We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, professional staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards GL4 8ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly, professional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from a night at Bowden Hall (having spent our honeymoon here in 2008). The welcome was refreshing, given some receptions we have received from other hotels. The lounge area was being used for a birthday party, which was disappointing as we had neglected to book an early dinner, but the staff soon accommodated us (and others) in a quiet area of the room.
Dinner was sublime in the generous dining room and waiting staff were courteous and attentive. The bedroom was well-proportioned and decorated although the bathroom was a little tired looking.
Breakfast was delicious and hot (not often a word I'd use for a buffet breakfast).
All in all, a very lovely, relaxing stay in a hotel where the staff go out of their way to make you feel special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Worcestershirelass3

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    101
    60
    29
    10
See reviews for
50
157
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just spent a weekend at the Mercure Bowden Hall as a delayed Valentines weekend treat. The hotel is situated a lovely rural location but is close enough to Gloucester for easy access to the local attractions. The hotel seemed very busy but staff were attentive and we felt welcomed and at no time did we feel like just another customer. The room was comfortable and clean with effective air conditioning, wired internet access was available, however free WiFi would be a significant improvement and is becoming standard in this class of hotel these days. Breakfast was excellent, although it can be crowded, so it's best to avoid the busiest periods in the morning. We ate in the restaurant one evening and chose items from the a la carte menu which were all prepared quickly and were of excellent quality. Far too often hotel food is overpriced and not prepared with care, however this is not the case at Bowden Hall where it appears food is taken seriously and the quality is excellent. One minor point to note is that there are a number of stairs to get to the rooms and this might be an issue for anyone with restricted mobility, however it should be said that there is a stair lift to enable wheelchair using guests to access one floor of rooms. All in all this hotel is definitely above average and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear DevonMB

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback.

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you would not hesitate to stay again. I will share your comments with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Gavin Jones - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Spent a weekend here and enjoyed it very much.

Had quite a job to find the hotel initially - don't have SatNav, although was told that was not that much better!

However, that said the location is most pleasant, in the country, yet really quite accessible both for the Motorway, Gloucester and Cheltenham..

Inside the hotel is somewhat of a rabbit warren, with quite a long walk to some of the bedrooms, so it is even possible to get lost on the way there too!

The restaurant service and meals were of a good standard with an excellent choice for breakfast; the staff pleasant and friendly, although one waitress seemed a little brusque.

Our room was fairly standard (I understand there are better ones) and clean, but there could have been more toiletries, tea, apart from speciality ones, and milk - this was a rather tangy packaged type.

We found the Public Rooms bright, airy and comfortably furnished and certainly were most favourably impressed by the grounds and views enjoyed.

Would be happy to return either to explore the area or to stop over on the way elsewhere.

Room Tip: Front facing for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Pajabl

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall after your recent visit.

I am sorry that you had difficulty in finding the hotel initially if you’re coming off the M5 best to use junction 11A then follow the signs for Upton St Leonards on the A417 then down Nuthill and pick up signs for Bowden Hall Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals and found the breakfast offering to be excellent.

Thank you for your comments regarding the toiletries I will investigate this with my Head Housekeeper but please be assured that additional toiletries and tea and milk are always available at reception should you run short during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure in the near future

Kind regards

Gavin Jones – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just returned from a night at this hotel and, although initial reservation was a nightmare, as we part of a bigger group there for a party, on arrival check-in was efficient and our room, although quite standard in appearance, was actually very comfortable. We had a top floor room with a limited view of the grounds, but as we had reserved the room with a special group party rate, we were not unhappy with what we had been allocated. The food at the party run by the hotel was good. staff were efficient and quick to deal with issues. When it was acknowledged that the list of main courses had been wrongly collated, the staff obliging brought our group a couple of bottles of wine to compensate for the extra wait.
The following morning, I did have to ring reception as we had noticed that there was not the usual pack of information in the room that you would expect indicating breakfast times and check-out time. However we were pleased to discover that breakfast was on until 11am and check out was a leisurely 12pm. Breakfast had a stream of staff ensuring a) you were seated immediately b) tables were cleared and re-laid quickly c) that the buffet options were replenished as required. Our drinks order was taken, but I did notice that no one asked if we wanted one of the kitchen, made to order options. Luckily none of us did, so we did not have to attract a waiter's / waitress' attention.
All of us remarked that although we had had lots of complications during reservations, all in all by the end of our stay we were pleasantly surprised... The hotel perhaps is due a 'spruce up' and renovation of the corridors,which smelt a lite musty... Replace those carpets Mercure! Finally, if communication could be improved between sales, front of house and reservations, this would be a hotel to recommend highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am delighted to hear that overall you had a great time at our hotel and you enjoyed the event. I will share your comments with our team as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of both our communication and service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

