We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality, good food, mesmerising views from the hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Green Plantation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Planet Green Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Planet Green Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Manjilamkoli,Chuzhali | Via KSRTC Depot, Kalpetta 673121, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 68 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hospitality, good food, mesmerising views from the hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very good hosts. Excellent walk through the tea and coffee estates.. Beautiful sunset and good host ramakrishna and Justin guiding our way through ... Recite facts about the local food , culture , etc

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    131
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
155
101
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

#1 STAFF WAS GREAT. #2 VIEW IS BREATHTAKING. #3 Grounds are very nice. #4 Way out if you want to get away.
The staff tried so hard. Note this a westerner's review.
Beds are awful. Mattresses like boards and the pillows were so thin. (they did try to make it better and moved us to a suite and got somewhat thicker pillows). Food is more a Home stay and not a resort. You have a general request of type of food, but it is family style.
Lost electricity at 3:30 in morning on last night. Turned out to be a breaker or fuse, but we ended up getting ready in the dark to leave the last day.
No AC, more for humidity. No Screens on windows to keep out bugs. NO HOT WATER (I asked and was told to flip the lever to the left and turn on hot and wait 5 - 10 minutes. I complained again and just assumed no hot water. Someone else checked in on our side of hotel the last day of our visit and the last morning there was scalding water that I could not make warm. (Had to bath with a bucket) Wireless only on the other end of the hotel. (I manage IT services and this would be an easy fix with 3 or 4 CISCO Wireless Access Points (WAPs) and a single controller for a small investment. It would provide seamless wireless throughout property.) Linens should be checked and thrown out if torn, stained or worn. I expected (a travel agent booked it) 4 start hotel and ended up feeling like I was camping with a TV. Last suggestions, keep the property litter free (the area down the slope under the tree house had litter scattered all about), spend some money on some paint, new furniture, a few rugs, some throw pillows and some local art or textiles for the walls. It would warm the place up and keep rooms looking updated, clean and less stark.
Value your staff, they are amazing and I gave three stars due to their efforts. Most likely my travel agent's fault, but my expectations were not met in the hotel. People and guests, yes. Property, no.

Room Tip: Stay to the right of the office facing the building if you want wireless access and uninterrupted ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Resort is 5 km from kalpetta bus station. Once you go there you are in for an experience unlikely to be topped. We were a family of five and everything we needed was available at the door step within a matter of minutes. The view from the balcony is gorgeous and almost tempts you to stay at the resort rather than go for other spots in wayanad. All services promised were available better than you would expect. Food was simply superb. You can give your preferance in advance so that you find what you want. Dont plan for dinner outside. The prices are very economical and the quality of food is top notch. Service from the resort staff Mr. Radhakrishnan, Mr Akshay and Mr Justin is very pleasant. They are the most friendly and caring people you are likely to see in a hotel. Mr Radhakrishnan also took us for a 6 km walk around the nearby plantation. The driver suggested by the resort (Mr Aziz : 9447297990) was so friendly and service minded that we ended up visiting his place and spent an hour drinking payasam (local sweet drink) with his family after sight seeing. No bargaining required as the prices are so nominal and the experience is so good that you are likely to end up showering praises on them. This is the best hotel experience i have ever had. Suggest this place for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We (couple) stayed here for 3N/4D in 3rd week of November 2013. I would like to call Planet Green Plantations more as homestay rather than resort. And when you say homestay, everything is as comfortable as you are staying at home. This is one of the budget hotels in Wayanad but still rooms are quite good. They are always well maintained & clean. Intially you feel like the space is cramped and there is not much space to move around in resort but once you enter room, its a different feel. Rooms are spacious (Premium) and view is excellent. There are plenty of trees, birds, butterflies in front of you along with huge tea plantations. And you also get good view of Chembara peak although it depends on weather how dramatic it will look. Another point I was really happy about was that rooms had proper cotton mattress instead of springbox bed. I felt this as huge plus point as it gives excellent sleep compared to spring mattress which you find in most hotels. Hot water is available throughout the day. Candlelight dinner with cake was arranged for us as per package. Staff at resort are excellent and they take very good care of you. Mr Radhakrishnan & Justin were very helpful to us throughout our stay. Mr Radhakrishnan in particular will offer lot of local information about surroundings if you are interested in talks. They will also take you for a walk to adjacent tea plantations. Its little long walk and mini hike to reach the place but its worth it once you get there. You get good views and from one point, you can also view nice sunset, if you are willing to walk a bit more. You can go as many times as you want. Food is excellent as you will find at home. They always ask you what you prefer for each meal. So each time you can make specific request if you want. We enjoyed local kerala food on all days and it was excellent. Internet WiFi is suppose to be available but router had problem when we visited so we couldn't connect to internet from room. Although Asif offered to use computer/internet from front office if you need to any urgent task. Overall I would say its a great place if you just want to relax for few days (which is excatly what we did) and not bother much about sightseeing. Although cab for sightseeing is also available if you ask. Shaiju is one of the driver who works here and he knows all places and road very well and more importantly he speaks excellent Hindi so that's a plus point. Since we didn't really wanted to go for much of sightseeing, we loved this place eventhough its bit isolated. Overall a very good experience.
-Abhijt & Shyamala

