We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mars Hill Cafe - CLOSED

Mars Hill Cafe
331 Church Street, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia
61 2 9893 9888
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We liked the look of this quaint cafe amongst the other bigger players. The steak sandwiches were very disappointing with a small piece of grey meat that had never seen a grill (microwave?), thick slices of unspread bread that I think were toasted because a couple of spots on the crusts were brown, tough bacon, well cooked egg and no onions which were advertised in the menu. I only ate half because I couldn't get my teeth through the meat in the second half. The schnitzel was good according to our companion.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barnowl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Quaint little cafe in Church Street. Outdoor & indoor dining.
Great coffee and late night desserts!!! Yum.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LazyDays4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for Sundays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Visited on a quiet Sunday. Service great and good value for money. The $10 breakie looks good but have to order before 12. Free WiFi too for the nerds among us. Overall exactly what I was looking for in a quiet Sunday lunch.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rdubyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A great "off the wall" place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Quirky and engaging.... Cant recommend it enough. Food is simple but very good. Value is great too. You must go upstairs!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Had an exhibition there...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

Had an exhibition there - great coffee and people

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mars Hill Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing