We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family-friendly hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA to your Saves list
Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA
Cnr Frost Rd and Robert Connell Close, Anna Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“A great family-friendly hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This has to be one of the best hostels I've stayed at for family-friendliness. It's located a few minute's drive from One Mile Beach, one of the best surf beaches at Port Stephens, and only a 15 minutes from Nelson Bay. If you have a vehicle, it's very central. If you don't have a vehicle, there are bikes offered for hire (very cheap).

The kitchen & dining area is outside, there's a nice pool and the owners' dog is gorgeous (and friendly). The whole site is pretty, tucked away in the bush and it feels very private. All the accommodation (including dorm rooms) are spread out through a series of cabins.The family rooms are a decent size and better-than-average quality for a hostel. They even have a small TV! The one thing I would have liked was a private bathroom - there was one bathroom shared between 2 family rooms.

It's not by any means the cheapest hostel we've stayed at but, considering its location, is really good value.

It's very relaxed and not at all a 'party' hostel. We had a great stay and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
16
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

At the beginning I only wanted to stay for two nights. After some very helpful information from Sandy (one of the owners) I found a job in Nelson Bay, just ten minutes away. I ended up staying at Samurai for more than a month and didn't regret one minute of that. The atmosphere was comforting and laid back which made it the perfect place to relax after a day of work. The people working there are really nice and help you anytime you need help, information or just a tip on where to spot a koala.
The location of the hostel couldn't be better, in my point of view, because it is surrounded by subtropical rainforest which makes it an extraordinary experience. The bush kitchen is unique because it is almost completely open and just like the bungalows surrounded by nature.
There is also a lot of wildlife on the complex and the Tomaree Natoinal Park, which pretty much next door. For some city people there might a little too much wildlife but you have to keep in mind that you are basically in the rainforest. This adds to the experience ,though, and when Mark gets out their pet snake everybody is captivated.

All in all I can just say that I enjoyed my stay at Samurai and would come back any time.
Timo

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Arriving in Port Stephens I had no idea what to expect. Having asked the bus driver to drop me at Samurai (which he did) I found my new home for the next few days. Mark and Sandy are so friendly, helpful and accommodating. The cabins are set apart, well-sized (but not huge) clean and comfortable. The bush kitchen is fabulous and the people that I met were all so lovely. This is by no means your typical back packers hostel - it is more a retreat in the bush with the added bonus of the fabulous beaches. Most defiantly worth a visit!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Family owned and set in beautiful surroundings this Hostel has it all.
Swimming pool, bush kitchen, camp fire, koala inhabited surroundings.
If your looking for a getaway out of the hustle and bustle of city life then this place is ideal for you.
Marc and Sandy are so lovely and are never put out to help you with whatever you need.
Bikes are free to hire if you want to ride to the nearest shop (10 minutes)
If you want to explore then there are heaps of trips from dolphin/whale watching, 4x4 sand dune safari just down the road, national park, horse riding etc etc.
A must see!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

My wife an i are over 60 and this was our first time in OZ and only our 2nd backpacking experience ever,we stayed in a family bungalow with our son,his girlfriend and girlfriends mam and also our grandaughter. We enjoyed the first night that i suggested we stay on another night,the two nights around the campfire was wonderful and 'Muldoons Bar' ? was something else ho,ho. When we arrived the first one i saw was a huge german shepherd,but he (Boo) turned out to be the friendliest,most lovable dog in the world and it was sad to say g'bye to him. We caught our own fish near Port Stephen and grilled them in the outdoor kitchen,my wife an i had a family room to ourselves and the toilet was inbetween the two roomed cabin.
At night sitting on the porch having a glass of wine or beer,playing a tune or two on the guitar that my son had borrowed from Samurai's owner was great fun but.....prepare for some moisquitos.
One other thing that i will remember Samurai Bungaloes for is their honesty,two days after returning to Sydney our son realised that he had left his new trainers ($220ad) in reception when leaving,he contacted Samurai and they posted them to him...that was really good of them.
If we were ever in 'that neck of the woods' again (no matter what age) we wold definately stay there,and we would recommend Samurai Bungalows to anyone.

THANK YOU

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Setup inside lush jungle...a nice place. A bit far away from places to be visited in Port stephens. Staff, the dog an python are friendly :)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

My husband and I are staying in YHA's across australia, this is by far our favorite spot. Mark and Sandy (the owners) were super friendly and made us feel right at home. The bungalows are really comfortable and surrounded by tropical paradise. With the beach a short walk away and all the Port Stephens has to offer a week long stay is still barely enough! We love Samurai Beach Bungalows.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA

Address: Cnr Frost Rd and Robert Connell Close, Anna Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Anna Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Anna Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asian style bungalows set amongst 3 acres of rain forest gardens around a resort pool. Bush kitchen and campfire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA Anna Bay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.