We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue but these pretzels are making me thirsty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Bier Cafe

Bavarian Bier Cafe
2-8 Phillip Street, Parramatta, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 241 restaurants in Parramatta
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Perth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great venue but these pretzels are making me thirsty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I ate here for the first time on March the 31st 2013. This restaurant is a converted church and it is such an amazing venue. I ordered the bavarian tasting platter and a beautiful strawberry sparkling wine. The pretzels for entree were delicious but a bit too salty as with my main meal the pork belly was crispy crackling in most places and limp the other, hence my very good rating not excellent. I would definitely visit again but the chef needs to lessen the salt quantities.The cowbell being rung everytime people orders schnapps is a good gimmick but soon gets on your nerves after a time . Still a good place to visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    18
    22
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great venue, Good Friday is a tough gig though.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

A few of us stopped by for a beer on Good Friday. For some reason, their licensing conditions apparently meant that they couldn't serve us unless we bought meals (one each for the 4 of us!). I'm not sure why this was necessary as we we'd able to go to the pub later with no issues...

However, the food was good, and the beers were excellent. The service was a little slow even though it wasn't busy.

Would definitely go back, as the converted church is a great venue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in great surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I ate here in January, having just popped in for a beer. The choice is great and the bar staff are really helpful if you're not sure what to choose. As its in an old church the inside is really impressive and there is also plenty of seats outside if the weather permits! We decided to have our evening meal too and it was lovely. My husbands steak was very slightly over cooked, but still good and I enjoyed my meal too. We will definitely return here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just like any other Bavarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We got great service when we went last, and the staff were friendly. Food was exceptional, as one can expect when they go to a Bavaraian Cafe.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent team lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Went with my team for a pre Christmas lunch. This was my second visit for lunch. The restaurant is situated in an old church which gives a nice ambiance. Works well for groups as they have a number of large tables. The menu is very much what you would expect with all of the German staples. Lots of sausages and other meat options, all executed really well. In our group of 12 everyone was very happy with their main meals. If you like good hearty food in the right atmosphere, then this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Bier Cafe also viewed

Parramatta, Greater Sydney
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Bavarian Bier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Bier Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.