We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love green, it got to be Grassroots” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grassroots Wayanad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grassroots Wayanad to your Saves list
Grassroots Wayanad
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Koilery Kunnu via Pinangode | Pozhuthana Post, Kalpetta 673575, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 68 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If you love green, it got to be Grassroots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I fell in love with the place in the very first sight. I would not call it as a property as it is not an usual resort or stay. The tents are very comfortable and has got all the necessary items in it that you may require in your whole stay. People who manage it, specially Aditya, the Admiral of his small army of troops, are very courteous and very helpful. They may not seem a professional with a hotel management degree but they do know how to pamper their guests well. Every morning is a whole new morning with insects chirping, birds singing and above all you can smell the forest. The tents are located in the bushes and when we visited (in August 13), it was drizzling almost the whole day but it made our stay memorable.
Before we could come over from the beauty of the place the troops were ready with our lunch and it was lavish. It had a number of local cuisine with variety of vegetables, fish and meat. I could not believe my tongue as the cook was no professional but could feel that he had put a lot of passion with loads of love in it.
There are huge tea estates which makes the place insanely beautiful. There are plenty of places to visit most of which can be visited by walking. Be sure to ask Aditya to guide you. Although he has provided a very informative booklet in all the tents but a discussion with him over a supper will make it even more interesting.

Room Tip: Read the information booklet provided in the tents carefully. You may not be accustomed to the jungl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    27
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

we drove from cunoor through the beautiful lush vegetation,tea gardens,and lots of pepper and coffee. .The drive was very nice.We followed the directions given and Aditya was there to welcome us about 3kms before the camp.I was expecting a normal good tent but to my pleasant surprise it was a tent which could take on best of the rooms.lovely beds, excellent mattress and a nice hot shower.It even had an Air con.
the sit out was so nice the view from there of the jungle and tea absolutely breathtaking.
Food was excellent and our host Aditya explained us all about the local, food and the places to see around and we had nice music after dinner. It really is a little gem in the evergreen forest of wayanad. I will highly recommend it to all my friends .

Padsa

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

As per the reviews on trip advisor we selected grassroots, wayanad as our travel destination this vacation. Since we were traveling with two kids under the age of 2, we booked way in advance. Expectations were very high. But we were sadly disappointed. The package boasted a lot of facilities and things to do. But nothing was delivered.

There was no welcome drink, tea time snacks, hot water, as promised in the package.

The In charge, Aditya did not provide any assistance during the two day stay. It was also hard to get any help. In short this was the most disappointing trip I ever had. I will not be going back there for sure, and would not recommend it for families.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked Grassroots for our 2N,3Day stay. Aditya (the owner) was incredibly helpful and enthusiastic Person.

We reached at 3:30 PM and still he allowed us to settle down and then invited us to finish our lunch as were traveled all the way from Bangalore.

The Lunch was amazing.. Actually every meal was extremely tasty and there was variety of food to try for like Malasian Chicken Curry, Authentic Kerela Food, Roti, Soup, Fish, etc etc.

Specially the deserts were superb.

When we open the door of the tent we were amazed to see how cozy the tent was .....with all amenities (AC, Mini Fridge (which was filled with coke,biscuits and lot of other things.),television,etc...) with a beautiful view and Chirping of birds and sound of insects.

Specially during nights as it was raining we could hear the sound of raining falling on the tent clearly which was giving an impression as if we are staying in the middle of the jungle alone.

Its difficult to explain those feeling in words.... Now coming back to main points

1) The service -- Excellent.
2) The tents - very comfortable and Cozy
3) Place - Really dream come true.. Pleasant Environment with excellent view.

Mr. Aditya is really maintaining such a beautiful place with so much of passion
and his dedication towards his customers is really appreciable .

He arranged a guide who took us in a Jeep to show us 7-8 local sight seeing around.

My compliments to Mr. Aditya for his hospitality. We will surely come back soon to stay for another long weekend.

Room Tip: Take the Tent number 4 or 5 (Most recommended) as you get a better view of the mountains around you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

As promised to Aditya (who owns and runs the show) that we will be back by September 13, we were there in August itself. in my last review i had said that Red Earth Kabini an excellent property run by Adityas father has a very healthy competition from his son, i think the son is still a step ahead.

Aditya who told us on our asking that the Outlook Traveler team stayed at his property before writing their report in the magazine did he do something extra for them, His answer was I TREAT ALL MY GUESTS SIMILAR.

The tents are clean, no unwanted intrusions by the staff, food is very good and above all Aditya wants to please and serve. We had a very relaxing and a wonderful time at GR and as i said to Aditya Red Earth is bigger but GR is better. (sorry Ravi)

The food taste and variety needs a special thumbs up. The dinning area is small but adequate for the size of the resort.

Aditya needs to stock up on reading material more novels etc and needs to dust the old books once. The cat is still there and so are the horn bills.

God willing we will be back next year August 2014.

Room Tip: Go for tent no 4 or 5 for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Chirping of birds, occasional drizzling, lovely view of the tea plantations, coshy rooms, nice food, no unwanted interruptions and a neat service. This is how I would sum up my stay at Grassroots. AC, fridge, television and fan were there, but those were unused luxuries with the pleasant environment and lovely views offering much more to enjoy. Very clean bathrooms, but hot water is on request. The options in food were limited, but the quality and quantity made up for it. Whatever you ask for, there is never a no for an answer. Pramod was particularly very pleasing and provided excellent service. Every little thing has been thought of and planned. Where else do you find two umbrellas, a torch light, extra bedding, quilts, and snacks at your disposal when you enter. All these were handy during our trip. Enjoyed my stay. Would be back soon....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We travelled to Wayanad in Jan'13, zeroed down to Grassroots for our 2N 3 D stay. We had a very happy and relaxing vacation. This places is lush green, there are 5 tents within this property.

The tent is very tastefully done and has all facilities. Another highlight for the trip is food that was served. Every meal was very tasty. We really loved Puttu and Kadala curry. Host - Aditya is very enthusiastic and friendly. Had a great vacation! Thanks to Aditya and his team. Keep rocking young man, all the best!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grassroots Wayanad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassroots Wayanad

Address: Koilery Kunnu via Pinangode | Pozhuthana Post, Kalpetta 673575, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassroots Wayanad 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grassroots is at the foothills of the Vythiri ranges with the majestic Chembra peak to the left and the Banasura/Kuruchermala to the right. The property straddles a tea estate and has a swift flowing river with a Pannia (a tribe found in Kerala & Tamil Nadu) colony at the edge of the river. Set on a three acre slope of coffee, areca nut and pepper, Grassroots overlooks the tea plantations planted during the colonial era. A quaint stream below forms a general area of activity for the scattered population of tribals and other residents. The Banasura range of mountains beyond completes the picture, making it truly magical. Accommodation is in Luxury Swiss tents, spacious and plush with every amenity that the discerning traveler would want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grassroots Wayanad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassroots Wayanad Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grassroots Wayanad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.