We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hatton Court Hotel to your Saves list
Hatton Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Colwyn Bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

On a break stayed one night, very friendly and helpful staff , very nice evening meal and good breakfast , will stay again when over that way no problem .
The room I had was ok but ready for revamp which I believe is under way in the hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    280
    105
    77
    58
See reviews for
72
523
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very dissatisfied!
I booked the Jacuzzi room for a romantic getaway. The jacuzzi did not work properly and the whole bathroom looked very tired, reporting the matter to receptionist made no difference.

When we went for breakfast we were told there was no tea, no yoghurts and no pastries!! The traditional cooked breakfast was sparse if you did not want all of the items.

I have never written a review before but having contacted the Manager twice there is no other option.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your email, I am sorry that you have not had a response, I would be grateful if you could contact me directly on 01452 617412. I am not aware of any occassion when we have not had tea? As you will read from our other reviewers we pride ourselves in sending our guests off with a quality freshly cooked plated breakfast. Please get in touch.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadnam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is the first review I have bothered to write but after seeing a few bad reviews for this hotel I thought they deserved me making the effort to say how excellent the hotel and service was. We stayed on a very cold night and very quickly upon requesting a couple of very helpful staff bustled in with lots of extra duvets and throws and extra electric heaters.

We stayed in room 1 which was a superior room costing £135 for a Saturday night. The room and very large bathroom was big enough to become a one bedroom flat but still managing to feel very closely and comfortable. My 4 year old son had endless fun bathing in the jacuzzi bath ! The staff were fantastic with my son all weekend and treated him as a guest in his own right rather than a nuisance.

Food was fantastic both at dinner and breakfast. All in all a very relaxing weekend away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original historic part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Sunday Lunch at Hatten Court – Excellent value for money. The hotel restaurant has views across the surrounding countryside and over the city; it’s a pleasant setting for a family lunch. Although we were on a groupon deal even at full price I would have been very happy. Staff were friendly and helpful without being over intrusive. The food was of a great standard. Great little find if you are looking for somewhere nice to dine in Gloucester.

Room Tip: food is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels for business and this hotel scored high on several counts.
Very friendly and helpful staff with comfortable rooms and excellent food.
Great value too.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone - and will return if I am in the area again.

Room Tip: I was in a room above the main door and unfortunately the lights kept me awake. The room would be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My Husband and came for a meal with our granddaughter, not knowing what to expect as we had never been here before. We were served with bread beforehand and then the meal, to be honest we have never tasted better , from starter to desert. The attention to detail . The staff are very attentive , next time would like to have a look around the grounds because due to the bad weather it was not possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We brought some friends here recently on recommendation to eat in The Tara Restaurant.
I have to say the whole experience was superb including very attentive bar and restaurant staff.
We ate from the taster menu which i believe is all locally sourced and we were not disappointed.
Every course that was presented to us was to die for!! The chef even took time out to come over and speak to us which I thought was a lovely touch. We shall definitely be coming back again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to other friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatton Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.