We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, damp room and unkempt” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Planos Bay Apartments Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Planos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Planos Bay Apartments Hotel
Save
You added Planos Bay Apartments Hotel to your Saves list
Planos 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Planos
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing, damp room and unkempt”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Very disappointing. Stayed here from 8-16 September 2011. Snack bar by pool quite unfriendly staff - had to collect lunch from the bar once ordered. Couldn't get a coffee after 5pm. Tables not cleaned or plates removed which meant it looked unkempt.

Stayed in Room 504 on the ground floor which although the bathroom had recently been refurbished finishing touches let it down - door wouldn't lock, towel rail fell off when we tried to hang up a towel, shower screen leaked.

Small oven in the kitchen had seen better days and not sure we would have used it - looked dangerous. The main problem was the strong smell of damp in the kitchen/bedroom area. Definately wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 504 smelt of damp and there were signs of damp on the walls and doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
54
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed in the Planos Apartments, the sister hotel to Planos Bay, right across the road. We stayed for two weeks, and had read some bad reviews before we went so were a little apprehensive. When we arrived, the whole place had been recently refusbished to a good standard.

We travelled with First Choice and Thomson as a group of four - my mother, myself and my two children, aged 6 and 4. Transfer time from the airport was around 20-30 mins but passed very quickly. We were dropped right outside the apartments. The staff were really helpful and so friendly at all times, and were especially good with the children. There was maid service every day apart from Sunday.

There is a pool area with lots of sunbeds and umbrellas. The pool is average sized for the area and has a shallow kids poo, attatched. The pool bar serves soft and alcoholic drinks all day and all night until midnight. It also serves bar food (cooked breakfasts, burgers, sandwiches etc) from 9am to 5pm, priced from two and a half to five euros each.

Air conditioning costs five euros per day, and is really essential for trying to get to sleep at night. A safe costs ten euros for the whole trip, plus a deposit of ten euros which is refunded upon checkout. Checkout time is 12 noon, but we were on an evening flight and the manager held our luggage behind the desk all day, and even offered to supply us with towels so that we could swim.

The Tsilivi area of Zakynthos is very tailored for tourists, and you will find everything you need in the town, including a cash point, a chemist, etc. The beaches are beautiful and only 150 metres walk from the Planos Apartments. You can hire a pair of sunbed and an umbrella for five euros for the whole day outside the AlMare hotel on the beach. A little further along, it is six euros by the Caravel hotel, but the beach there is extremely stony.

The Greek people in Tsilivi are wonderfully kind and friendly, and are very geared up for children - every restaurant and pub has a play area for children with trampolines, bouncy castles, swings and slides, etc. We ate out almost every day and night, and had wonderful Greek food in Kaliva pub, Boomerang Bar, Local Bar (that's really its name!), Stamnes and various others. Every restaurant also serves bar food, such as burgers, pizzas, etc, so if you really don't like Greek food, you will always be able to find something to suit you. We had a great meal at the Asian Palace, and fabulous cocktails at both Kaliva and Ark, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The average price for one course plus drinks for the four of us was around 35-40 euros, going up to 50-60 euros where we had two courses.

We went on three trips, organised through the Thompson rep. We did a day trip to Kefalonia, the Turtle Island trip and the Play Away Pirates day at the Navaggio shipwreck. The first two were fabulous but the pirate trip was a bit haphazard. We paid around 330 euros for the three trips for two adults and two children. However, on the main road through Tsilivi, there are plenty of companies selling these trips directly for a fraction of the price. For example, we paid a total of 96 euro for the Kefalonia trip, and were told that we would have paid 30 euros if we had booked through a local company. They are all legitimate and insured, so definitely worth shopping around - don't be scared off by a rep telling you they'll rip you off!

The Planos Bay Apartments host the Tsilivi Water Park, and guests at Planos Apartments get a discount of around 30%, so definitely worth a trip! There are plenty of rides to keep the children entertained and slides and flumes for big kids of all ages! They are open from 10am-6pm and I think we paid around 40 euros for the four of us for the whole day.

There are lots of horse-drawn carriages in Tsilivi and they will give you a tour of the town and surrounding area and take you to your destination. The drivers are very friendly and let the children sit p at the front with them, and even take the reigns if they want to. We had a ride of around 20-30 mins and paid 30 euros.

