We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Parramatta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Parramatta to your Saves list
Mantra Parramatta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Parkes Street & Valentine Avenue, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Parramatta
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Mantra Parramatta is an average business hotel: neither bad nor particularly great.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the meal I ordered in the bar was delicious. The room was well appointed with its own little kitchenette, which I liked a lot. The bed was comfortable and the room itself was clean. The room was surprisingly quiet too - although the hotel is close to the railway line I didn't hear any train noise all night.

There were a few negatives though:
- There are desperately few parking spaces beneath the building, so on a busy night you may need to park out on the street and go and put some coins in the parking meter before the parking inspectors start work at 8.
- Although my room was clean, the corridor outside reeked of Hong Kong street food.
- The thermostat in my room seemed to be faulty - I woke up a few times because I was either too cold or overheating.

Those few things aside, it wasn't a bad experience overall and I would consider staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Slim Rusty

Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra Parramatta.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel,

I do however apologize for any inconvenience regarding the car park, most of the time there is parking available it only tends to fill when there are special events on which is out of our control, in saying this there are several large car parking stations with in close proximity of the hotel (just see the staff for details). If you are experiencing difficulties with any part of your stay please don’t hesitate to contact our 24 hour reception to have the situation rectified

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Parramatta on your next trip,

Kind Regards

Tim Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    114
    55
    23
    10
See reviews for
30
65
14
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I was on a business trip to Paramatta area and stayed in this hotel for 10 nights in the Studio Room. The property is well maintained. I had a late night check-in and the staff at front desk was very friendly and helpful. She gave me very good deal on the internet connection which was very helpful.The studio room was spacious enough for a single person. Ambience of the room is good and there is a small kitchenette provided which is useful at times.The location of this hotel is excellent as it's very near to the Train station, Buses, Taxi stand as well as the shops. Westfield Shopping center is very near to the hotel which is very nice. Housekeeping staff is friendly and the room is cleaned well on a daily basis.Overall I had a very good and comfortable stay. I would definitely stay again at this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
BangaloreNawab

Thank you for your wonderful comments on your recent stay with Mantra Parramatta. I am so delighted to read our services and accommodation met your expectation. Here at Mantra, we continually strive to provide Parramatta with a unique selection of amenities.

Thank you for recommending us. On behalf of the Mantra Parramatta team, we thoroughly look forward to welcoming you back again in future.

Warm regards,

Tim Doyle
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is my second stay at this hotel, the first time being about three weeks ago.
I really enjoy this hotel for many different reasons but I will try to be objective here and not let my own personal what I like get in the way.
First impressions are the Front Desk Staff. Incredibly friendly with very contagious smiles, also very service minded and helpful.
The room I have had both times was excellent, separate sitting room and bedroom. The bed was just perfect for me and I got a great nights sleep every night. So much that I keep missing breakfast.
My room has a balcony, I think all the rooms do but I'm not sure, get a balcony. it is very nice to sit out there in the evenings.
The hotel has a bar and a restaurant with a bar menu also. The bar menu is reasonably priced as is the restaurant.
If your looking for food that is perhaps a little more exotic the hotel is a five minute walk from Harris Park with lots of Indian restaurants and take away's.
Shopping, Westfield Mall is like a two minute walk as is the bus and train stations.

One of the better parts about staying here is that some of the rooms have a washing machine and dryer in them. I know what you are thinking,, why would I need a washing machine and dryer? Well with everything in Australia being so expensive its nice to not have to pay to get your laundry done. the room also has a small kitchenette thing going on, fridge microwave..

My room has a jacuzzi. Get the jacuzzi,,, take it easy on the bath gel though. Two of the small bottles is perhaps a little over the top on the bubbles.
The soap is excellent. very fresh and smells like lemons, yes, that's how sad my life has become when I have started to do reviews on soap. But it is nice soap.
The best part about this hotel is the personal service.
I come in the front door and am greeted by name. Hello Mr Black,, did you have a nice day?
I stay in Hotels all over the world and only in the Best Western in Naperville, Illinois USA and Hotel Haarhjus in Arnhem Netherlands have they bothered to actually remember my name, it makes it feel like you are welcome so big props to Mantra for that.

Value for money? I think so, everything about price is always going to be open to discussion, you stay where your wallet allows and that's that.
Compared to other hotels in the area the Mantra isn't the most expensive and if you look at what you are getting in value for your dollar the Mantra is pretty much in the lead.
Have I stayed in other hotels in Parramatta? Yes. Last year in October we stayed in another hotel.
It would be unfair to mention the hotel name here but it was also a very nice hotel, almost same standard as Mantra but more expensive.
Much more expensive.
I say we. I am the Touring Manager for one of the worlds largest Motor Sports companies, we had an event at the ANZ stadium in October 2013 and stayed at the other large hotel in Parramatta.
We are coming back to the ANZ in October 2014 and my touring party, all 110 of us will be staying at the Mantra in Parramatta.
That's how pleased I am with this hotel.

