We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very unassuming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beacon Inn

The Beacon Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Beacon Inn to your Saves list
The Beacon Inn
Haresfield, Haresfield GL10 3DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Haresfield B&B and Inns
Tetbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very unassuming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We randomly came here for a 'quick drink' on a hen do, as had rented a house up the road....turned out to be a fab place and stayed there for over 3 hours!! Locals were great and up for a laugh, and the new owners were very pleasant and basically let us get on with us, so thank you!! Although this is a bit of a late post, i'm sure yo will remember us as we turned your pub upside down, but we still talk about it now!! Thank you! x

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Came for Sunday lunch with my family, the welcome was warm and friendly, they have had a recent refurb and it looks great the bar is bright and clean with lots of seating and a good selection of real ale and ciders. The lunch was very good and lots of it, the waiting staff were all very helpful and attentive nothing was too much bother they have a lovely outdoor seating area in a pretty rural location, I will definitely be coming back - highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We wandered off the motorway to break up a long journey and stumbled on the beacon only 2 days after it had reopened. Service was excellent and the food was great. The only glitch being that they didn't have a debit card system in place (awaiting delivery) and hadn't mentioned it when we ordered. This meant we had to go looking for a cash machine. That said, when I returned with cash the owner was more than apologetic and it was a very clear that a minor communication error was to blame, we are all human and these things happen!. In every other respect this was a pleasant dining experience that I would happily repeat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I have visited the pub a few times since it has re opened. The menu is varied and it is good quality pub grub. Huge portions. Staff are friendly and attentive and the atmosphere is great and the cleanliness spot on. Well done guys and keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The pub has just re-opened, we went there for our wedding anniversary meal.No starters on the menu. I had salmon with whitw wine & dill sauce, the sauce was like dishwater & little flavour, my Husband has sweet & sour chicken, which was a large portion, which came with both chips & rice, but the meal had a strange metallic taste to it.
When given the hand written dessert menu, we enquired if the desserts were homemade, to which the answer given by the waitress, was they are fresh!! freshly defrossed!!! they were far from homemade & very disappointed. After our dessert dishes were cleared, we sat there for approx 30 mins, then had to ask for the bill. I think we had been forgotten!!
The pub has been revamped nicely & the bar seemed busy with drinkers, but the owners really need to spend time looking at the meals the kitchen is producing!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beacon Inn

Address: Haresfield, Haresfield GL10 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Haresfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Haresfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just purchased the beacon inn, Haresfield, Gloucestershire in March 2013 after it being closed since december. It is currently undergoing some enhancements and will re-open shortly with new management. Thank you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beacon Hotel Haresfield
The Beacon Inn Haresfield, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beacon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.