All in all, the apartments and the area were wonderful. The weather is never bad, the Greek people are wonderfully friendly and the food is beautiful. I would definitely go back here again, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: Let them know any special requirements before you go. My mother has a back injury, and we let them k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just back from a week in Planos Bay Aparthotel. Clean, basic apartments, air con a must and costs €35 a week. Pool area quiet and relaxed with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas. Friendly staff and reasonable pool side snack bar. 5 minute walk to beach, restaurants and bars. Trip to Smugglers Cove and the caves a must, but make sure its possible to view coast from boat as some have seating inside with no view.

Room Tip: Second or third floor with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindleys45
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

we went as a family holiday with two young children the whole place is spotless and well maintained breakfast at the appartments is only 5 euro for as much as you want and the kids ate free !! the pool area is good and the water park is fab for the kids and adults alike. The kids club is great and kept my 4 yr old well entertained but I have to say that mat on the entertainment team deserves a medal he was fantastic with all the kids well done mat ! would I go back ? most definately !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Following two wonderful holidays at the Planos Bay, we returned again this year for holiday number 3. What can I say, it's been the best family holiday that we've ever had. We stayed from 10th to 24th June with our two children, girls age 6 & boy age 8. The apartments had been refurbished over the winter and we were delighted with the new bathroom suite, fantastic shower and in general the fresh new look to the apartments. The staff were as friendly as ever, we were hugged by the same maid that has been there each year. She has very little English but makes up for that with her friendly smile and a big hug for the children. We were also delighted to see the lovely Sam in reception, although we almost didn't recognise her with her blonde hair. Because we had booked so far in advance we were given bed & breakfast for the same price as self catering. We couldn't fault the hot breakfast, there was always something nice to eat. The only thing we could complain about was the poor selection of cereals. The waitresses at breakfast were all helpful and friendly.

The restaurants in the resort are all as good as ever, Stamnes just across from the Planos Bay is a must. The food is wonderful and the staff are lovely, especially Diane. Edem and The Old Village Taverna just beside the complex are also very nice. We love Benikos at the other end of the town, about 15-20 minutes walk away, Niko and Becky were delightful as usual and the food still some of the best on the island. Kaliva Bar is great if you have children as they have a fantastic playground with trampolines, swings, slides etc. We could have a drink and enjoy the live music while the children had fun. The is no time restriction so we could stay out late if we wanted to. A big change from Ireland where children have to be off the licenced premises by 9pm at the latest. They serve food all day so also great for lunch. For all you fish & chip lovers, The Golden Fish is a real treat. Turn right out of the complex, continue to the end of the road and turn left. It's just down on the left hand side. The food is so good and so cheap, dinner for 4 with dessert and a litre of wine for less than €40. Make sure you visit and say hello to Sonny.

The waterpark is great, wonderful children's area with lots of kiddie slides. The water is shallow so they are quite safe. There are some great slides for the older children and the adults. The food in the waterpark is quite basic but does the job. There is also a poolside bar where you can get 2 cocktails or 2 beers for €8 during happy hour. The waterpark is free for Planos Bay guests. We usually went to it about 11am and were usually last to leave just after 5pm.

We hired a car from Peter at Margaris Car Hire just down from the Planos Bay, very reasonable rates. Peter had so much knowledge of the island and planned out our routes when we told him what we wanted to do and see. Well worth hiring a car and getting out around the island yourself, much cheaper than doing the excursions.

The beach down beside the Alexander Beach Hotel is gorgeous. The water is always warm and very shallow and safe for the children. The food at the Alexander Beach snack bar is great and not too expensive. Sunbeds are €6 for two beds and 1 parasol. You can also hire pedalo boats down at the beach.

We heard the Planos Bay was going all inclusive from next year and we were so disappointed. We like to try different local restaurants when we are on holiday so we don't like all inclusive. We gave our opinion to the staff and also emailed Falcon Holidays to say the same. Thankfully they still have the self catering option for next year and we have booked already to go back next June.

Room Tip: rooms 210 and 212 are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

On the strength of last year's visit, we booked to stay at this hotel again. Although we loved our stay in Tsilivi, I would not go to this hotel again.

The pros are:
The staff.
The staff are fantastic. Nikos, on the desk is fun, cheerful and very helpful - full of advice about where to eat, and which are the best beaches. The cleaners are also very friendly, and like most people on the island, they appreciate a "kali mera" in the mornings.
The Poolside:
The poolside is very clean and very safe. Inflatables are provided for children to play with - which will save you around 10 to 15 euros. However this sum will be eaten up quickly if you buy drinks at the poolside (no outside food or drink allowed)
The Waterpark:
The waterpark is magnificent. Free to Planos Bay guests, and with free WiFi, it's a fabulous way to spend an afternoon. The downside is that it closes at five pm, when another couple of hours would be great, and the drinks (no outside food or drink allowed either) are very expensive.
Cleanliness:
The hotel is spotless. The cleaning regime is very tight, and bends around you rather than you having to vacate your room. Thi polished marble floors in reception are very elegant, and the bar/dining facilities are also spotlessly clean.