I look forward to welcome you back to Mercure Gloucester..

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My Sat Nav couldn't find it totally but as it was still light could see it, its down some windy lanes from nearest main road, but looks good from outside. They couldn't find my booking but resolved that quickly, the entrance is okay but oldy worldy and I at once noticed the carpets in the bar/ lunges was rucked up in some places which could be a bit dangerous if an older person. To get to room you went up a small staircase but at the bottom was a huge chair lift sticking out with bits of metal could catch you and hurt, corridors look like they have been repainted quickly so you see differening shades of emulsion as you walk along_ not a good first impression. Room was okay though, high floor at the front so a lovely view over tress and the small Lake, everything you need although a bit old and free wi-fi was good. Shame the swimming pool closed at 8pm, way too early as I had to go out to see family and got back at 9pm. Food in lounge bar expensive and one poor man seemed to be doing night reception/ bar and serve lounge food. Breakfast was a let down, limited choice of cereals but usual yogurts, fruit, etc but bacon and eggs had been under heat lamps for a while - so dry and pretty horrid tasting, if I was on Room Only I would not pay extra for that breakfast. Also if finished at 9am which is too early. If you had a value weekend and wanted to walk and relax could be okay, but need a car as nothing but a pub and small shop in Village.

Room Tip: High floor at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Uktallguy

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel

The hotel is set within the beautiful country side and a stone throw away from the Cotswolds within easy reach of the M5 Junction 11a.

I am sorry to hear that we were unable to find your reservation at first but pleased to see the reception team dealt with this quickly and efficiently. I have noted your comments regarding the carpets in the lounge and have sent a copy of your review to our group property director.

Our Breakfast service is normally a high standard and I will investigate your comments with my operations manager to ensure that we have not wavered from the group presentation. I am ensure as to your comment regarding breakfast finishing at 9am as we serve breakfast until 9.30 weekdays and on the weekend until 11am.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind regards

Gavin Jones - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel was freezing, we literally had to turn radiators on in the bedroom and bar/lounge area, I can't describe how cold it was. Pipes in the bedroom made noises all night with running water and the room was very small. Pool was the size of a postage stamp. We had a set meal which was tasty and good value but even this would not make me return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear PrincessNDJ
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on Trip Advisor after your stay in October.

I can confirm that the heating is controlled by a timer and can be overridden should a guest feel cold during their stay with us. We also give our guests the flexibility to be able to control their own heating in the bedroom by adjusting the thermostatic value.

I am unsure of the size of PrincessNDJ’s postage stamps, but can confirm to our other reviewers that the swimming pool at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall is 4 meters Wide 10 meters long and 1.5 meters deep.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your set menu and that you felt it was good value for money and tasty.

Once again thank you for your feedback, as we continue to improve in our service delivery
Regards

Gavin Jones – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were recommended to try Bowden hall as a venue for our Annual Trefoil Guild (Girl Guiding for Grown ups) Thinking day meal. What a lovely meal and what a nice experience, There were almost eighty of us and we were made warmly welcome by the staff The beautifully prepared dining room set the atmosphere, the extensive choice of food made sure that everyone was happy and the quality of the meal gave so much pleasure to us all. We would not hesitate to book again next year. A big thankyou to all the staff (and to the friend who recommended Bowden hall!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mary S

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel.

To be recommended and have everything going perfectly for you is so pleasing to hear. We do pride ourselves on our quality food and great customer service which you have now experienced and hopefully you will now recommend us to your friends and family with confidence.

It was a pleasure having you here and look forward to seeing you all again very soon.

Thank you for leaving feedback.

Kind regards

Gavin Jones – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.