We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mars Hill Cafe - CLOSED

Mars Hill Cafe
331 Church Street, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia
61 2 9893 9888
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a lovely, unpretentious little cafe, offering some very reasonably priced food. It has a slightly Bohemian atmosphere, and is a strong supported of the arts in Parramatta. If you want good value food, nicely cooked and presented, and you don't want to be ripped off by the many nearby, more expensive places (many of whom are still only offering fairly ordinaire sort of stuff), this is the place for you. It's a comfortable, homely sort of place, cheerful staff and you can get a reasonable main meal for under $15. Definitely worth a look. Whether you're after a coffee and cake and a chat, or a decent lunch, this place is very good value. I will definitely visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
419 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“An Alternative Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very casual and almost alternative. No expense on the fitout. This is casual at its casual best. They have a lot of brochures and info about alternate happening and entertainment in the area. Food is goos and reasonably priced.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
“I love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Mars hill is a great place to hang out with friends or to have some quality alone time. Order a nice hot drink and enjoy the atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We liked the look of this quaint cafe amongst the other bigger players. The steak sandwiches were very disappointing with a small piece of grey meat that had never seen a grill (microwave?), thick slices of unspread bread that I think were toasted because a couple of spots on the crusts were brown, tough bacon, well cooked egg and no onions which were advertised in the menu. I only ate half because I couldn't get my teeth through the meat in the second half. The schnitzel was good according to our companion.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Quaint little cafe in Church Street. Outdoor & indoor dining.
Great coffee and late night desserts!!! Yum.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mars Hill Cafe also viewed

Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 
Ermington, Parramatta
Winston Hills, Parramatta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mars Hill Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.