We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly fantastic..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ca'n Barraixet

Ca'n Barraixet
2A, Placa Constitucio, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 221 Restaurants in Alcudia
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nearly fantastic..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I had one dish here and it was superb (Mallorcan style filet of cod). The next night, a really disappointing dish (Mallorcan stuffed Squid).
I'm an adventurous eater and like to try local dishes, but the latter was just not appetising whatsoever (mincemeat in the squid was bland and tasteless). The former, however, one of the best meals I have had on holiday.
Prices are ok.
Service ... brilliant.
Atmosphere ... perfect.
Catering for children ... more variety needed.
Feels like a gamble with your order because on watching other people get served, some dishes looked incredible, but others not so.
On the whole though, an 8 out of 10.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service and excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The service is always excellent and the food equally so. We go back time after time for the warm welcome from Manuel and the team.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Without doubt the best food we had the whole week (and we went 3 times) !!!
Service, very calm, and welcoming, food very nice indeed, and the location is perfect.
My kids were very impressed by the waiter, who could whistle like a little bird !!!
Nice one guys. Highly recommended

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen (Scotland)
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Excellent food friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have been going to the old town of Alcudia for many years and have dined in many of its restaurants and the one we always head back to is Ca'n Baraixet. We have always had wonderful food and excellent service. Manu, Claudia and Damien are all very friendly and attentive and will make you feel very welcome. Unlike many of the restaurants in the Plaza, Ca'n Barraixet is owned and run by a local family and has an excellent Mallorcan chef. The chef has,over the last couple of years, added some amazing dishes to the menu. Without a doubt myself and my wife’s favorite dish of the holiday was the roast cod with sobrasada, it was probably the best fish dish I have ever tasted. I tried a piece of my wife’s the first night we were there and although I don’t normally order fish I was so impressed I had it the next time we went back.

If you are looking for authentic Mallorcan food ang good friendly service I would say Ca'n Barraixet is the plave to go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We chose CB purely due to the fact that looking down the tapas menu choices there were a couple of mallorqui dishes and we wanted to try some authentic local cuisine.

Whether what we got was this, we do not know, but it was certainly very tasty.

Service was a little slow, but given that we were not in a hurry and were enjoying just sitting and people watching this was not a problem.

The cost was reasonable, just under €55 for 4 half portions of tapas, a few drinks, coffee and puddings (including the "puding mallorqui" which was scrummy)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca'n Barraixet also viewed

 

Been to Ca'n Barraixet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca'n Barraixet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.