We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Cirencester, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice place, very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Thoroughly nice place - excellent staff special mention for Clare who does the beauty treatments and Simon in the bar! Room nice and clean, good dinner, not so impressed with the breakfast though - fried eggs were set hard, bacon hard, beans cool - so could do better in this area!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for kind comments towards our staff and facilities at Bowden Hall. Sorry to hear that your breakfast experience was not up to standard but we really appreciate your comments and will definitely look into this matter further. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon where we aim to impress.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    145
    83
    42
    14
See reviews for
67
210
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

After a long day travelling it was areal pleasure to stay at Bowden Hall. My room was large and very comfortable. I ate in the restraunt and found the menu and food a real treat. My first visit but one I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your first stay with us at Bowden Hall. I am glad we made a great impression on you with our choice of delicious food and comfortable accommodation.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

A four day visit at the end of February to celebrate my wife's 80th birthday was handled expertly by all the staff at Bowden Hall. The accomodation as usual was great and the celebration dinner was just as we wanted and expected. The service was great and all our needs catered for. I keep going back to Bowden Hall and whilst they give me total satisfaction I will continue to do so.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your kind comments to Trip Advisor. I am glad we were able to make your Wife’s 80th birthday celebrations one to remember. We aim for high standard in food, service and accommodation and glad you experience this through your continuous breaks away with us at Bowden Hall.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful stay - the staff were helpful and friendly, especially Simon who (unasked) brought welcome pots of tea after a long day. nothing was too much trouble including detailed information about local walks. Accommodation very comfortable, clean and warm and 3 of us stayed in the one room and it was spacious. As visitors to England, we felt we had an iconic experience in a large country home. Would happily stay again.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to submit your kind comments to Trip Advisor. We have some great staff at the hotel and we always aim for a high standard in customer service so I am glad this came across in our service. Bowden Hall is a beautiful hotel and I am glad you enjoyed your room and our facilities.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Keep a look out on our website for some great weekend break deals.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

good hotel - very friendly staff. Very comfortable, excellent food in restaurant. Clean and tidy but a bit warn.

Room Tip: No lift - if you can't manage stairs check before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to submit your kind comments to Trip Advisor. Bowden Hall is a beautiful hotel and I am glad our staff, service and facilities made a good impression on you.

I hope to welcome you back to Bowden Hall in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Matthew

Matthew Barton
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights. Fantastic location with lovely grounds - sadly it rained so we didnt get chance to fully appreciate them. Our room, was clean, tidy and the bed was lush!! Two little dissapointments, the window opened at the top, so was unable to take decent photos of our view. Also our room was up in the gods, and involved a fair amount of walking and steps. This could be a problem for the more mature visitor or someone with wlaking difficulties.

Breakfast was delicious, good choice and fresh and tasty. Staff were helpful as well and didnt mind when the caffeine addict in me asked for more coffee.

One slight down point is the as the location is a bit far out, you are restricted if you wanted to eat outside of the hotel.

We ate in the hotel both nights. £22 each for 3 courses. Was fab food, Pate - highly recomended!!

Overall, lovely hotel, very grand, and lovely decor in keeping with the age. Some areas maybe could do with a new lick of paint, but thats me being picky!

Room Tip: If you have trouble with walking request a room low in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to submit your kind comments to Trip Advisor. I am thoroughly glad our facilities and staff made a great impression on you. I am very proud of all the staff at the hotel and it is great to hear such good feedback.

Kind Regards,
Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.