We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like Royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Felt like Royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Could not stay as the hotel was booked. Was there to attend a birthday tea. The setting and the grounds are stately. The staff so friendly and the food that was served for the tea was splendid. Hope to get to stay my next visit to this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear goodbyegirl

Thank you for your comments on our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us recently but were sorry that we could not accommodate you overnight.

We will pass on your kind comments to the staff that were involved in making your experience such a pleasant one.

Should you decide to visit us again and stay then we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall hotel.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    144
    83
    42
    14
See reviews for
67
209
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here with three friends on a night in Gloucester for a rugby match. Bedrooms extremely clean and comfortable with plenty of space. Bathroom more than adequate and one little gripe that the water temperature in the shower varied during usage.

Had a bar menu on first evening that was good value and tasty. Breakfast was good with in my case freshly cooked eggs Benedict. Many other options available.

Staff very professional and friendly and overall no hesitation in recommending it for a stay over and I will use it again. It is about 4 miles outside Gloucester but taxi booked by hotel and costs about £10 or €13.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Eoghan O

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us recently.

We were pleased to read that you found our bedrooms spacious and comfortable during your experience with us and that you found the food to your satisfaction. Our Freshly Cooked to Order items on our breakfast menu are certainly popular and Eggs Benedict is one of the most ordered items.

Our staff pride themselves on offering a warm, helpful and friendly service so we are happy that this was the case whilst you were with us and we will pass on your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife & I booked a break in November when booking the on line brochure showed a swimming pool but when we arrived we were told this facility was no longer available but even then it was still showing in the brochure & when we complained it was not dealt with very professionally the hotel does need a bit spruce up looking tired although the staff were helpful

Room Tip: remember this hotel does not have a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear LBarry2014

Thank you for your comments.

We were sorry to learn that your stay wasn’t as you expected due to old advertising for the hotel having a leisure club. We did have one up until last year however we did endeavour to have as much advertising as possible removed from print and online. To our knowledge, the majority of travel agents and hotel websites that list us both online and in printed brochures no longer advertise the old leisure club.

The hotel is due an update to the public areas shortly. We were glad though that our staff were as helpful as they could be and we trust that every other aspect was of a high standard during the course of your stay.

We wish you well with your future travels.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights at hotel and was very impressed,it is very clean with good sized rooms with staff who sort out and deal with any issues. Food was good,although two of the three meals were not what was on the menu (ordered pork belly but got a pork chop) ,however once I complained an extremely attentive waitress was full of apologies and provided the meal for free, my sons steak though was very good.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear 101MartinH

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your two night stay with us recently. We certainly have some very spacious rooms with brand new mattresses and the comfort of guests is one of our priorities.

We apologise for one of the meals not being what you ordered but are glad to hear that you were not charged and that the rest of the food was to expectation.

We have a fantastic friendly team at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall that we are immensely proud of.

Should you wish to visit us again in the future, we look forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed just one night only for New Year’s Eve celebration .
Lovely sparkling decoration ,festive atmosphere and tasty dinner were highlights for the start.
Band was absolutely brilliant and it looked like it was not just my impression as the dance floor was full from the beginning. Must say that DJ did amazing job as well as even though the variety of the age groups, everyone seemed to have a really good time.
Perfect breakfast with large choice of items after good night sleep – perfect start of New Year 2014

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Vero362

Happy New Year to you. Thank you for your kind comments

We were glad to read you enjoyed your evening and overnight stay with us for our New Year’s Eve package. We aimed to make everything perfect for this most special of celebrations including the food and entertainment so we are pleased it lived up to expectation.

We will pass your comments onto all involved in making it a memorable experience for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you wish to visit and stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Having booked to stay at the hotel on NYE we obviously weren't the main concern of the staff; the restaurant shut at 6.30pm meaning we ate rather early for our liking (although understandable as there were two functions on in the hotel for the NYE celebrations). We were impressed to have been put in a quiet part of the hotel however on the top floor as we didn't attend the functions that were organised.Our food was delivered in good time but without the drinks we had requested and there was not enough cutlery for us either.


At breakfast we had to wait a while to be sat by one lady, and were then moved by a man who didn't bother asking had we already been seen to - we were told that they were 'short on space' and would have to move to a smaller table (there were plenty of spare tables of all sizes available) - bit odd to have to move your bowls and plates of part eaten food. The breakfast was lovely though and there was plenty of choice available.

On check-in and out we were served by Alison (I believe) who was very cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Laura0908

Thank you for your review.

We like to believe we look after all our guests equally so we apologise if you felt neglected or that not all your needs were met. New Year’s Eve is our busiest night of the year and it was all hands on deck with regards to staffing. As you correctly pointed out, we closed the restaurant earlier than normal due to the double celebrations going on within the hotel later on that evening however, you should have been bought your drinks and the table should have been set up correctly. We are sorry this was not so.

The few guests that stay over on New Year’s Eve with us each year that do not participate in the party are always roomed as far away as possible from noise to ensure minimum disruption to their stay. This is standard procedure during most events held here so we hope that you were comfortable and slept well.

The table arrangements the following morning would have been set up to allow for the brunch for the package guests so although the tables looked free, they would have in fact have been reserved for the larger parties of guests but we apologise for any confusion caused during the breakfast service with regards to your seating. Our breakfast certainly is consistent so we are glad you enjoyed it.

We will pass on your kind comments directly to Alison who is a valuable asset to the Reception team and we do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

a bit difficult to find especially in the dark.hotel has no lift if you have mobility problems.would not personally agree with star rating as it seemed rather tired and dated.we had dinner both nights we stayed and thought the food was excellent.good base to explore surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear graham e

Thank you for your comments.

Our hotel is situated out of the way in a village on the outskirts of the Cotswolds and can be a little tricky to find without the use of a sat nav, however, there are signs to the hotel once you are in the village of Upton St Leonards but we apologise you struggled to find us.

We have a platform lift to the first floor for any guests that are elderly or have mobility issues. Any guests that notify our team upon booking that require a lift are usually roomed on this floor. With regards to other guests, they are offered assistance with luggage upon check in. Due to the age and design of the building, we are unable to have a modern lift installed.

Our hotel is due to have some refurbishment this year, mainly in the public areas and some of the hotel bedrooms and bathrooms will be updated.

We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us and that you found it conveniently situated for exploring this very pretty area.

We do hope you visit us again.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.