We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“booked for 2 days stayed 4 very accommodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hollow Bottom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hollow Bottom to your Saves list
The Hollow Bottom
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power GL54 5UX, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“booked for 2 days stayed 4 very accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

do your self a favour if you are in or going anywhere near the cotswolds and are wanting accommodation , lunch or even a quick beer call at the hollow bottom you wont regret it the staff are very welcoming the owners are very friendly and the food is of high quality and excellent value, breakfast which was included in the room rate was sensational on a couple of occasions we requested items not on the menu nothing was to much trouble the staff very happy to assist we stayed in the earth summit room very comfortable lovely bathroom very clean and tidy lots of natural sunlight the bar area has a very warm atmosphere and the locals are very friendly the ideal location for sightseeing in and around the cotswolds it really capped of our vsit to the uk from australia thanks Hugh,Charlie and staff

Room Tip: earth summit room very roomy good bed lovely bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Wow, thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are genuinely delighted that you had such a great experience with us and we loved having you here for the extra days too. We hope you will visit us again the next time you venture over from Australia. many thanks, Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    35
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
87
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We went for a quiet weekend break away at the beginning of March, with the dog and we couldn't have asked for much more.
The room was lovely, we stayed in the Earth Summit and it was extremely spacious and nicely decorated. The room itself was situated above the restaurant, so there was a bit of noise in the evenings, however this is expected if you're going to stay in a countryside Inn. We weren't bothered by the noise, the staff even informed us prior that there would be, even though common sense would have told you.
For the first night we ate in the Hollow Bottom's restaurant and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. Looking at the regular menu it was akin to something you would find at most pubs, but the range of special dishes was extensive and the quality inspired. I had a crocodile tail stroganoff and it was fantastic, my partner had the wild mushroom and artichoke strudel and enjoyed the dish , even though she doesn't usually like mushrooms.
The staff were lovely, very friendly and happy to accommodate, I only wish I had got their names so I could point them out, but they were all a credit to the establishment.
We will be recommending you highly to our friends and anyone that will listen!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Wow! What a wonderful review. The team here take great heart from feedback such as this as collectively they take great pride in making everyone feel welcome and comfortable. We are delighted that this was the case for you. Hope to see you again very soon, Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I included "unexpectedly" in the title of my review as I have known the Hollow Bottom for many years, but never stayed there. It's an institution in the area and among the Cotswold and beyond racing community. Always a lively place, I wasn't sure how quiet and comfortable it would be.

We stayed in the Earth Summit room which had been chosen for us because it was over the restaurant rather than the sometimes noisy bar. It was very large and tastefully decorated, with room for a sofa, queen size-bed, wardrobe etc., and overlooked the green fields across the road.

The bed was extremely comfortable, and the pillows and bedding of good quality. Bedside cabinet and reading light on each side, which is always good. Coffee and tea-making facilities in the room, as well as bottled water. The wall-mounted television was not too overwhelming and appeared to have a wide range of cable (?) stations. Also free wi-fi, although it took me a while to connect as the password had recently been changed from the one in the guest information folder.

The en-suite bathroom was a reasonable size, with a free-standing glass shower stall, no bath. My husband had difficulty changing from the rainforest shower-head to the handheld one, but I think that was just user error. Plenty of hot water, too. Heating was from a good heated towel rail. Towels were of reasonable quality and I think there was shower gel and shampoo, but no lotion.

Breakfast was served in the dining room and a table with juice, water, fruit and cereals was set up. There was just one waitress working, but she managed to take care of us and the 6 other guests with no problem. Plenty of tea and coffee, although a coffee cafetiere for each table would have been welcome, rather than having to ask for a refill when our cups were empty. Good menu of the usual options and of course they were happy to mix and match all the breakfast components as requested.

All in all, a very pleasant couple of days, with all the members of staff very willing to help or answer questions. One word of warning - the stairs up to the three rooms in the main pub building are very narrow and steep. Not a problem most of the time, but if you have any mobility difficulties, or intend to have a jolly time in the bar, you would be best staying in the annexe room, which I believe was outfitted to help disabled guests (check first).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely detailed review. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that is something that we strive to do every day. We do certainly have occasional noisy nights here but the majority of the year is exactly as you have described. Thanks once again and we hope to see you return again very soon. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Lovely pub in a small cute village in the Cotswolds. There is parking at the back of the pub, although not very big (4 spaces) but there is also road parking. We stayed one night in the Earth Summit room. It was a very big room with a sofa and a fire place. In the room there was a complimentary bottle of water, biscuits, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. The bathroom was very modern with a nice double shower. There was a small breakfast menu offering cereals, full English, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, poached egg on toast and few other things. We both had the full English and thought it was very good. The waitress couldn't have been any nicer.

I would have liked to have given it a 5, but the glasses next to the bottle of water were very filthy. I just drank the water directly from the bottle. Also, one of the plastic cups in the bathroom had obviously been used and had a bit of toothpaste in.

We went on a lovely walk, more info in http://www.escapetothecotswolds.org.uk/userfiles/file/walks/jubilee/guiting-power-final2.pdf

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your breakfast. i can assure you that although the water glasses may have been watermarked due to local limescale they would not have been" filthy". We hope this small indiscretion will not put you off returning sometime soon? Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Such a lovely little gem of a pub hidden away in a gorgeous hamlet. The young male who served me (Nathan) was so polite and attentive.. The decor is very homey & is a traditional English quaint pub! If this place was closer to home I would definitely make it my regular!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you Laura for your really positive review. I am delighted that Nathan and the others looked after you. you will maybe have to move to The Cotswolds? Until then please visit us as often as you can. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Found this little gem by accident as we where visiting the Cotswolds last weekend, a spur of the moment idea, lets stop . Lovely comfortable room, a steal at the reduced price , the little pub full of racing photos. of past Aintree winners so if you like horse racing this one is for you, Food was excellent and breakfast delicious. Sat outside in the evening sun on the 1st day of summer glass of wine was just perfect. We will be back.

Room Tip: Doggy friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We hope you stumble upon us again very soon. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

An ideal break in the Cotswolds with a dog friendly B & B. A great atmosphere and very pleasant staff. Great value and very good food. Looking forward to return soon with Marcie and Deb. A very comfortable bed and lovely shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi Neil,
thank you so much for your lovely review. we hope to see all 3 of you back again very soon.
Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power GL54 5UX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Guiting Power
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guiting Power
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
The Hollow Bottom Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hollow Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.