We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest food at a good price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pj's Irish Pub

Pj's Irish Pub
74 Church St, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia
9635 8811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 20 Attractions in Parramatta
Type: Bars
Attraction details
Orange NSW
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Honest food at a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Large meals at a good price, good service and enough variety on the menu to keep both my husband and I happy. I would dine here again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    7
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taree, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I didn't know what to expect, being a pub, so I was pleasantly surprised by the comfortable restaurant out the back alongside a big black bar. Linen tablecloths, cutlery and table service. A good menu selection with old favourites like Caesar salad, chicken parmigiana, steaks, pizza and salmon to the homelier sausages and mash. The prices range from around $15 to $35 and the serving sizes are large. Beef nachos highly recommended. On street parking and small carpark at rear.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Typical "Disney" Irish pub, but not like the real thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

If you want a pub that is overloaded with "authentic" Irish memorabilia and large slogan in Gaelic on the walls, this might suit you, but an Irish pub it aint!

It lacks the character and homeliness of a true Irish pub and the service is decidedly less friendly.

They have Magners and Guinness at the bar, but Australian Tooheys Guinness really isn't worth the trip.

One great thing about the pub is that they have a large upstairs room that you can book for functions. Last time I checked, it was at no charge, providing you met a minimum spend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best venue in parramatta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The food is amazing and for a good prices, you don't get a small portions unlike some places and staff are very helpful especially if your not from the area. Best venue to go on the weekend in parramatta open till 5am

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The food is varied and the serve is large. My partners steak was cooked as he liked it but I found the chicken to be a little tasteless. I should have tried to warm lamb salad instead.

I think the venue tries to cater to too many people. It doesn't feel like a proper Irish pub or alternatively a club. Not sure which is is trying to be. Strange to be eating the food with such a large dance floor close by. Supposedly gets quite a loud uni crowd on a Wednesday but it was quiet.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pj's Irish Pub also viewed

 
Granville, Parramatta
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Pj's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pj's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.