We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay (although too short!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Manor

The Old Manor
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Manor
Save
You added The Old Manor to your Saves list
1 The Old Manor, Paxford GL55 6XL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Paxford B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay (although too short!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had an excellent stay at The Old Manor last weekend. The room and bathroom were spotless, the bed very comfy and the house warm & welcoming. But the highlight is Rob and Jan themselves: nothing was too much trouble, they were kind and attentive but not over the top. When we had to leave (unexpectedly) very early on Sunday morning they got up to give us a full breakfast (we didn't ask them to!) and made sure we were well fed before we had to hit the road. Rob also does tours of the Cotswolds in his taxi which I'm sure would be excellent. We would certainly go back, Lloyd & Felicity

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Thank you very much to Rob and Jan for a fantastic 3 day stay. The couple is very friendly and helpful and provide a very clean and lovely house for guests. And the breakfast was absolutely incredible. Different each day - we miss it already!
The B&B in Paxford is about a 10 minute drive from Moreton-on-Marsh, the closest train station. Rob has a taxi company so can organize to pick you up. Then from the B&B you can use bicycles and it doesn't take long to cycle to nearby villages including Chipping Campden & Blockley. Also plenty of places to walk around and enjoy the Cotswold. Stratford-upon-Avon is also not very far away - about 20 minutes by car.

Room Tip: There is only one room - but it's perfect. Good size, has kettle, tv, etc. Couldn't ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Paxford is a lovely little village, right in the middle of the Cotswolds and away from mass tourism. You can also visit Oxford. It's only one hour by car. The old Manor with Jan and Rob is a perfect place to stay. We spent four days with them and felt more than comfortable. They are so friendly and relaxed! Jan is a fabulous host and cook. Breakfast was great! The Churchill Arms is the only pub in Paxford, but the food is absolutely good. So, if you like to spend a couple of days in the Cotswolds The old Manor is a good start. I love the Cotswolds and I love The old Manor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

carol and gareth spent a special weekend in this picturesque idylic village, such a beautful cottage with very welcoming hosts. Jan and Rob are a superb partnership who immediately make you feel at home, nothing is too much trouble, very friendly..............felt like I knew them a lot longer than two days! The room was perfect, comfy bed and sofa with lovely high quality bed linen and fluffy towels. Breakfast very tasty and plenty of it! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to go back, totally recommended, only positive comments. Great people, great place - keep up the excellent spirit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manor

Address: 1 The Old Manor, Paxford GL55 6XL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Paxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Paxford
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Old Manor Paxford, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.