We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dick Whittington Farm Park

Dick Whittington Farm Park
Blakemore Farm | Little London, Longhope GL17 0PH, England
01452 831000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 attractions in Longhope
Type: Playgrounds
Attraction Details
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

we had a wonderful time here. Ok it is a bit run down in places, yet there is plenty to see. They have a large indoor play area, lots of animals, a peacock that follows you around! And a cat that sleeps on top of a fishtank!! You can buy chicks as pets and they do animal handling demonstrations, staff are friendly and the gift shop is cheap! What more could you ask for?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    10
    10
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dick whittingham farm park review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We visited dick whittingham farm park today myself and some children I look after even though it was quite cold the children really loved feeding the deers and the billy goats the most. The children really liked the farm park altogether, but were just a little disappointed that they could not see the reptiles. The play area was great where they ran plenty of energy off they especially liked the long slides, as went on several times. All facilities at the emblishment were really good, as children really enjoyed themselves would bring them again, also to add the admission price is really good at the moment especially as your offer with adults going free.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My daughter is animal mad and there aren't many places to go and visit in Gloucester where she really can enjoy getting 'hands on' with animals. Recent weather does not help! This farm park is great, we can visit the animals when it is dry and she can spend a ton of energy on the slides and trampolines and ball pit when it pours with rain.
We find the animals perfectly friendly, bearing in mind that my daughter has been brought up to know that animals have teeth, and feet that generally include hooves or claws. Obviously these are live creatures, not soft toys! We pet these animals and feed them with no problems whatsoever. I think the animals are very well cared for, my daughter loves to trail the staff who clean and feed them.
The staff are all very friendly and welcoming. There is a good cafe with very fair prices - it can get very expensive taking children out for the day and it is a credit to the owners that they keep prices in the cafe reasonable. They are also perfectly happy to give hot, exhausted thirsty children who have been running around the ball pit and slides a beaker of water at no charge. I don't know of many places who cheerfully do this, many prefer to sell parents an expensive bottle of water.
We now have a membership card and spend a lot of weekends at this park. My daughter can go off and make friends and have fun and I can sit with a cup of coffee and relax and catch up on some reading whilst she charges around and plays.
Well worth a visit in the school holidays. There are lots of events planned for the Easter Break.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not a family day out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I recently visited this "farm park" with a 3 year old little girl. We hoped this would be a pleasant day out and a chance for her to interact and feed the animals.
It was not. The animals did not seem happy in their surroundings as they bit at each other to get near the food we had and were very violent, jumping up at gates and fences. All in all quite distressing for a young child.
We moved away from these animals in the hope those in the fields maybe calmer, whilst standing near to these animals a pony then attempted to snatch the food out of the young girls hand and luckily only bit her coat but scared her so much we proceeded to leave.
Up to this point we had to walk between what can only be described as metal freight containers full of random furniture and general junk. There was also further piles of this junk stacked in a field next to the animals as if to become a bonfire.
The most pleasant part of this trip was the digger (which we had to pay extra for) in the carpark.
To think in total 4 adults and 1 child paid over £20 for this shoddy, somewhat disturbing 30 minutes is a disgrace.
This place needs some serious TLC and so do the animals before summer when I imagine more people may dare to visit here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Owner at Dick Whittington Farm Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
One of the joys of livestock farming is to witness the turn-out to grass of animals that have been cooped up in sheds over a long Winter. They react by running around and jostling with one another. The arrival of visitors only adds to their excitement. What this visitor therefore witnessed was not unhappy, fighting goats. Quite the opposite, it was excitement that was being displayed.

Our Farm Park targets families with children from toddlers to ten year olds. The young children can be introduced to animals initially in our Pets Room and our Reptile House. It may not have been the best idea to put a nervous three year old straight in front of a pony! We do have signs up stating that parents and guardians are responsible for supervising children in their care. We do encourage visitors to talk to members of the staff to understand the ways of the countryside.

We have notices on the Reception door, on the Reception and a large development plan on our café wall explaining about the re-development project of the Visitor Centre. The start of this development programme has been badly delayed by the atrocious weather of the last eighteen months.

This visitor clearly wandered into our storage/development area and seems to have taken great interest in our material storage units which obviously have got nothing at all to do with our Farm Park. The visitor then describes a structure that looked like a bonfire. In fact, it was a bonfire which was lit with the arrival of dry weather two days after their visit and has now burnt away all the debris and rubbish.

What is surprising is what is not mentioned by this visitor. There is absolutely no comment about our Small Pets Room, the Reptile House, the new Aviary Centre, the Birds of Prey units, the Nature Trails, the orchard full of all traditional apple species, the Deer Park, the trout lake, the arboretum, the hazelnut grove and, most important of all, the massive indoor heated Play Barn full of slides, trampolines, climbing frames, ball pools and so forth.

This visitor has therefore seen probably less than 10% of what is on display and yet is criticising the pricing. Again, no mention was made of the fact that adults with paying children are coming in free of charge. This special offer runs right through now until 30th June, 2013.

We are indeed ideal for a family day out. Preparations are well advanced now for Easter with bottle-feeding of our lambs, Easter egg hunts and, of course, fun in our massive Play Barn regardless of whether it is snowing, raining, or blowing a gale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to take children:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My grandson is 22 months old,and I have taken him to this park twice now,he loves it,and I (his nan) think it is a great place for children,yes the outer is hard to push a buggy around or wheel chair,so take this in when you visit this park (but this is only around the top half of the farm).My gandson just heads straight for the soft play area which is large,safe and oh so much fun.I would take him their more often but to pay full price for an adult (I usually take 2 other adults with me his aunt and uncle) it can work out expensive.Shame you couldn't pay just for the soft play area at a lower price.Think it's worth a visit just for the soft play area (there is know where else to take children when it's such awful weather.At the end of the day it is a working farm and you need to take this in to consideration when you visit this farm:)Give this farm park a chance:)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Owner at Dick Whittington Farm Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
The Management and Staff at the Dick Whittington Farm Park were delighted that this lady and her grandson had enjoyed their visits to our Visitor Centre. We have some good news regarding this lady’s observation about the price of adult entry.

For more details visit either our website or telephone on 01452 – 831000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick Whittington Farm Park also viewed

 

Been to Dick Whittington Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dick Whittington Farm Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dick Whittington Farm Park to your Saves list