We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self catering cottage not up to standard reflected in cost” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Owlpen Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Owlpen Manor
Save
You added Owlpen Manor to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Uley GL11 5BZ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Uley B&B and Inns
Crawley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Self catering cottage not up to standard reflected in cost”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

stayed for weekend at Summerfield cottage. Unfortunately previous occupants clothes left in drawers, armchair in lounge filthy and smelly which made it unuseable. Entire cottage smelt of cats. Estate manager very superior. Not worth the money

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    20
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
21
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend here at a cousins wedding. The cottages are lovely and quaint and the setting glorious - even in the rain! The setting for the wedding and the Cider House are fabulous.

Food is relatively simple and staff are quite helpful even if a little eccentric!

Quirky, fun, different with a fantastic setting.

Room Tip: Choose Grist Mill - quirky, old and with floors that you can see through!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in the lovely Peter's Nest, which is a small, charming cottage. There are plenty of walks in the area. We mostly heard beautiful bird singing, but for the longest time on Saturday morning clay pigeon shooting disturbed the peace. Oh, and a chainsaw. Such things are, of course, unpredictable. The cottage was thankfully warm and cozy, the dishwasher very appreciated. Extremely small TV, but then again, many people might not want to watch TV while there. For a quiet, simple getaway, I recommend it. Oh, no phone service. Had to walk down to the manor (10 minutes) and wave my cell phone around before I got a signal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Tithe Barn was the perfect place to relax on New Year's Day, and recover from festive excess! The barn was warm, inviting and we loved the wooden beams - beautifully traditional.

The barn has all the mod-cons you'd need, and is surrounded by picturesque countryside for long walks.

Would definitely recommend to others looking for a relaxing break in Gloucestershire

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012 via mobile

From start to finish the folks at Owlpen made our stay a true delight. We were in Peter's Nest, a quaint cottage with one double bed (big enough for me, my partner and our son, nearly 5). The kitchen had all the essentials to cook a meal procured from the nearby Gloucester, bathroom had an ample bath with shower attachment, living area was spacious and comfortably fitted out. The furnace was perfect for creating a warming fire with wood provided and waiting for us.

The grounds are beautiful and nearby village at Uley truly idyllic.

Beyond all that, though, the staff were beyond helpful when we found ourselves in a couple of tight spots (locked the keys in the running car, left our video camera), and they were so courteous and patient we didn't even feel that we were putting them out (though clearly allowing a very late check out whilst we waited for AA and posting our video camera back to us in London were not among the standard amenities!).

Highly recommended, without reservation, for the perfect country getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea , Wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a short break at Owlpen Manor. We booked this place as it is dog friendly and we are so pleased that we spotted it. The valley is enchanting and the walks around it plentiful. We stayed in the Tithe Barn because its small and easier to keep warm in February. We have a Newfoundland dog and even so, there was plenty of room. Previous reviews seem to be pretty scathing about the decor of the cottages. I found the decor fitted in with the age of the buildings so didn't look out of place.

The staff were all friendly and accommodating. They were always happy to help with queries. We found lots of lovely dog friendly pubs in the local area which also serve food so it was a win win situation.

Tetbury, Nailsworth and Cirencester are a 'must visit' and the bread and meringues in Hobbs Bakery has to be tried at all costs. Walks around Woodchester Estate are beautiful.

All in all a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

If you are looking for an historic Manor Home in the HEART of the Cotswald region then look no further. The grounds, history and charm of this magical place must be seen to appreicate. We stayed in the Court House and LOVED it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Owlpen Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owlpen Manor

Address: Uley GL11 5BZ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Uley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Uley
Hotel Class:3 star — Owlpen Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Owlpen Manor Hotel Uley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owlpen Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.