We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rione Trastevere

Rione Trastevere
Paseo Maritimo 38, 04118 San Jose, Spain
+34 950 38 02 92
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Waterfront pizzeria/restaurant in Cabo de Gata Natural Park. An outside terrace shadowed by jasmine plants where you can eat traditional thin roman style pizza cooked in a brick oven and italian dishes as lasagna, spaghetti with clams, gnocchi and 10 different seafood and meat carpaccios, deep fried srimps, squid. Tiramisú and Panna cotta desserts. All our dishes are totally home made. Our partners are: Mahou (Madrid beer), Carlsberg, Alhambra, Delta Cafés (Portuguese cafè), Galbani (Italian Mozzarella), Granoro (italian tomatoes). We also serve gin tonics using 10 premium Gins with select Tonic waters.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

As the blackboard says, this is definetely the best restaurant in town. The pizzas are crispy and tasty, Tiramisu....just deliciious. We tried also Frozen Yogurt with a mouth-watering chocolate topping....excellent.
We will come back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    58
    16
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor Quality Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It's hard to get pizza, calamari and fries wrong but this place can and does. The venue is pleasant looking, the staff are friendly but like most places in San Jose the food is of a poor quality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco C, Propietario at Rione Trastevere, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi! I was quite surprised to read your opinion because no one has ever spoken so badly about the quality of our food. We are making a continuous effort to improve our dishes and we always use the best ingredients, fresh and whenever possible, handmade. I find it difficult to understand how you could be so dissatisfied with our pizza, calamari and french fries! It must have been a very bad day! I hope you get the opportunity to come back to visit us in San José. I'd really appreciate it if you gave us a second chance, I'm sure you will be pleasantly surprised!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home made food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very good quality in this italian seafront restaurant. They serve a very good home made food using first quality ingredients. We had pizzas, pastas and a wonderful Tiramisu. Pizzas are thin, crispy and tasteful. We had also spaghetti with red shrimps, rucola and lemon...very very good.
Unfortunately we discover it last day of our holidays. Next year we surely come back here more than once

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely people
Good Italian menu
Good location by the beach
Sadly only open during the short summer season, so best to check before arriving.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, management, location and value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Trastevere is a very cozy restaurant, I think it accurately reflects the care and passion of Marco and his staff.
This is an Italian restaurant not in a traditional sense, rather because of the very italian constant quest for quality.

For example, Marco has not hesitated to propose a Portuguese coffee because he considered it was better than other most famous Italian brands
Similarly alongside Roman-style pizzas and genuine, tasty pasta, he has introduced an excellent and varied menu of gin club.

The environment, under a pergola with climbing plants and sea views, is cozy and almost always full, but you will not mind waiting a few minutes your table under the pergola sipping something at the beautiful bar inside.

I strongly recommend eating and experiencing this restaurant, surprisingly not even expensive!
You will not leave San José before visiting it at least once again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rione Trastevere also viewed

San Jose, Province of Almeria
San Jose, Province of Almeria
 
San Jose, Province of Almeria
San Jose, Province of Almeria
 

Been to Rione Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rione Trastevere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.