We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glass House Inn Restaurant

Glass House Inn Restaurant
Glass House Hill | May Hill, Longhope GL17 0NN, England
01452 830529
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Longhope
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have lived in the area for a couple of years and pop up to the glasshouse every now and then. Sometimes just for a drink, sometimes to eat also. It is spot on. As for the comments about children not being allowed in the bar, those people need to understand that the Landlord is perfectly entitled to make that stipulation and that many people think it perfectly acceptable. All it takes is one loud, uncontrolled child and the ambiance is ruined for all. I have three children and four grandchildren and i love kids. So, i've done the whole parenting thing. If you want to go to a pub to eat with your kids try a Toby Carvery. don't forget your earplugs though. The Glasshouse is a great Pub with a good characterful landlord. Good Beer/wine/Food

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    2
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never fails....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Always fab! Love the menu old and faithful! The beef curry is my favourite but always tempted with the delicious specials! Keep up the good work!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Appalling Attitude, Service & Extreme Rudeness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We drove a long way to have a family reunion lunch as a party of 10 adults with our new born baby and were turned away at the door as they do not allow children in their premises. We were told that we could sit outside to eat our meal yet it was pouring with rain! We were all totally appalled and frankly shocked at the attitude of this establishment. As we were quickly ushered from the premises another family of 4 were also told that they could only sit in the garden, in the rain as they had 2 young daughters. APPALLING & SHOCKING CUSTOMER SERVICE.

I would have more empathy for this attitude if it we have arrived at 8pm in the evening, yet it was 12.30pm for a family lunch and we had called ahead and reserved a table!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place, previously Good Food but very bad Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have eaten at this Pub many times but on the 5/07/14 we arrived for the first time with our grand daughter who is almost 1 and the rest of our family of 8 Adults and a 21 year old French guest. We were turned away from the Glass House as a sign outside refused entry to any one under the age of 14. From closer enquiries we discovered we could sit in the garden and eat but the weather was close to rain so this was not an acceptable option. No reason for the age bar was given and we decided that we should not spend our money on lunch here (we did go to another very good pub some 15 miles away and spent over £200.00 on lunch for 10 and had a very enjoyable time). I am very concious of needing a peaceful space to enjoy a meal and the disruption children can cause but this level of age discrimination is unacceptable. The issue should be good behaviour (enforced by parents) not the age of the child.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We went to The Glass House for the in-laws 65th meal this evening.
We had a warm welcome from one of the waitresses and was immediately shown to a table that gave us more than enough room to sit comfortably. The eating area is homely and has some nice views of their garden.

The selection of drinks were of good standard and were reasonably priced.

There was a good selection of food on offer and there were a number of specials to choose from too.
The food we ordered was......ham egg and chips, fish pie, mushroom stroganoff and chicken wrapped in bacon. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the portion sizes were amazing, very generous.

I will definitely be eating there again. Great service, great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass House Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Longhope, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Glass House Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glass House Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.