We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hollow Bottom

The Hollow Bottom
Guiting Power, Guiting Power GL54 5UX , England
01451 850392
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Excellent atmosphere, excellent service, excellent food and the Hollow Bottom Bitter was delightfully quaffable. What more needs to be said.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Nothing....................................thank you, Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    33
    20
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My friend and I were on a cycling weekend and had booked a B & B near Naunton. The Hollow Bottom was the nearest pub which was 1.5 miles away and after cycling 50 miles we did not fancy another 1.5 miles!
Hugh the landlord not only picked us up but also reserved a table for us in the restaurant which was already full and one of his staff gave us a ride back!
The staff and particularly the waitress were really friendly and we are still amazed that the landlord arranged a taxi service.
This really was "exceeding our expectations" and therefore we have already told all of our friends and relatives to make a visit if in the area.
Thanks again, it was unbelievable

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you Roger for a fantastic review although you did have me a little worried when I first saw the headline ! I was more than happy to save your weary legs after the bike ride. Hope to see you again very soon, Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Local pub, fairly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

After trying The Farmer's Arms down the road and having a bad experience with a very rude woman, we popped in here for a late lunch before doing a walk in the local area. Asked if they were still serving food (it was 2pm) and they said yes, before one of the girls checked in the kitchen and said "actually the chef has gone home without telling us - he does that quite a lot! So we only have bar snacks available I'm afraid". Given that it was 2pm this was understandable, and we just ordered soup and sandwiches from the bar menu.
Food was fine, although pretty unspectacular, and staff were reasonably friendly.
Looking at all of the newspaper cuttings etc around the pub, this is clearly a pub that focuses on horse-racing - they even had a "tip of the day" on a chalkboard at the bar. My husband found this very amusing and even put some money on the horse recommended - needless to say it didn't win :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Fairly average review too if you don't mind. We are delighted that we were able to look after you so well with our "reasonably friendly staff" especially as we serve food all day every day. I am also delighted that your Husband is so easily amused but best keep a wee eye on that gambling, it can only end in tears ! Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Delicious bar snacks in this pretty village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Guiting Power is a pretty village and not over-run with tourists. The Hollow Bottom pub is full of racing memorabilia and very interesting. We had home-made carrot soup with coriander and delicious ciabatta bread and a tuna salad also with ciabatta bread. The house ale was superb according to my husband. Our waitress was lovely and from Italy. The blackboard menu specials looked great and we were only sorry we couldn't indulge more. For instance there were duck breasts served with orange segments in a ginger wine sauce!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
What a wonderful review and we really appreciate receiving such from a lady that is so well traveled and knows a good thing when she sees it ! We hope to welcome you back from Oz someday soon. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lovely food. The staff were very helpful and friendly. A very nice traditional pub, with strong references on horse racing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. Hope to see you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hollow Bottom also viewed

Guiting Power, Cotswolds
Guiting Power, Cotswolds
 
Temple Guiting, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hollow Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.