We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de La Couronne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de La Couronne to your Saves list
Hotel de La Couronne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   rue Charlet Straton, 74400 Argentiere, Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Argentiere
Leyland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a very nice room. We stayed here on our TMB and this was the best room and bed of all. It was very clean.The bathroom was huge with a separate toilet. There were toiletries, hairdryer, TV WIFI. Very nice restaurant, busy and popular to non residents also. Breakfast was excellent and the dining room was lovely. Our room had double aspect on the corner with lot sof airy windows, however, there is a very noisy bar across the street that kept us awake til 3am - not great when up at 6 for another 11 miles trekking! Great hotel, shame about the noise.

Room Tip: at the back if you need peace. at the front for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My tour group was new to this hotel, so we weren't sure what kind of reception I'd get, arriving at 10:30 a.m. instead of with the others in the afternoon. They could not have been nicer. My room was ready, but the staff encouraged me to linger over my tea (breakfast was still being served). Then they helped me find my way around town while I waited for the others. The large lounge was comfortable and a good alternative to my smallish room for passing time.

Rooms could use a little updating and the man covering breakfast service got a little overwhelmed when a larger tour group came down early. But the breakfast itself was great, with lots of options.

Room Tip: Unlike many small hotels, there is an elevator so an upper floor is fine. Look at the floor plan - r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Couronne is situated on the main drag through Argentiere so not quiet and seculded. Our was a summer visit so getting t6o ski lifts wasn't an issue but for winter visits it would be quite a hike.
The Hotel reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. The room was large with a balcony and a good sized bathroom. The Hotel is clean.
Brfeakfast - which is just a cold buffet - is a bit pricey at 10 euro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
711 helpful votes 711 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We paid EUR 100 per night for their balcony view room (given the weather, we didn't need the balcony, though the view of the mountains was nice). Noise from the bars across the street was noticeable - I would suggest a room facing the other way.
In short, pluses:
- parking available (though the lot was small - not sure what happens if all patrons come with cars) and free
- free ski storage
- room was always cleaned early in the day
- nice sitting area downstairs with a fireplace (it was only on in the afternoon, sadly, not later in the evening/in the morning during breakfast)
- breakfast buffet choices included fruit (both whole and fruit salad), croissants and other baked goods, baguette and a dark bread, juice, tea/coffee/hot milk/hot cocoa, yogurts (plain/fruit), cheeses/cold cuts, and "boil your own egg" bar, and of course, also butter, preserves, etc.
- good quality linens and comfortable bed
Minuses:
- no coffee/tea maker in the room - normally I don't care as much, but I got a bad cold right after we arrived and was just dying for something hot. I had to keep buying EUR 2.60 cups of tea to go from Le Grenier across the street.
- no receptionist after 9 pm
- not really a "minus," but it would have been really nice to have the fireplace on for breakfast
- breakfast was a bit expensive for what we got (EUR 10.50 per person)
- outside noise and generally poor sound insulation - we could hear our neighbors across the hall. It's to be expected though in a building of this age.

Overall, we had a nice stay and would consider staying at this hotel again. Reception staff were helpful and pleasant with directions, lunch reservations, and mailing of postcards. The hotel also gives you free passes for the local shuttle.

Room Tip: room facing the back (away from the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent hotel with a great location in the centre of Argentiere, 5 minutes from Grands Montets, and only a minute or two to the bus stops for access to the rest of the valley. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable, with a large bathroom, including a bath, which was very welcome after a day's skiing. The buffet breakfast was very good, and the adjacent restaurant, at which guests have a 10% discount, was excellent. Value was excellent, even in peak season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We started looking for a room before our ski trip a bit too late and were hesitant to book this room for a suspiciously low price.We thought the conditions would be a barely acceptable as this room seemed to be a "leftover" that nobody wanted to take. WRONG!
Great service, very helpful staff, clean, modern, fully equipped room, seconds away from the ski-bus and boulangeries as well as numerous excellent restaurants.
The reason why I don't give an "excellent" overall rating is that we had some problems locking our room but they took action immediately and the door was repaired within a day. So it's a 4.5 rating, really :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great Hotel providing super value for money - even the low cost rooms are well appointed and we would definitely stay again., We found the staff to be very helpful and always willing to help. The bar and restaurant are both very comfortable, the menu in the restaurant is excellent and the food well cooked - advisable to book a table as its very popular in this small town

Quiet town but that's what we wanted and very close to La Grand Montets ski area and easy access to Brevant and La Tour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de La Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de La Couronne

Address: rue Charlet Straton, 74400 Argentiere, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix > Argentiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Argentiere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de La Couronne 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a great pleassure for all of us to see you back year after year... Hotel La Couronne, a family and friendly hotel since 1865. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de La Couronne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de La Couronne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.