We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodkin House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bodkin House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bodkin House Hotel
Petty France Farm, Badminton GL9 1AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Badminton B&B and Inns
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All round excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked at short notice, and turned up late! We walked into their amazing wood-panelled bar with a huge log fire roaring, and ate the best calves liver supper we have had in years, washed-down with some well-kept Butcombe bitter.
The room was delightful (LMA .... the bookworms among us may work out the author's name) -modern style, but stylishly country. And the breakfast was excellent .... every single item perfectly cooked.
Top that up with a short walk (not a gallop) across the garden wall and into the Badminton estate, and all in all we drove away refreshed the next morning. Thank you ... !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    35
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
35
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Haven't been here for a while so popped in for Sunday lunch. It wasn't what we would call a traditional Sunday roast, so that was disappointing and totally different to what we had experienced on previous visits a year or two ago. What we did get was very average, it was a meal, it was hot and that is all we could say about it!

The Chef is obviously not very skilled in the accomplishment and understanding of a traditional Sunday roast. Additionally, the cuts of meat were cheap and poorly prepared so it was always going to be a challenge to produce something really good from this. I think they are trying to be different! well they certainly achieved that.

It was also relatively expensive, so our advise would be if you want an average meal, not bad and not good then your expectations will be set.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Pleasant country house hotel on the A46 between Bath and Stroud close to Badminton. Could be a real gem but let down by disorganised management and being understaffed.

Booking our room was bizarre, we had seen their web page with the two nights special offer for BB&EM so rang to book. The lady who answered the phone couldn't tell me if they had any vacancies but would ring back - no call back. I rang next day and spoke to the owner who said yes they had a room but the special offer should have been removed from the web page (it's still there now, a month and a half later), he said he would honour the offer as long a we had a superior room and paid that supplement but as he was very busy he would call me back to confirm booking details (he didn't). So I rang a further two times and on the final time the owner assured us that we had a room reserved.

On arrival we did indeed have a room and he did honour the advertised price (with supplement for superior room). Sadly this level of vagueness and disorganisation lets the hotel down. One actually gets the impression that the owners have lost a certain amount of enthusiasm for running the hotel.

The (presumed superior) room was pretty average and had damp patches but was comfortable but sound insulation was poor. As it was an unusually hot July weekend this was not an issue but I could imagine it being an issue in winter.

With regards to food, the two evening meals we had were variable quality (one excellent and one poor). Breakfasts were fine. Waitresses very friendly and helpful but the hotel was clearly short staffed and at one point we gave up waiting had to go looking for a waitress to order coffees after our evening meal.

Excellent location and plenty of parking and grounds to enjoy. But would we stay again - probably not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night a few years ago and because there are some N-T and E-H sites nearby we decided to go here again for two nights this time. Room was spacious and clean, hosts were most friendely. There was a problem with the shower(s) wich could not be fixed altough we have seen the plumbers there twice. So the owners were aware of the problem and trying to get it fixed. Bath was okay tough. Dinner in the bar was good and portions were of a decent size. A nice place for a short stay. Altough it was stated on the confirmation of our booking, we found that having to pay for Wifi is a bit dissapointing, especially for a price of 5 pounds per hour, so we did not use it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding in Tetbury.
When we arrived we were asked to wait as they had to check which room to put us in as they had moved people around.
We were then shown to the 'wedding room'- we were told we were given this room as we had mentioned we may be back late- it had its own entrance. However, I feel it was just that it was the only room left.
On entering the room I found it to be extremely damp and musty smelling, the carpet and bed linen felt cold and damp and the carpet was covered in dog hair?! The shower was filthy and the decor dated! We were in too much of a rush to complain at that time.
On returning from the wedding I laid wide awake in the cold damp bed and just willing it to be morning.
Breakfast was average, but the waitress serving was lovely.
On checking out I mentioned all our grievances with the owner and he seemed highly embarrassed and explained to us that they had had a problem with the plumbing, hence the lack of rooms.
We had booked a superior room and to be quite honest, I would have rather slept in the car.
He knocked us £20 off our bill?!
I would not recommend this place at all. Such a shame because it could be so good!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My Civil Partner and I were going to a concert at the nearby arboretum and this hotel appeared to tick all the boxes. However, on our arrival we were greeted by a man who looked put out by the fact that we had booked a superior room with a double bed. We were told that we'd have to wait a little while and were then shown to a room in the basement which was a miserable Family room with an extra single bed crammed in and a tv that had seen better days. When my partner went up and complained the man said that this was one of their most popular rooms and we had not booked the room that had clearly been advertised on the website. He then said that, in his experience that when things started badly like this, they only went downhill and maybe it'd be better if we went elsewhere!! We stood up to him and challenged the fact that this was acceptable and a bit later he grudgingly showed us to a room which reflected what we had seen on the website.
The room was good and we were happy to stay(though we doubted he was happy that we decided to).
Breakfast was mediocre considering the price of the room.
It was awkward being around him and we were glad to leave the next morning.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you booked. We stayed in the Louisa May Alcott room and it was nice enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed two nights with our South African relatives while touring the Cotswolds. A very old and charming building, and a thoroughly warm welcome from the proprietors. The rooms have great style, and are surprisingly modern and airy - this despite the fact that we had one of the oldest rooms (Charlotte Bronte) at the front of the building. A lovely bathroom - although the water pressure on the shower was rather lacking in force! Very little traffic on the A46 meant we slept very well - despite having to keep the windows open during the heatwave.

The food in the restaurant was fabulous. We ate in both nights, and not one of us had anything that disappointed. Not only did it all taste great, but the presentation was also excellent. As the weather was so hot, we ate outside on one evening, and so could appreciate the extensive garden and grounds. There is also a decking area where drinks and meals can be taken. Breakfast was of similar quality to dinner, and set us up well and truly for our days of sightseeing.

The staff were all friendly and efficient. After two days I felt that we were being treated more like house guests than paying public, and greatly enjoyed spending time talking to Don and his wife - who both have a very dry sense of humour.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bodkin House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodkin House Hotel

Address: Petty France Farm, Badminton GL9 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Badminton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Badminton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Bodkin House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodkin House Hotel Badminton, Gloucestershire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodkin House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.