We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid This Hotel if you want edible food and cleanliness.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jupiter Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jupiter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Tsilivi, Planos 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Planos
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Avoid This Hotel if you want edible food and cleanliness.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The kitchen staff were also the cleaning staff !! We needed to eat out four nights out of seven. The food was practically inedible, served cold, food on display put out at least an hour before dining room opening. No good choices, two main dishes, ( one night choice of squid as main dish and other was orcha ). Breakfast was one cereal and watered down milk. Cheese slices and sliced luncheon meat / ham. Stale bread to toast, hard boiled eggs.( No bacon, sausage or beans or recognisable english food at any meals. ) The room was very basic and rather tired looking, the hotel had re-opened the week before and they were still cleaning and getting ready. Bar not stocked in lobby. Internet desk not set up, though wi-fi appeared to work. Sheets and towels were grey colour and sheets almost threadbare. Our bath not cleaned all week. Taps had no shine, all chrome worn off. We feel they should have had a complete refit, taken more care, more time, and spent a little money on things, Many guests complaining, even foreigners, especially on All Inclusive. Some guests asking for packed lunches because they were better than the lunch time meal. Receptionist very helpful, especially Maria. We found a lovely snack bar on the beach at Tsilivi next to the boomerang bar, recognisable by its lawned area with sunbeds. There is a bus stop outside the hotel with frequent services to Zakynthos town @ 1euro.60 each way per person. Pay on the bus going, but have to get ticket from bus station before boarding for return.

We found Zante a bit boring, not a classic Greek island. Had to hire a car to find something to do. If you hire a car, hardly any lay-byes to stop on interior roads, but a good place to visit is on the south west at Limnionas, which has a taverna ( not expensive ) with it's own private cove, ( no charge ) Villages very modern, not classic Greek.

This is our second visit to Zante, we gave it a second chance !! but we won't go again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    21
    16
    9
See reviews for
12
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Jupiter Hotel and we had a great time. The reception staff were very helpful, the room was very clean although the shower tray (room 121) needed to be bigger as we struggled to shower due to the lack of space and the shower head was not fitted to the wall.

The food was ok, what you would expect from a 3 star all inclusive hotel so it would probably have been better if we stayed on a b and b basis. The hotel pool was very clean although freezing and the location was perfect as it was in walking distance to many bars, restaurants ad the beach.

The bar staff Sam and Pete made our holiday as did the 3 scouse lads that propped up the bar and Julie and Simon. Sam in particular was extremely friendly, knowledgable about the area and would always make sure you had a cold beverage to hand. Thanks for making it a really enjoyable stay Sammy!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

After reading some dreadful reviews after having booked i was really rather concerned but as it was only myself and my teenage daughter i went expecting the worst but how wrong i was!
The reception staff i found to be very pleasant and helpful,the rooms were clean (although ours could of done with being modernised a bit),air-con was good to begin with but we did have ongoing problems from about day 5-7 but these were soon dealt with.
The pool area was very clean and there was never a problem getting a sunbed,the poolside bar when open was reasonably priced,the girl that ran it though could have done with a personality and i'm sure if they got rid of her there bar sales would go through the roof :D
Hotel is perfectly situated and is very close to all of the main bars and restaurants offering plenty of choice,budget etc.
Tsilivi itself we absolutely loved plenty for all ages,fun pubs,traditional greek tavernas,reptile house,water park etc,etc

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

The Jupiter Hotel was fantastic, gorgeous, clean and tidy, quiet but not off the beaten track. Really really enjoyed my holiday here..the staff were fantastic, happy and very welcoming. The Hotel is perfectly placed not too far from the Beach and not too close to the Bars but easy enough to just walk along the street and enjoy the Restaurants and few Bars. We went cycling all round the island..enjoyed every minute, especially cycling around the old villages, to see how the real people live. The Greek are so friendly and accommodating..will definitely be returning and staying at the Jupiter. PLEASE NOTE: Advised to keep away from the Horse & Cart men along the main street...you never know where they'll take you..had a bit of a bad experience with that one...so BE WARNED!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

After booking this hotel I later read the reviews! Big mistake!! I was dreading arriving at the Hotel Jupiter in Tsilivi however on arrival my fears were gone. This hotel was clean, friendly and in a great location to the beach for the day and the bars and restaurants for the evening.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was cleaned throughly every day. Although we only stayed for one week they changed the towels and the bedding once during our stay.

It just goes to show that sometimes the reviews you read are all down to personal taste.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

we stayed in Jupiter hotel for our honeymoon, and had read many reviews regarding this hotel( so much so that we were tempted to cancel and choose another hotel!). the hotel looks very nice on the outside and almost looks like a 4 dtar hotel. however the rooms were very small and basic, espicially the bathroom( you couldnt fit more than one person in it). the staff were fairly friendly, but didnt know much about the island, or where to go for good meals etc. the hotel bar was very quiet and hardly open. the pool was nice, but small. the main problem with this hotel was the air conditioning. when we were there it was around 38 degrees, and you needed somewhere cool to come back to after a day at the beach. the problem with the air -con was that in order for it to work you had to clsoe all doors( in a particular way!!) for it to work. when it was working it wasnt very cool either. i wouldnt go to this hotel again. we didnt have a bad experience, and i wouldnt cancel your booking( although the poor air-con would tempt you to)
Our first tip - DONT EAT IN ZEUS TAVERNA! the food was horrible, i wont go into too much detail, bit it was mnky. DO EAT IN IAKNTHOS RESORT RESTAURANT/ HOTEL. it was just beside the beach and the food and staff were lovely.
second tip- DONT USE MYTOURS TOUR OPERATOR. USE NEVIS TRAVEL. they were a far superior outfit than mytours and made the trip much more entertaiing and comfortable.
Zakynthos itself(Tvsilli) was a bit of a dissapointment. we assumed it would be a peaceful romantic resort, but it wasnt, and was basically a load of english bars, restaurants and shops. the beaches were lovely and the islanda was ncie too, but after you had had your tours and eaten your meal there wasnt much more to doo for the evening. it wasnt exaclty a very cultures place. we went here o the strenght of the shipwreck caves photgraph, it was stunning but not enough to keep you on the island for a week.
final tip - if you are staying in athens and have a few pound stay in the classical imperial hotel. we got it for half price and it was beautiful(espicially the air con) if you are eating out in athens go to Thanis (?) restaurnat -it was mentioned in the lonely planet guide book for Athens. the food was cheap and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

It was a very nice hotel, in a great location. The hotel is situated near the center of Planos, but far enough from the pubs, so you are not bothered by the noise at night. the only music we heard was from one of the bars across the street, which closed at about 11 pm anyway (in any case, if you close the window you won't hear a thing).

The food was very good (same selection at breakfast, but wide variety at dinner) and we always had something delicious to choose from. Right next door is the Med Restaurant, with great food and excellent service, in case you want to have lunch nearby. Also, in the area there are a lot of restaurants, mostly Greek traditional, but also Asian and Italian. Supermarkets are also a couple of buildings away.

The rooms are decent, with a lot of storing space and we even had sea view (the hotel is not on the beach, you have to walk for a couple of minutes, but we had a nice view of the sea). Staff is extremely nice and friendly. Even though their English was not perfect, we managed to get along perfectly. They are extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Address: | Tsilivi, Planos 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Planos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Planos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jupiter Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jupiter Hotel is centrally located in the area of Tsilivi only 300m from the beach and 50m from all the resort's facilities. The hotel offers a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere by the swimming pool, All-Inclusive services, while the 24-hour reception is always available to the guests to assist them in any way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Tsilivi
Jupiter Hotel Zakynthos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.