We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Walden Suites

Save Saved
You added The Walden Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Walden Suites
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 Bellwood Road, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not 5 star accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The walden Suites are well located and offer secure parking. However this was not a 5 star experience. The room allocated wasn't ensuite, bathroom was across the hallway, and we were asked to pay extra to upgrade although we were the only people in the house. Bedding was insuffiecient and we had to look for blankets in other rooms. There was no service to book an early breakfast or give feedback. This is surely a must with a 5 star establishment?! Also no coffee or tea facilities in the room. Walden suites has a great charm to it, which was ruined by a lack of service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

if staying in fresnaye, cape town meets your travel plans (located 1/2 way between cape town waterfront and camp bay), walden suites is an excellent choice. from superb front desk service and arranging for all pick ups and activities, large, comfy rooms and bathrooms with ocean views and balconies, friendly, relaxed, and quiet family style b&b with a real espresso machine for your personal use - this small hotel was terrific. highly recommend

Room Tip: ask for ocean view room, or upgrade from montain view to ocean, if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hostesses were warm and helpful. Our rooms were sumptuous, spacious and light. We occupied the suite (what a lovely fireplace, and the bath can "seat" a small village) and another room on the ground floor, and loved the openings onto the pool area and a magnificent view down the hill towards the sea, and up towards Lion's Head. The breakfast was fabulous - tasty, with goodies for vegetarians and carnivores alike. My mom was ready to move in. We booked parking on site as an extra, rather than parking on the street. Fresnaye is very well located for access to Cape Town itself, and to restaurants close by for dinner. If you want to go for a run, then it will give you some great hill training.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Spacious and well kept rooms, friendly staff & Camps Bay is a great location. Our room had a nice view of the Ocean. Parking is available and to top it off you get a nice Continental Breakfast to start your morning. Hope to go back there between Nov and Feb when Weather is South Africa is more pleasant ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I would recommend this Guest House to anyone traveling to Cape Town. Everything from the Service to the Cleanliness of this establishment was amazing. Already planning to book my another stay there for my next trip.

Thank you to Management and entire Staff of The Walden Suites.

A Very Satisfied Guest,

Thierry

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Walden Suites whilst in Cape Town, on a little hill off a main(ish) road makes getting around Cape Town very easy. In an exceptionally safe place, we even parked our rental car on the street! Very clean, breakfast was lovely too. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: The "Budget room" has a private Bathroom on the opposite side of the hall no en-suite, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotels at Cape Town were fully booked and visited booking.com website and managed to get this hidden jam. I was nervous to stay in bed and breakfast facilities as I prefer to stay on well known brands hotels because you know what to expect. I was surprised when I arrive at this bed and got more value what I paid for. The only short coming of this facility is unavailability of air conditioning in the rooms. The service that you receive from staff is personalised and will recommend people to stay in this facility

Room Tip: As for upstairs room where there is seaview of atlantic ocean and Robben Island at distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Walden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walden Suites

Address: 12 Bellwood Road, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Walden Suites 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your The Walden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walden Suites Fresnaye, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.