We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Welcoming atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yew Tree

The Yew Tree
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Yew Tree to your Saves list
The Yew Tree
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Monmouth Road, Longhope GL17 0QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Longhope B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly & Welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend, family room. Greeted by a friendly lady, and shown to room.
Room was fresh, clean, comfortable, and quite spacious, with one large double bed, and two single beds. There was also a sofa, t.v, area to make tea and coffee, wadrobe and clean modern shower room, with fluffy fresh towels and toiletries provided.
If i could make one suggestion to this wonderful motel, it would be to add curtains in addition to the blinds. (Just to keep out the early morning sunshine)
The rooms were made up each morning, and fresh tea and coffee provided, a bonus, as its so refreshing to make a hot drink in your room.

There is also patio area outside your room, so you could sit and enjoy the warm evenings, away from the inn, ideal if you want privacy.
We had an evening meal, absolutely delishous, garnished nicely, a good variety at affordable prices yet adequate portions size. Childs meals are a good price with very large portions. I was dissapointed that the childs meal didnt include a drink, perhaps this is something you could look into. One recommendation i would suggest is an infant size meal, for say £2.99, solely for toddlers to under 5's, with a potion size to match. This could be done at your discretion, perhaps offered when you observe the under 5's at the table. I only make these suggestions as consructive feedback on an already fantastic place.
We had a fab time, and enjoyed so much will be back when next in area. I will highly recommend to everyone i know, who is visiting the area.
Loved chatting to the staff Friday nd Saturday night, so frindly and professional. I felt very valued as a customer, thank you.


There is a lovely play area with seating area for adults, enjoy your wine in the fresh air, if you wish to keep an eye on your children, also climbing frame, slide and swings, area to run around, all of which is in an enclosed area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed in family room overnight, very clean, comfortable and roomy. The bathroom has a fantastic power shower and is a good size. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Dined in the pub and the food was delicious child's portions were enormous. Would definitely book again if we are in area

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

One night getaway stay, group of four, March 2014. Chalets are emaculatley clean, lovely & warm. Fabulous food, compliments to the chef. Owners Pete and Karen are a great friendly cople whom made us feel very welcome. Nothing is too much trouble. Thanks for yet again a great stay. Would definitely recommend & will definitely be retuning for the third time. Although it pains me to say I owe Pete a big congratulations re: England beating Wales in the RBS Six Nations. Well done

Room Tip: All very lovley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in a family room for one night last weekend - room was lovely, clean, fresh, very comfortable. Lots of fluffy towels, plenty of tea and coffee (I hate stingy hotels that only give you two sachets!), shower really powerful and hot. All staff polite and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camberley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as it was close to 2 sets of friends. For a pub I thought the quality of the accommodation was very good as it wasn't the traditional pub type room above the bar, but in a separate building behind the pub. The room itself was very good with a comfortable bed and a really good bathroom. There is plenty of parking and a great garden particularly if you have children. There is space to sit outside the rooms and the location is convenient. The road is close by, but didn't seem too noisy. Breakfast is extra and fairly basic, not much choice of cereal, but okay. My only real complaint was the blinds in the bedrooms are inadequate to keep the light out, especially in the summer months and I had a very disturbed night waking up every time the external lighting was activated by a late returning guest, or perhaps a cat wandering around outside. Thicker curtains and less sensitive courtesy lighting are definitely needed.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same as far as I could tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night. I was one of the cheapest places to stay that we could find, so we weren't expecting much. However, the room was tidy, fresh and modern, the staff were very accommodating and entertaining, especially the landlord, Pete, the breakfast was ample and the bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up. Nice big shower too.

We'd love to go back here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I am a little confused as to what the previous two reviews are on about.
I have used the Yew Tree on a few occasions in the past year as I have family that visit so I like to eat out. I have always had excellent quality and a very high standard of service. On the one occasion I returned my place unfinished owing to the size of the meal (nothing to do with the quality), the chef even came out to me and spoke to me to ensure everything was ok with the dish as he noticed food returned.
The staff have always been extremely polite and even offered a private lift back home should we need it.
I can definite recommend the salmon and the rib dishes as I have personal tried both and even when the pub has been busy, the waiting time for the meal was no longer than can be expected when food is prepared fresh to order.
I would definitely recommend the Yew Tree and will DEFINATELY be visiting again at the next opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yew Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yew Tree

Address: Monmouth Road, Longhope GL17 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yew Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Yew Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yew Tree Longhope, Gloucestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yew Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.