We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bodkin..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bodkin House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bodkin House Hotel to your Saves list
Bodkin House Hotel
Petty France Farm, Badminton GL9 1AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Badminton B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bodkin..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Amazed at some of the negative comments .We loved the hotel and the owners were most accommodating and helpfull ,arranged a taxi for us and put up with us returning rather late! Thankyou for your hospitality much appreciated.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    41
    14
    10
    8
See reviews for
26
40
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A party of 14 ladies ,we visited here for lunch,never again.We had booked and pre-ordered our food prior to arriving.The bar service was very slow and disjointed.The food was fine but paying the bill was like a scene from Faulty Towers, we were subjected to rudeness and arrogance that I have not witnessed in the service industry for many years.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Went there for a wedding reception. The venue to me seemed very disjointed. The dance floor was separate from the bar, as was the room where the buffet was served. Seemed to spend all the evening walking from one to the other to the other. A problem then arose when people stood in reception area to watch the dance floor and were in the way of the staff who were taking the food to yet another room to be served. Then were in the way again with guests coming out of the bar to get some food, and vice versa. The food was quite nice but I think the drinks were very expensive. If I had gone there for a drink and a meal it is quite a nice place, but not ideal for a venue, in my opinion. Saying that everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. Plenty of parking in the car park and in a nice location. Management could be a bit friendlier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great place, stop in on the off chance of a meal late on a friday night and we were all treated to a superb meal and even a free drink for my friend(his birthday). Really friendly couple that run thhe place and great young chief.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Our large party stayed here over New Year and we were extremely impressed by the hospitality, good food and flexibility of the owner and his staff. It's nice to get such excellent personal service in a world of mediocre corporate hotels. It's also a great location with some really nice walks straight from the front door - we enjoyed the Beaufort Arms, a proper pub in an area where most places are heavily gentrified. We'd really recommend the Bodkin.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

3 rooms for 3 nights in a lovely quirky hotel full of character. Unfortunately spoilt by the manner of the owners such that we won't be staying there again. Our room was lovely but dead mouse found in friends room and it remained where it lay for the duration of the stay!
We were assured that veggies would be welcome but the veggie option at dinner didn't change and there was a point blank refusal to alter it in any way. Breakfast was also the meat option without the meat. If you weren't a veggie the food was good and reasonably priced.
Breakfast is served at 8 - earlier is not possible.
Our bill at the end was not prepared and when an amount was suggested it was not at the room rate we thought we had agreed. Eventually settled amicably but I would recommend printing out email communications.
The Bodkin has so much potential to be a lovely place to stay but our stay was soured by the attitude of the owners. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The bodkin house restaurant food last night nov30 was excellent the welcome was as if we were old friends the bar area was very nice the service was just as we wanted a little pricey but could not fault it would go there again soon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bodkin House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodkin House Hotel

Address: Petty France Farm, Badminton GL9 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Badminton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Badminton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bodkin House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodkin House Hotel Badminton, Gloucestershire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodkin House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.