We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA to your Saves list
Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA
Cnr Frost Rd and Robert Connell Close, Anna Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in Februrary and really enjoyed the experience. The cabins were in the middle of the forest so it was a really unique feeling- as long as you were okay with large spiders and bush cockroaches (all part of the experience I guess). The location is part of what made it a special place, but it also made it a bit far from everything. But buses came through pretty regularly.

There was an adorable German Shepherd, Bo, who was really friendly with the guests (bit pongy though).

Pool was a really well maintained facility.

Amazing 'bush kitchen' which was quite fun to cook in :)

The owners were awesome and really fun. They held a campfire and provided damper and bamboo sticks for us to have a little cook out! They were also very helpful in recommending things to do in the area.

Also, the friendly local python was brought out for some fun (check out the photo below).

I haven't always had the best experiences with YHAs in the past, but this one is really fantastic! Highly reccomend!

Little bit cheaper would be great though :P

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
19
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Could not simply be called a backpackers - this place is just amazing. My partner and I did stay in the delux double room however even still it was much better than I expected! The room was decoration was simple yet elegant. There are beautiful stone statues reflecting a balinese type theme found all through the hostel including the room. The staff were a delight!
It was raining the entire weekend we were here so all of our beach plans were ruined but honestly we hardly cared - the sound of the rain on the canopy of trees above was paradise - it literally looks just like a rainforest! We ate breakfast on the cabin verandah and watched the beautiful birds sing there songs.
The outdoor kitchen was adorable! This place really is amazing and I will definately be returning!
My only niggle would be the enormous German Shepard that wonders the grounds freely - although he is friendly he would not leave us alone when we sat outside to eat and my partner is quite scared of large dogs so this did ruin the peace a little.
Other than that fantastic spot and will definately be returning especially with the amazing price!

Room Tip: If possible maybe find a cabin that doesn't have adjacent rooms - it was very easy to hear EVERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I loved it so much that I extended my stay twice. Sandy and Mark who run the hostel were very friendly and helpful, making all the guests feel like home and altogether a big family. The Dutch girl who also works there was extremely kind and lovely too, we always had a great time having her around.

Sitting within a rainforest is a unique hostel experience too. Wild koalas live around the hostel so you may see one (or hear one) if you are lucky. It is a relatively small YHA hostel, so everyone easily got to know each other and had some great fun at poolside during the day and the open kitchen during the night.

The hostel is close to Anna Bay but its potential is much more. I joined a dolphin cruise at Nelson Bay, got my PADI diving license and dived in Seahorse Gardens, Fly Point, Halifax and Pipelines (greeted by turtles, seahorses, numb rays, sea urchins and more), did sandboarding at Birubi Beach, and surfed at One Mile Beach. I am definitely coming back for a Broughton Island diving to meet the sharks.

And don't forget to say hello to Sandy's and Mark's pets, Bo the dog, who loves to play fetch, and if you dare enough, a python who can together with you have the most thrilling photo shoots you can have in Australia!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights for some peace after sydney and it certainly didnt disappoint. Located in the middle of the national park makes it nice and quiet for a relaxing break. If you are lucky you can see koalas in the trees around your cabin. The rooms are very clean and really homely. We were lucky enough to have the dorm room to ourself for the first 3 nights. The owners of this hostel Sandy and Mark are amazing hosts, and make the place feel like home. In fact all the staff.. all 4 of them were really nice, they even organised a 'sinter klauss' party for the hostel guests (a traditional Dutch celebration) which was a really fun night with gifts and food! If you want to get around Port Stephens there is a bus stop right outside the hostel which takes you to Nelson bay, where you can spot the local dolphins and snorkel with the turtles. O watch out for the smelly dog Bo and the snake Sython!
I would definatly recommend this hostel to any one!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed Here for one night spontaneously, staff were lovely and very helpful. The room was clean and the whole style of the place was in the rainforest. The bathroom was a shared bathroom with dorm next door which could have done with a good clean. The kitchen is all outside, it is a lovely little location it's good to view this more as a luxury campsite that anything. Lots of wildlife noises at night, including koalas. Nice little place

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Friends and I went there for a night. Actually, we now would like to stay there for a week!!
Nice bungalows located in the forest : clean, tidy and quiet!!
Good location close to Anna Bay, Nelson Bay and the Tomaree National Park.
You'll be awoken by kookaburra!

Other good points are : pool, kitchen with BBQ in the middle of the forest...

A realy good experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed for a night in one of ensuite bungalows. We loved this place. The setting in this lush, rainforesty garden is just lovely. The owner are very friendly and helpful! We didn't use the pool (was still a bit too cold) but it looked great! The bungalow was very clean and comfortable. We definitely will be coming back to this place and stay a few days longer! The perfect place to escape from city life!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA

Address: Cnr Frost Rd and Robert Connell Close, Anna Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Anna Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Anna Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asian style bungalows set amongst 3 acres of rain forest gardens around a resort pool. Bush kitchen and campfire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA Anna Bay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.