn't be able to use the bunk bed for a child much older than this.

We like this hotel for its price and location, its the perfect base for a couple of nights and you cannot fault the value for money and clean rooms.

The breakfast option is perfect if you just want a quick bite before heading off.

The reception staff are also very good and will help out with any extras you need for your room, hairdryer etc.

We have also dined many times at the Cherry Trees restaurant across the car park from the hotel, its has a good variety on the menu and a good value carvery, one word of caution, if you go for a desert then share it between two!!

You cant beat the value for money that you get with this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from reception as this is a very busy hotel and the reception can be busy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate the fact that you took your time and put your comments here. I and my team are glad that you had a nice stay in ibis budget Derby hotel. We truly hope you visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Lamyae Frija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Paid £28 for one night on a business trip as it is the only hotel in the area. Hotel is located at the A50 service station - road noise if you want to open the windows. Receptionist was friendly, hotel and room were very clean. Hard to complain at these prices. Wifi is also thrown in for free. The Cheery tree pub over the way is also good for food.

Room Tip: Remember this is an Ibis - take your own shampoo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
My team and I appreciate very much your kind words and we are glad to have been part of your visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at ibis budget Derby hotel again very soon. Kind regards,
Lamyae Frija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haxey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were flying from East Midlands airport, so needed somewhere to stay the night before. Saw this place and managed to book a room online for £19 for 2 of us.

The room had aircon, flat screen TV, comfy firm bed, and a fantastic shower / bathroom.

The hotel has a lot of midweek workers staying there, so it can be a bit noisy with people coming in and out, but again, for £19 I was not expecting The Savoy.

I will definately be staying here again before future flights or future trips to East Midlands area

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments here. We always welcome feedback from our guests. I and my team are very happy you enjoyed your stay in ibis budget Derby hotel. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards, Lamyae Frija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you're looking for just a bed and shower for one night then you cant go far wrong here

the prices are amazingly cheap considering the standard of service that you receive

there is an optional breakfast service otherwise there are other places to eat nearby

for the money I cannot fault this hotel (but wouldnt want to spend more than one night here)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I am very grateful that you could take your time and leave us your thoughts here. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Lamyae Frija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis budget Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Derby

Address: Etwall Road, Willington DE65 6DX, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Derby)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Willington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis budget Derby 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering clean and comfortable accommodation with guaranteed standards of service at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your ibis budget Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Derby Willington, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis budget Derby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.