We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful stay - the staff were helpful and friendly, especially Simon who (unasked) brought welcome pots of tea after a long day. nothing was too much trouble including detailed information about local walks. Accommodation very comfortable, clean and warm and 3 of us stayed in the one room and it was spacious. As visitors to England, we felt we had an iconic experience in a large country home. Would happily stay again.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to submit your kind comments to Trip Advisor. We have some great staff at the hotel and we always aim for a high standard in customer service so I am glad this came across in our service. Bowden Hall is a beautiful hotel and I am glad you enjoyed your room and our facilities.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Keep a look out on our website for some great weekend break deals.

Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    118
    74
    38
    13
See reviews for
62
179
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

good hotel - very friendly staff. Very comfortable, excellent food in restaurant. Clean and tidy but a bit warn.

Room Tip: No lift - if you can't manage stairs check before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to submit your kind comments to Trip Advisor. Bowden Hall is a beautiful hotel and I am glad our staff, service and facilities made a good impression on you.

I hope to welcome you back to Bowden Hall in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Matthew

Matthew Barton
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights. Fantastic location with lovely grounds - sadly it rained so we didnt get chance to fully appreciate them. Our room, was clean, tidy and the bed was lush!! Two little dissapointments, the window opened at the top, so was unable to take decent photos of our view. Also our room was up in the gods, and involved a fair amount of walking and steps. This could be a problem for the more mature visitor or someone with wlaking difficulties.

Breakfast was delicious, good choice and fresh and tasty. Staff were helpful as well and didnt mind when the caffeine addict in me asked for more coffee.

One slight down point is the as the location is a bit far out, you are restricted if you wanted to eat outside of the hotel.

We ate in the hotel both nights. £22 each for 3 courses. Was fab food, Pate - highly recomended!!

Overall, lovely hotel, very grand, and lovely decor in keeping with the age. Some areas maybe could do with a new lick of paint, but thats me being picky!

Room Tip: If you have trouble with walking request a room low in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to submit your kind comments to Trip Advisor. I am thoroughly glad our facilities and staff made a great impression on you. I am very proud of all the staff at the hotel and it is great to hear such good feedback.

Kind Regards,
Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We have just spent a relaxing five days at this hotel. The staff could not do more to make you feel welcome and important. The food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent and served well. The grounds are well cared for and so are the rooms. The pool was a great asset after a day sight seeing in the area. Definitely somewhere we will come back to.

Room Tip: No lift but staff willing to help with luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments towards the staff and food at Bowden Hall and I am glad you enjoyed our leisure facilities.

I will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

What a shame a beautiful setting a georgeous building fabulous grounds a super room top floor front of house but no lift. six flights of stairs
So terribly tired, refurb is a must, staff all very pleasant, food good, breakfast passable. This could be a jewel. Lovely lake but unkempt and over grown. A massage with Clare in the spa a must

Room Tip: A top floor room in the bay, be warned NO LIFT
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time to submit your comments to Trip Advisor, I am thoroughly glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I am glad to hear you took advantage of our spa facilities.

Due to the Bowden Hall being a listed building we have been unable to build a lift within the front of the hotel. We know this is an inconvenience for a number of guests; however our friendly team at the hotel always offer to lend a helpful hand with any personal belongings.

Jupiter Hotels have a few plans to refurbish the hotel however it is not yet decided when these plans will be acted upon.

I do hope to welcome you back to Bowden Hall in the future,

Kind Regards,
Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Great all round, Lovely location and clean room, restaurant very good service and food. All staff a credit to the company.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time to submit your kind comments to Trip Advisor. I am thoroughly glad our facilities and staff made a great impression on you. I am very proud of all the staff at the hotel and it is great to hear such good feedback.

Kind regards

Gavin

Gavin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.