We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saved the best till last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Farmers Boy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Farmers Boy Inn to your Saves list
The Farmers Boy Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   A40 Ross Road, Longhope GL170LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shrewsbury,United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“We saved the best till last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We'd been away for over a fortnight,staying in a country house hotel,a luxury self-catering apartment and a top-class B&B.This was our last night away, en route home and it couldn't have been better. A friendly pub, extremely busy (Saturday night),but the cheerful staff coped well with the pressure.The food was brilliant.An amazing choice of pies,plus a comprehensive menu of other mouth-watering dishes- but the pies were outstanding
"Mad about Pies" Yes,indeed - passionate about pies,and a reputation well deserved.A very popular restaurant,probably essential to book in advance
The bedrooms,round a courtyard at the rear of the pub,were clean,comfortable and quiet,with huge beds you could get lost in!
A perfect place to end our holiday.We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Manager at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We Are Delighted That You Enjoyed Your Stay As Much As You Did! Thank-you For The Great Comments.

It Sounds Like You Were Very Busy Travelling Around, We Are Very Glad You Chose To Stay With Us To Finnish Your Break!

We Hope That You Return To The Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn In The Near Future.

Kind Regards, Kathryn Cornwall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    95
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
48
263
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Well where to start only one night stay only regret it had not been longer. The rooms are clean and fresh with a massive bed. The food and service were excellent. Others have moaned about the time food took to arrive. We didn't wait long even though the restaurant was busy. The service was good waitress very friendly. Food like that was worth waiting for. The portions were huge and defeated both husband and I. Thanks for making ours a lovely stay and we will certainly be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Manager at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank-You So Much For A Great Review! We Are Delighted That You Had Such A Good Stay!

We Are Very Glad That Your Evening Meal Was So Good!

We Hope To See You Again Soon At The Award Winning Framers Boy Inn.

Kind Regards, Kathryn Cornwall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a one night stay at The Farmers Boy Inn and enjoyed it very much, the rooms at the rear of the pub are compact but adequate and have everything you could want inside them. The evening meal was very nice I tried the Whitebait starter and for main course the Chicken and mushroom pie (Just Wonderful). The selection of beers at the bar was very good indeed from ciders, larger and bitters mostly from the local breweries.
The staff were more than friendly and made our stay most enjoyable(many Thanks).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Manager at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank-You For Such A Great Review! We Are Very Glad That You Enjoyed Your Stay With Us!

We Are Very Glad That Your Stay Was So Enjoyable, Don't Forget To Keep A Look Out For Our Pies Online And In Some Shops.

We Hope To Welcome You Back To The Award Winning Farmers Boy inn.

Kind Regards, Kathryn Cornwall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband & I were looking for somewhere local to our holiday cottage that allowed dogs so went here after reading the great reviews. It was about 3pm on a Saturday and the pub was fairly quiet. We chose to sit outside as it was a sunny day. Our food took around 50 minutes to arrive & even by this point the waitresses still hadn't managed to bring us any cutlery. Our meals were then brought out in about 5 trips although there were only 2 of us. My husband had a pie
& I had the cajun chicken & red onion bloomer. The pie was ok (although nothing outstanding) but the bloomer I cannot say the same for. Over cooked, rock hard, grisly chicken (of which most went to the dog) and no red onion in site. We ordered extra chips which we were glad of as I had to check with the waitress what we had was definitely 3 portions! Overall we thought the pub was disappointing given what we were expecting. Poorly cooked food and below average service. We overheard locals on the next table questioning whether there was a new chef as their meals had also been below the standard they usually expected...



  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Apologies for the late delay in replying. I have looked into your comments and i apologise and admit that on this occasion it looks like we got it wrong. Once we "the Public" find a negative "rightly or Wrongly" we start to look for more and if we are not on top of our game we will struggle.
Our Job is to make people happy "a difficult but rewarding job" when its going right. On this occasion it looks like we fell short. My apologies once again.
Big Respect
Phil Kiernan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lovely pub friendly staff great food. Accomodation clean and comfortable. We were supposed to stay for 2 nights but due to a long term health issue had to return home on 2nd morning. We were both very disapointed as we had already planned what we would be eating that evening from the very interesting menu.
We would highly recommend The Farmers Boy to everyone we know and would hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Manager at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank-you Rosemary For Your Great Review, We Are Very Glad You Enjoyed Your Stay At The Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn.

We Are Very Sorry That You Had To Leave Early!

But We Look Forward To Welcoming You Back To The Farmers Boy Inn In The Near Future.

Kind Regards, Kathryn Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The curbside appeal of this pub could be a little off putting, 3 union flags flying from the building, novelty signs on pavement. However,this unpretentious establishment has well equiped ensuite courtyard rooms that are very clean. The reataurant has a good varied menu offering well presented food which is extremely well cooked along with a nice selection of ales, ciders & wines to suit all budgets. The staff are warm & friendly providing an excellent service & nothing is too much trouble. This pub is run by a guy who is at the top of his game, don't miss out. John & Helen, Hertfordshire

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Manager at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank-you very much for your kind comments, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn.

We Hope To See You Again In The Future.
Kind Regards, Kathryn Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely time last week (Weds, last day of summer!) Our son very kindly paid for us as a treat, and because the weather was so good we had our lunch outside in the beautiful garden. My husband actually summed it up perfectly on the way back home, he said "what a way to spend a sunny day - fantastic company, fantastic food and fantastic service, what more can a man want?" We will certainly be back - can we book some sunshine now please? The meals are plentiful as well, so would suggest wearing elasticated waists!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilKiernan, Manager at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We Are Glad You Enjoyed Your Visit! Thank-you Very Much For Your Kind Comments!

I Think You Picked The Right Day, The Weather Was Brilliant! Maybe Next Time You Visit It May Be Too Cold Outside So You Could Sit By Our Open Log Fire!

We Look Forward To Seeing You Again Soon!
Kind Regards, Kathryn Cornwall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Address: A40 Ross Road, Longhope GL170LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farmers Boy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.