The Cons:
Noise:
The Planos Bay is a family hotel, yet on four nights, we were woken up between 2am and 4am by drunks jumping into the pool (right under every window) and shouting and swearing. After the first time, I complained, and was told something would be done. It happened another three times, without any intervention from either staff or tour company employees, and then a sign was put up. Whether that will work, I know not, but I doubt it.
Prices:
Bar prices have gone up considerably this year. Poolside, it cost €7.50 for a Greek lager and 2 cans of coke.
WiFi:
I can't quite remember the price quoted for 6 hours of WiFi connection, but I can remember saying "EH??? YOU'RE KIDDING??!" to which the member of staff said "No. I wish I was. I'm sorry. Not my fault"
Breakfast:
I strongly advise against Bed and Breakfast at Planos Bay. Not only are the items a little off-the-wall (fried courgettes, fried aubergine for traditional English breakfast???) but the breakfast items are kept warm in several bain-marie, and may have been sat there up to 90 minutes before you put them on your plate. Fried eggs either piled up on top of each other and rock solid, or all gone and not replaced, wafer thin bacon covered in oil, boiled eggs that have sat in the bain-marie so long the yolks have gone black, and overcooked rubbery mushrooms. The sausage, however, are very nice (although I can't comment on the other strange sausage-type offerings, because we didn't actually know what they were and so did not try them) Sadly there was little by way of traditional Greek breakfast, although the Polish and German guests appeared to be very well catered for. The cereal was very poor also, cheap versions of well-loved varieties, (cornflakes a-la-Netto, need I say more).
In addition to this, we had to, on several occasions, ask for bain-marie to be replenished (which they duly were, but with food that must have been standing in bain-marie somewhere else), more butter to be brought out, bread to be replaced etc. I know they have only been providing breakfast this year, but they have had since the beginning of May to get it right, and they just haven't done. The best I can say about the breakfast was it was edible (although my youngest daughter wouldn't eat anything apart from the three varieties of cake - yes, cake - that were on offer too) but I've had better, far better, from a trailer on the A64
I suppose the final question is, would I be likely to stay here again. No. I can honestly say I wouldn't stay here again for HALF the price I paid, even if they threw in a frisge that didn't freeze everything you put in it.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the 300s
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We stayed at the planos bay holiday apartments for one week. We had two children with us age 11 and 13 and the whole holiday was wonderful. The apartments were really good. We had booked a one bedroom apartment but the set up was like a two bedroom. Both children had a full size bed instead of sofas. There wasnt a seating area but it wasnt required as we sat on balcony and were out in the evening. Tsivilli was a lovely resort, eating out was very reasonable, most evening meals were about 40 euros for 4 of us with drinks and wine, which was only on average 6 euros for a litre. The splash part was open and we had free entry which was wonderful. It was only a couple of minutes walk outside the hotel. The children loved it. The childrens club and reps were great, we even had a night out on our own as on the friday night they had a party, cost 6 euros each, which was on from 8 - 11 pm. It was great because we were able to go to the indian restaurant which was only 8 euros for two meals and it was really good food. All in all i would really recommend it and we are thinking of going back next year.
If you like going on trips i would recommend walking down the street where you can find the same trips at half the price of the ones offered in the hotel. We had couriers that spoke both greek and english and had no problems with them, dont be put off by reps telling you that they only speak greek. Also at the beach there is a swimming pool, i love the beach but the kids dont so it worked well. they could come down on the beach from the pool. It was supposed to be 5 euros each but no-one asked them to pay. In the town there is ten pin bowling and crazy golf which was excellent, also on a sunday they do golf and barbeque very reasonable and a large portion of food was served, well worth it.
I have rated everything as excellent except rooms, and the reason for that is the cooking facilities werent top notch but i wasnt intending on doing any cooking.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planos Bay Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planos Bay Apartments Hotel

Address: Planos 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Planos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Planos
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Planos Bay Apartments Tsilivi
Planos Bay Apartments Hotel Zakynthos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planos Bay Apartments Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.