We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my honeymoon made the best by them...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banasura Island Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banasura Island Retreat
Save
You added Banasura Island Retreat to your Saves list
Kuttiyamvayal,Varambetta P.O | Padinharathara, Kalpetta 673575, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 67 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
1 review
“my honeymoon made the best by them...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was in double mind wen i heard of banasura island.. whether it will be worth.. But ohh my gosh.. wat a gr8 hospitality is there in this resort.. the manager shahjahan.. d driver n guide rajesh chettan.. n the best the restaurant there.. i just cudnt resist the fud provided there.. Hatts off to Rajesh chettan for his guidance who showd us half of wayanad within 3ndays.. n alas we had to pack our bags n go home.. but m eager to visit them again..

Room Tip: Single cottage - the view that it provides will match none...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    23
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were in wayanad banasura island retreat during the month end of january. We enjoyed the stay over there. The managers are very down towards and expecially the food is very good.
They prepared foods matching the tamil nadu style also.

Since summer started in january, we are not able to enjoy the beauty of wayanad at the core. Even then we enjoyed the trip because of the resort.

Hope to come again and stay during season time.

Room Tip: If newly married go for single cottage or Nallukattu. If going with another pair, go for twin sharin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbator
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The resort will provide you a picturesque experience undoubtedly, and if you can really afford around 7/night you can enjoy the individual villa they are offering. The food is good and you cant afford to complain, but nothing left in the resort to enjoy a long weekend. Those who prefers a night or max 2, its fine. Planning for a long weekend - lookout for other resorts as well. Managerial staff are friendly enough, no phone connections in the rooms and the charges for food and water it bit on expensive side, so before confirming the rooms, better to have a rate card enquiry with the manger, so you need to spoil your mood on checkout, they charged us heavily on tea and water as well. My thumbsup who wishes to spend one or two nights there....

Room Tip: Independent villas will provide you a better view, so go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A wonderful setting at Waynad forests.The cottages are superbly located giving a great view of the waters. The rooms are well done and well maintained. The food taste is average and needs improvement in taste.

Room Tip: Single cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

What a view! The view from our twin cottage verandah was exactly as the one shown on the website - lake with the submerged islands and surrounded by green hills. This place totally scores on its location. The rooms in the twin cottage are very neat, each with its own balcony. The washroom is spacious with good quality fittings. The Living room could be furnished better with a sofa etc., currently it is very basic with only a dining table. The verandah attached to the living room is very spacious and meant for large groups to enjoy time together while taking in the brilliant view. The second night was a full moon night and the reflection in the lake was picture perfect! The nights and early mornings were misty & chilly and the view was breathtakingly serene. Given the location, away from any inhabitance or town, Shahjahan the Manager went out of his way to please the guests with a decent buffet, but a little more attention can be given to the taste factor. Our wish was their command and they served us appams for breakfast, which was very tasty. We had an issue with the latching system for the main door and balcony latches were weak…he made some temporary arrangements to make us feel safe. The resort is currently quite basic for the rate charged but I am sure things will improve. The beautiful location, speed boat ride and Kerala Ayurvedic Massage (included in our package) combined with Shahjahan’s hospitality were the highlights of our stay.

Room Tip: Twin cottage and Single cottage have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This was our honeymoon trip, which I booked at the last moment because our thailand trip got cancelled. I was little upset about my Thailand trip.

I reached on evening Dec 3rd 2012, we had a warm welcome, our room had Kerala style construction with two balcony. Right away went to dinner, I should mention the food was "AWESOME". With lot of variety. We have enjoyed the food for 5 days and we loved each and every dish. My wife even made a note of some of the recipe.

Now the location where the resort itself is located is so beautiful, you have to see it to beleive it. One side is covered with forest and otherside with backwaters of banasura dam. I used to wake up early , just to capture the beautiful sunrise. The rooms were very neat, there is no AC, It was cold during night and day AC was not necessary.

We stayed here for 5 days, without a special mention about the managers Shajahan and Binoy and there staff this review is incomplete. They took care of us like we were part of there family.

My wife enjoyed a lot in the water streams, loved the place, food and the care taken for us. She said I would not have enjoyed so much if we had bein to Thailand.

I would visit to this place again .. Love this place and staff here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've just returned from a wonderful holiday in Kerala and Banasura Island Retreat was one of our stops. The location is wonderful - amazing views, lovely walks. The accommodation is very comfortable. We were in the main building and benefitted from a wonderful balcony which was a superb spot to gaze out on the lake and birdwatch. The staff was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was very polite and friendly. The food was outstanding and there was plenty of it much to the delight of my 15 year old son! A thoroughly enjoyable experience which we would love to repeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banasura Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banasura Island Retreat

Address: Kuttiyamvayal,Varambetta P.O | Padinharathara, Kalpetta 673575, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Banasura Island Retreat Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banasura Island Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.