We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B in a castle... so lovely!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhonda's Manor Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rhonda's Manor Guest House to your Saves list
Rhonda's Manor Guest House
35 Upper Clarens Road, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“B&B in a castle... so lovely!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We strongly recommend this location for your stay in Capetown. The Manor is an ancient building with very large and clean rooms, large bathrooms and all the facilities you need. The common spaces, such as the living rooms, breakfast room and the pool are perfect to relax with a drink (beers, wines, soft drinks available for the guests at any time in the refrigerator at convenient prices).
If you stay in summer you can enjoy the pool and laying in the sun, if you come in winter a wonderful fireplace will give you the opportunity to relax in the living room with a glass of good south africa red wine!

At breakfast you can have whatever you want: during our stay Rhonda took care of us with wonderful fruit salads with yogurt, scrambled eggs and bacon, croissants, toasted bread and jam, fresh orange juice... and, as I love lebanese food, she surprised me one morning with a creamy and succulent hummos...and tea, coffee and real italian Lavazza espresso complete the breakfast package! Superb!

The B&B is just a 3 minute walk from the wonderful front sea promenade: if you are a good walker, in 45 minutes it takes you to the V&A waterfront.

The place is an ideal base to stay if you rent a car: in 5 minutes you can reach the V&A Waterfront (plenty of parking available) but at night after dinner you can come back in your Manor and avoid the boring big hotels in the V&A Waterfront and sleep wonderfully in a real castle!

Around the Manor you have also some good restaurants you can reach in a five to ten minute walk.
Finally Rhonda and his husband Tony will be glad to give you all the information to visit the surroundings and they are so happy to share the holidays experience of their guests that for sure you will have a great time in talking with them and they will be ready to assist you on any matter. We definitively suggest this location fro a stay in Capetown!

Room Tip: Rooms at the upper floor with access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
22
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I had heard that Capetown was a beautiful city. I must say staying in Rhonda's Manor made it doubly so. Its charmingly quaint atmosphere, its modern and sparklingly clean amenities, its great location and especially the personalized and passionate hospitality of the manor's host, Rhonda, are simply unbeatable. My five-day off-season stay in late August (late winter down there) were truly marvelous. Having breakfast to the crackling sound of the fireplace before you start your oceanfront stroll a few short steps from the guest house is a great way to start your day in this beutiful city. With its nice outdoor patios and swimming pool am sure a summertime experience at Rohnda's Manor would be equally enjoyable. I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The newly renovated private suite we received during our 4 night stay at this guest house was spacious, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. The solid wooden flooring of the bedroom/studio combined with the modern, marble shower/toilet finishings give this accommodation a warm, homely appeal. IThis, together with the generous hospitality of the host, has encouraged me to recommend the establishment, and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I'm probably in the minority but I thought the vibe in this place was poor. The accommodation was fine except for the torn voiles in the bedroom - the result of frustrated occupiers trying to open windows through voiles which could not be drawn.

The worst thing about this place is the breakfast. The selection is seriously meager and what you don't eat at one session is religiously put out for you at the next. Only badly cooked eggs for you here...no bacon, no tomatoes, no mushrooms, in fact no anything. Perhaps the worst thing is that there is no fresh coffee unless, of course, you love instant.

With so many other good B&B's in Cape Town, i'm really surprised that this establishment has survived

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda O, Owner at Rhonda's Manor Guest House, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
As the owner of Rhonda's Manor Guest House, I take great pride in making sure that all my guests are well taken care of and all their expectations are met. I must add that you are my one and only guest in nine years since the opening of Rhonda's Manor who has ever left feeling dissatisfied. I noticed that something was wrong by your abrupt behaviour, but only to find out on the day that you were leaving that everything was fine except that you were very unhappy about not been served bacon. Had this been brought to my attention your demands would have been met. Through trial and error we have learnt what to serve at breakfast without too much wastage. We serve everything from fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, breads, jams, cheeses, ham, to poached, fried or scrambled eggs with or without tomatoe, tea, filter coffee and juice. It is really so sad that something so small could have upset you so much. You are truly the minority as my wonderul staff get complimented daily for the best eggs in town! and may I add that we have decided to reintroduce bacon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

A wonderful B&B. Large, clean well appointed rooms with excellent washrooms attached to each room. The host, Rhonda is very thoughtful and willingly helps you with arrangements for dinners, shopping and sightseeing. We stayed 4 nights, really enjoyed our stay and definetly would recommend it to family and friends. If there is one thing that could be slightly improved it would be the variety of food at breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vayrac, France
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

We joined a group of friends from the UK and celebrated New Year in this delightful, roomy, welcoming guest house. The location is excellent both for getting into the city centre and out south to the Cape peninsula. It's very secure (parking behind locked gates), although we felt safe enough to walk around the area at night. The staff are very friendly and efficient, making sure that you have all you need.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

This fantastic Colonial Mansion, with its beautiful furniture and a wonderful insight into a life that is no longer with us, brings a whole new meaning to the word comfort and charm!!
Sophisticated, Elegant and Regal... just a few words to describe this amazing Cape Colonial Guest House... with its outstanding South African hospitality.

Cape Town is blessed with the most sovereign gifts of nature. Mountains and sea rule this beautiful landscape and shape the Mother city's character.
One of the first ports of call should definitely be the majestic kilometer high flat Table top Mountain that dwarves even the highest skyscraper in the hub of the city. Everywhere you go in the city is shadowed by this mighty mountain which fills the skyline.
At the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, life abounds with mouth watering award winning restaurants, delightful shops and lively entertainment all amongst the working harbour and docks with its brightly coloured fishing boats and great big cruise ships.
Activity on the ocean wave means surfing, boating, water skiing, kite surfing, exploring rock pools or just paddling. The pristine sandy white beaches stretch along two coasts, the warmer Indian Ocean and the cooler Atlantic.
A little way from the coast, are quaint inland towns such as the charming Stellenbosch that begins the famous wine route, with its hundreds of unique wine estates ~ a wine tasting adventure of note!!

Simply put, Cape Town is definately one of my most favorite places on earth.. and Rhondas Manor lends to the unforgettable experience !!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhonda's Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhonda's Manor Guest House

Address: 35 Upper Clarens Road, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhonda's Manor 8 en-suite luxury boutique hotel welcomes you to experience a touch of Africa in a gracious colonial mansion framed against the backdrop of Lions Head in the beautiful suburb of Fresnaye, a select corner on Cape Town's Atlantic Seaboard. Rhonda's manor is ideally situated and in close proximity to the world famous beaches, Table Mountain, the exciting V&A Waterfront and the city of Cape Town with its world class theatres, leading stores and charming open African markets. It is also within walking distance of the famous Sea Point Promenade, top class restaurants, hair and beauty salons and trendy shopping centres. Highways to the Wine Routes, Gold Courses, Hout Bay, Chapman's Peak, Cape Point and other famous attractions are also minutes away and easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rhonda's Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhonda's Manor Guest House Fresnaye, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhonda's Manor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.