We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good lunch stop with real german beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Bier Cafe

Bavarian Bier Cafe
2-8 Phillip Street, Parramatta, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 254 Restaurants in Parramatta
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good lunch stop with real german beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We dropped in for lunch today (Feb 21) to quench our thirst and for a quick bite. A liter of original hoffbrau and a glass of pinot gris for herself with a plate of franks and german potato salad did the job. The servers did a good job of looking after us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    33
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“such a fun place great atmosphere and good food..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

this place is so much fun to take your boyfriend to, its all meat and beer! bookings are essential and it is a loud fun beer hall so romance factor is 0% just in case you where expecting a quiet dinner pick another place. we have come here 3 times and its always a fun night recommend it highly the food is all German (all carbs and protein lol) and really tasty! during "Octoberfest" is probably the best time to come. it isn't cheap either so its great for a guys birthday or you just want to treat him to a fun night, but saying that i'm a girl and i love this place! there is a bar that joins the restaurant so you can drink on after wards, if you can fit it in because meals are huge!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, bit pricey...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Went on a Thursday evening. Set inside a converted church. Lovely atmosphere, great service, very German menu, on the pricey side but overall worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our holidays in Germany have led to a real fondness for German food. This place did not disappoint. It is noisy and the acoustics are not brilliant so it is not ideal for a romantic dinner. For those wanting good food, generous servings at good prices, then this place works. The tasting plates are great value and make for an interesting choice of different sausages. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing venue great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We came to Parramatta for a Sydney Festival show at the Riverside Theatre. With 2 teenage boys in tow we decided to book a table here to make a night of it.

Little did we know that tonight was a home game for the Western Sydney Wanderers!

The streets of Parramatta were overflowing with supporters...as was the cafe!

But the staff were not phased. We had efficient, friendly staff and the vibe of chanting football fans was exciting and interesting to watch (esp as we're Sydney FC supporters!)

The food and drinks arrived in a timely fashion and we were all happy with our schnitzel choices. In fact, I can highly recommend the Jagerschnitzel (schnitzel with mushrooms).

The venue is an old church. The stain glass windows are beautiful and it's a 5 min to the theatre. Perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Bier Cafe also viewed

Parramatta, Greater Sydney
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Bavarian Bier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Bier Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.