We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarendon Fresnaye

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Clarendon Fresnaye to your Saves list
The Clarendon Fresnaye
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   67 Kloof Road, Fresnaye 2004, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very welcoming place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

A whole gang of us descended upon the Clarendon for a family wedding and were immediately greeted upon arrival outside the front door by Emmy, who is a great ambassador for this guest house, along with the rest of the staff.
During our stay, nothing was too much trouble for Emmy or Nolu, who followed Emmy's shift, and we - along with other staying guests - were made to feel as though we had always been there and known them both and the other members of staff for ages.
Upon our return from visits out, refreshments were offered immediately and mid-afternoon always had cake along with the tea, coffee, etc. Upon one return, we had not had time for lunch, so Emmy took herself off to the local shops and purchased bread, various sandwich fillings and salad items and proceeded to make our lunch for us with the only charge being for the items purchased.
The girls provided crockery and cutlery for any evening take-aways that we had, as they do not do evening meals, and tidied up after us. Enquiries regarding venues to be visited, were willingly made and reservations placed, if wanted, and all with a smile and no trouble at all.
I cannot highly recommend this place enough for the feel good factor that it, and especially the staff in the public view as well as those behind the scenes, provide.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we saw, had their own uniqueness, and I believe that any one chosen, would make a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
64
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel comprises two older houses that have been converted to one larger establishment. The two halves are joined by a lawn and two small swimming pools. The rooms were bright and clean and all that we needed for a 3-night break. The staff were very friendly and really made an effort to make sure everything was as it should be. Perhaps our room could have had a little more in the way of furniture (bedside table only on one side of the bed and not much cupboard space) but other rooms we saw seemed ok, so perhaps it was just this room. The hotel is only a minute or two from the sea. The breakfast too contained a good variety of cereals, juices, fresh fruit salads, breads and croissants and all sorts of jams and spreads. As this was part of a package we can't rate the value for money element.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here three days while visiting friends. Emmy and her staff were very very helpfull. Great rooms, nice pool, great breakfast. Hotel is five minute walk from the ocean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Visiting Cape Town was a magnificent experience and the Clarendon Fresnaye was a dream. The hotel staff was outstanding. Emmy, Nicci, and Nolu made our arrival warm and welcoming with excellent customer service and courtesy. They offered a variety of breakfast options with cold and hot items. They offered to make us fresh coffee, tea, or a pot of hot chocolate every morning. They made each guest feel special as they chatted with us about our upcoming events and daily calendars. They were attentive even allowing us to extend our time beyond check-out because of a very late flight without charging us extra. We did not purchase a converter before we departed the U.S. and they offered to purchase one for us at no additional charge. The service of the waiters and maids were also super. Our bed had turn down service with chocolates on the pillows every evening and after a long and weary day of travel, they would offer to make us tea, hot chocolate, or coffee in the evenings as well. I cannot say enough about the superior service of the hotel staff. The grounds were also extremely nice and loved that they offered free wi-fi, they offered to call cabs, and although our friends were not staying at the same hotel, they offered for them to come and have breakfast with us. The location is also fantastic. Only blocks away from the beach and a great run/walk path and parks. Amazing stay and time at the Clarendon Fresnaye. Next time, I am in Cape Town, South Africa, I definitely know where I will be resting my head!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street if you are a light sleeper and I would book my room on a discoun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is a wonderful boutique hotel in a great spot, in the shadow of Lion's Head. Close to beaches and Sea Point. Lovely rooms.Two beautiful pools. Great breakfasts on the verandah. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and go above and beyond what you expect.Good security. Highly recommend and would return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed at the Clarendon Fresnaye Nov 2011. The hotel is a small boutique style, but the service and welcome you get is amazing. The rooms are very spacious with huge beds, overlooking the pool, (to cold in November) and immaculately kept gardens. We were offered drinks on arrival, whilst our luggage was taken to our room. Emmy is very knowledgeable of all the local sights and restaurants to visit. (The Codfather is a must for seafood lovers and Hussars for meat lovers). She made any reservations we needed, and booked any trips we wanted to go on, Table Mountain also a must weather permitting. We looked forward to the complimentary afternoon tea and cakes when we returned from our sightseeing, all freshly baked, loved the apple crumble cake and chocolatey rich one! Thank you.
Breakfast was made to order, whatever you required, no problem at all, delicious array of breads, pastries, cold meats muffins etc etc!
The Hotel is in easy distance to Camps Bay, and V & A, many restaurants and plenty to do.
So thanks Emmy and staff for a great start to our wonderful holiday. Cathy & Bill John Portsmouth UK

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a group of 10 stay at the Clarendon for 6 nights. The staff was wonderful - willing to help with restaurant reservations, sightseeing information, transportation and anything else we needed. Emmy and the staff were all very attentive and never made us feel like we were putting them out. Breakfast was always enjoyable and prepared to order. I enjoyed the afternoon tea time - always a wonderful new dessert to try. The rooms are well-decorated and comfortable, the grounds are beautifully maintained and they treat you like you're their most special guest ever... what more could you want? We'll definitely return! One of my favorite hotel experiences yet!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clarendon Fresnaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Fresnaye

Address: 67 Kloof Road, Fresnaye 2004, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Fresnaye 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Clarendon Fresnaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Fresnaye Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarendon Fresnaye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.