Room Tip: Go for premium rooms. They are at upper level so offer good view and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had seen from the earlier reviews of Trip advisor on this resort regarding the excellent treatment they got from the staff of Green planet foundation resort. Now I understand that they had made understatements. It is something to be experienced than to believe what some one says. This type of overwhelming cutomer care, not only from the staff but also from the management compensates any shortcoming about this resort. That does not mean that there are short comings.
As a regular tourist staying in so many resorts and Hotels I always feel that the following four are the most important requisites for a comfortable and pleasant stay. 1. Ambience of the Suit or Room which gives you nice feeling and peaceful sleep. 2.Food 3. Cleanliness of the bathroom and 4. The spontaneous and instant care from the staff. This resort is excellent in the first three and outstanding in the fourth.
Mrs. Aparna Anand, the M.D of the resort, whom I have not seen or met personally, co-ordinated everything from the booking to my other needs, sitting far away in Belgaum, just by phone itself. I was very much impressed with the way she spoke on the Phone and explained and organised all my requirements. There is no wonder that the staff also reverberate the nature of their boss in their dealings with their cutomers. The only short coming if any one can say about this resort is that it is not in the walking distance of the shopping complex or any other urban facility. It is away from the main road in a quiet place, overlooking the valley below. . If you are going in your own car then you have to tell them in advance so that they can send some one to pilot guide you in a motor cycle, otherwise you will find it difficult to reach the place on your own.
But I do not consider this as a set back, especially when you are coming from big city life, and looking for a peaceful and green environment with the balcony overlooking the valley and getting up in the morning hearing the sound of the birds. And there are people like Radhakrishnan and Jestine keep coming to attend to your needs, instantly with smiles all the time. The best thing I liked than seeing the local attractions, is walking tour organised to the nearby tea plantations and stream under the guidance of Mr. Radhakrishnan who keeps you amused with interesting facts and informations throughout your walking tour and speaks many languages. Mr.Asif, Raghu and Jagdish at the reception Office are there to attend to your calls and organise with all the care and alertness. All the transport requirements and visit to local attractions are taken care by them. And they keep asking you whether you have any problem.

The food was very good and the most important is the very moderate rates make you feel that you do not need outside restaurants. Wifi signal was very good in the room. The solar heated water was very hot available all the time. Even though I stayed there FOR THREE DAYS only, But I felt sad when I left the place, indicating that it is a home away from HOME.

