We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints - A lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hollow Bottom

Save Saved
You added The Hollow Bottom to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hollow Bottom
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power GL54 5UX, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“No complaints - A lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night as were going for wedding locally. The staff were so kind, welcoming and helpful from the moment they arrived. They let us check in early and even made sure some of the items we left behind in the room made their way to us. We stayed in the Binderee room outside the pub. We had a lovely large comfortable bed and a massive room. It was all tastefully decorated and well kitted out. The breakfast was very tasty too!

Room Tip: We stay in the Bindaree room. It was large and well furnished and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Excellent news that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for such positive comments. We hope to welcome you back soon. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    30
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
74
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We love Cotswold hotels and the reviews here prompted us to book. One of our party was unable to make it due to illness but the Hollow Bottom didn't blink an eye and amended our booking without any hassle. The welcome was good, the food very nice. Most Cotswold villages lost their "local" as they were turned into residential property but it's nice to see some of these old character places alive and well simply through good customer service. The only downside it the place is used by local regulars who felt it appropriate to punctuate every sentence with an obscenity in very loud voices. It was slightly off putting to try to enjoy a pre dinner drink with the children in the bar to the background of the "f" word every 5 seconds. It was like the place was run by Gordon Ramsey. Not the owners fault and only a slight mark on an otherwise lovely stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms on rural road with single glazing, so choose a room at the back if you are a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for a fair and honest review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your every need. Customer service is something we believe we are good at and so glad that you agree. Apologies for some of the language you experienced during your stay from one or two of our locals, unfortunately this does still happen in the pub environment but we are working hard to try to reduce this in the future. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldwick, NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

USA's Equestrian Team spent 6 weeks in the Cotswold in preparation for the London Olympics. The staff at the Hollow welcomed us with open arms and provided service with a smile the entire time.

On many occasions, we came with a large dinner party and no reservations, but they always managed to 'sort something out'.

The locals embraced us, and fast friends were made. They are proud of their horses which makes USA's Equestrian team happy too.

Good pub grub and beer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We absolutely loved having the USA Equestrian team here at The Hollow Bottom and wish you all the best of luck for the Olympics. We'd love to welcome you back anytime. Thank you for leaving a lovely review. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Inn was slightly further from the M5 than anticipated but well worth the journey - a little haven of comfort in the Cotswolds countryside! A lively pub with friendly welcoming staff and excellent restaurant - plenty of variety, great service and first class food. The room was spacious with enormous comfortable bed and great en suite with double shower. Excellent breakfast cooked to order - we're looking for an excuse to return!
,

Room Tip: Stayed in Earth Summit - enormous room with KS bed - very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We really do pride ourselves on good service and we're glad that you appreciated it. An excuse to return? Who needs one?! We'd love to welcome you back again. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were travelling in the UK for three weeks (from Uruguay), and stayed in three marvelous places, all "por casualidad". We dropped in to the HB late one rainy afternoon, and were shown to the Earth Summit room which was perfectly equipped, clean and very comfortable.
Being a little dry inside we adjorned to the bar, grabbed the best seats in front of the fire and settled in. The food was excellent - haggis included - and the service excellent. We even enjoyed the warm english beer!
Everything about this little gem was a winner - we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you so much for visiting us. We're so glad your review reflects an enjoyable stay and that you found the food, service and room to be of an excellent standard. We hope that you'll return soon for another warm English Beer?! Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

This place is a gem. So nice to eat dinner, sleep, eat breakfast in one location. Marvelous dinner.
When the walker who had come down with a cough ordered hot water with honey, the sweet server brought a large glass of hot water, honey and a slice of lemon studded with cloves. Miracle cure?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that possibily my staff provided a miracle cure for your friend. We hope we can welcome you back again some time. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here for the second time recently. We wanted to go away for the night, the day after our Wedding and the Hollow Bottom was everything we needed; quiet and comfortable with 5* food.
Our room 'Earth Summit' was fabulous, with a separate sofa and en suite.
The pub is very rustic, traditional and homely, the open fire making it somewhere cosy that you could spend your whole evening.
The food was incredible. I had prawns to start followed by seabass whilst my new husband had crab followed by lamb washed down by a bottle of wine. You would never think to get food of this standard is a country pub, it's more what you'd get in a 5* restaurant.
Breakfast was also impressive, cooked fresh to order with portions that mean you can miss lunch.
We can't wait to come back again and would recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Earth Summit which was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review, we hope to welcome you back soon. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power GL54 5UX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Guiting Power
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guiting Power
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
The Hollow Bottom Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hollow Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.