Room Tip: I have stayed on the 16th floor twice, the view is amazing on any side of the hotel. You can see all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable.Quiet during the night. ALL staff were friendly and obliging.
.Front desk staff smiling all the time.Dinner in dining room was terrific. Bit cheeky charging 2% on our credit card for accommodation AFTER we checked out.Even when we held a receipt that we had paid in February.
Only Query....Why isn't there a toilet lid on the toilet in room 319? Is that hygienic?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear 255100pat

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mantra Parramatta on your recent trip to Sydney,
It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay from your comfortable room through to your evening meal.

Regarding your query there is no toilet lid in room 319 due to this being a disabled room.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Tim Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I recently stayed at the Mantra Parramatta for the weekend and as usual found the staff to be friendly, accommodating and helpful. The hotel is close to the train station and the Westfield shopping centre to cater for all our needs.
The room was clean, bed comfortable and the kitchenette was a nice touch and assisted us in our dietary requirements(microwave, hotplate, kettle, pan, cutlery etc for 2)
In building parking was at a premium in the evenings(to be expected), there was limited off street parking near by.
I chose the Mantra Parramatta as we have used Mantra Tullarmarine Melbourne before and have never had a bad experience. Mantra have met our expectations every time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Dan T

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip advisor,

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay here at Mantra Parramatta. We are very fortunate to be located in such a handy part of Parramatta, being only minutes away from Parramatta train station and Westfield.

I will pass on your praise to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Parramatta on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind Regards
Tim Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights and i didnt face any difficulties as such. The only thing that made me real upset is charging my credit card for 9.89$ after i checked out. Its not a big amount especially after i spent 8000$ on my Australia vacation. Its about charging my card without notifying me. We trust the hotels and allow them to take a copy of our credit cards. We dont expect them to use it as they like without a consensus. This is a serious breach of security.

I am 200% sure i didnt consume anything from the bar. Rather i packed everything in a shelf above the bar so that i can have more space near the sink. Not acceptable anyways.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorinabunescu, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Amrit M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mantra Parramatta on your recent trip to Australia. We trust that you enjoyed your stay

I would like to further discuss the $9.89 charge on your credit card. As you had not provided the hotel with contact details, may I please request you contact us either by phone on 02 96851600 or email on Dorina.bunescu@mantra.com.au

Kind Regards,
Dorina Bunescu
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Comfy beds. Spa in executive suite small, not big enough for two. Can be noisy but overall a fine hotel. This is the fourth time I have stayed here and overall I have not been dissatisfied. I have stayed in a lot of Sydney hotels!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorinabunescu, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Dibern,

Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra Parramatta. I am so glad you have chosen to stay with us on multiple occasions.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Kind Regards,

Dorina Bunescu
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Parramatta

Address: Corner Parkes Street & Valentine Avenue, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Parramatta is the ideal choice when mixing business with pleasure, just minutes from ANZ Stadium, The Olympic Park at Homebush Bay and Parramatta's thriving business and retail centre. Mantra Parramatta comprises of spacious studios, one bedroom apartments and Spa Rooms all with premium facilities such as individually controlled air conditioning, broadband internet, cable TV, in-house movies, kitchenette and laundry facilities (apartments only), private balcony (apartments only), in-room safe, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. Mantra Parramatta caters to business and leisure travellers who demand and expect quality, comfort and premium facilities. With 24 hour reception, a foreign exchange desk, concierge and leisure facilities including a outdoor pool, spa, gym, sauna, turkish bath, under cover parking charged at $15 per day(subject to availability), ironing facilities, data port, room service, guest laundry and restaurant and bar. Mantra Parramatta also offers guests the convenience of dining in style at the Ivory Restaurant & Tantra Bar.Trading hours are as follows: Mon-Thu: Restaurant breakfast,lunch,dinner with 24 hour Room Service/Fridays:Restaurant & Room Service breakfast & lunch only/Sat-Sun: Restaurant & Room Service lunch only/Fri-Sun: Room Service Supper/Dinner from 5pm-10pm only. There are also function and conference facilities, with three main meeting rooms, representing a choice of Gold, Silver and Bronze rooms. Business travellers have the choice of booking the rooms separately or combined to host conferences for up to 200 delegates. Only 45 minutes from Sydney airport, Mantra Parramatta is only 500m to Parramatta Train Station, Westfield Shopping Town, and a short drive to Rosehill Gardens Racecourse making it the ideal base for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Parramatta Hotel Parramatta
Mantra Hotel Parramatta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Parramatta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.