Room Tip: All the rooms are overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

When I decided to spend holidays @Waynad, I sent out mails to few resorts asking for some details. Mrs.Aparna is the first one to respond with all details. From there on, Mrs.Aparna & her staff supported as relentlessly. Right from the reservation onwards, communication with the resort was very good.
We (two) spent 4 N/D (in first week of Nov’13) in Planet Green Resorts. It was a ‘MEMORABLE’ stay for us. The resort team guided us to spend the holidays leisurely but also took care of us very well.

About Resort location – I am speechless. Resort located in a beautiful location with balcony facing the majestic Chembara Peak. It’s a breathtaking view from balcony. It was beautiful moments spending some time in balcony watching Chembara peak and tea estates. Enjoyed the view of Chembara peak from Balcony. It is located between Tea estates with birds around and it is cool. Also there is small stream passing through the resort and we had wonderful time there. It was wonderful to stay amidst so much greenery.

About Room – Rooms are spacious (stayed in Premium room) and well maintained. The view from the balcony is nothing short of spectacular. Bathrooms are neat and clean with latest fittings.24 hrs hot water supply with solar heater with battery backup available. If you are a nature lover, this is an ideal place. LCD TV also available with cable connection. As Tea estates nearby, once we had a morning walk with mist around. We also went to Tea estate for evening stroll.

About Staff – Staff are courteous and very humble. The resort staff are very friendly and helpful and always at your service.

You feel at home though we are in a resort which is a commercialized property. They took care of us very well. It was a local bandh during first day of our visit to Wayanad. But we were not bored at all as Akshay & Justin took us to nearby Tea estate. We spent about 2 hours in tea estate and it was a nice & wonderful experience. Thank you Akshay & Justin. Not to forget Radhakrishnan who took care of us for food. He revealed many things about Wayanad & local history. Staffs are very friendly ensuring our comforts. Good thing about staff is their personal attention. They were our local guides by suggesting locations to be seen with route map. Overall Service was outstanding with special thanks to Mr.Radhakrishnan,Mr. Akshay & Mr.Justin.

About Food – We are vegetarians and initially we were worried about food. But thanks to Mr.Radhakrishan, we had very nice ‘kerala’ style vegetarian food. We had ‘homely’ food and it was prepared as per our instructions. Food is very tasty and made to order to our taste. Not to forget yummy ‘Avial’ and it was too good. Food was delicious and incredibly affordable.
Overall our stay was comfortable and Aparna & team need a pat in their back. It was a memorable stay and looking forward to visit the resort again. Resort is in Excellent Location, Homely Treatment, Tasty food and value for money.
Thanks to Mrs Aparna, who was so polite right from my booking to arranging all my requests in resort. It was a great and memorable vacation for us. Thank you Mrs.Aparna.

Room Tip: Premium suite is better though all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Awesome Hospitality!!!!! No words for the great service provided!!!.. The rates were very reasonable and didn’t show the crookedness of hotel business.. The ambience of the resort was good but don’t expect a 4 star+ resort ambience. you can consider it as a home away home :)..
Great co-ordination done by Aparna. Also so by Radhakrishnan who took care of us very well, especially my kid..We felt like he is our family member.. We went for trekking and he was carrying my kid almost all the time with no words of any complaint...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Planet Green Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Green Plantation Resort

Address: Manjilamkoli,Chuzhali | Via KSRTC Depot, Kalpetta 673121, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Planet Green Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort has the best view from all the rooms of the Mount Chembra, the highest peak of Wayanad. There are two types of rooms- 4 nos of Premium apartment suites having approx 675 sq ft full furnished drawing room, two balcony, bedrooms, two balconies and six rooms with balconies and 300 sq ft excellent quality rooms. There is a mountain stream inside and the resort is surrounded by tea gardens and natural forests.We can arrange trekking, camp fire, tribal dance, archery classes and tribal cuisine. River walk, rafting, tea garden walk etc are other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Planet Green Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Green Plantation Resort Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet Green Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.