We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANNAPARA HOME STAY -EXCELLENT RETREAT WITH NATURE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annapara Home Stay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Annapara Home Stay
Save
You added Annapara Home Stay to your Saves list
Vythiri, Kalpetta 673576, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 67 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“ANNAPARA HOME STAY -EXCELLENT RETREAT WITH NATURE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wow ... What an amazing life time experience we had for 3 days in Annapara - Eco Friendly Hotel.Location is a Virgin land of Nature ,peaceful ambience, Passionate,dedicated, and Friendly staff along with freshly prepared Home Food (Kerala Cuisine).Best example of food was my son hogged the food more than his Mom's food...There was lot of indoor acitivites for kids and adults including the swimming pool...it is fully surrounded by greenery of Tea,coffee, cardamon estates including the private water falls,trekking activities,Nature walk etc....we relished the nature and surrounding which forced us to click more than 1000 snaps during our stay....We strongly recommend that mimium once in life each one of us must experience....
JK & Family - Dubai,UAE - Dec 2012

Room Tip: Total presently there are only 5 rooms ( Max 15 people) hence if like minded group of same frequency...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    19
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
29
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Getting to Wayanad from Bangalore took us 7 hours, primarily because long stretches of road on the Kerala side are in pathetic shape. Annapara is 3.5 km off a highway and fairly easy to find. The rooms are lined up in a long building - around 6 rooms with a small verandah outside each and this overlooks a small yard where you can park. The rooms face a plantation and Chembra peak a couple of kilometres away. There is hot water 24 hours which is pretty convenient as you tend to want to shower after a walk in the plantation.

For entertainment, you can go for walks into the tea estates or to waterfalls and suchlike, around 30-40 minutes away. They have a large sitting/dining area which is covered by a tiled roof. There's a carrom board, small bookcase and a music system. Next to this there's a space to play badminton and they have strung a net there. There's a bonfire space and beyond that another sitting area which overlooks a decent-sized swimming pool. All very neatly maintained. Though there is electricity available only between 6:30-10:30 pm, you tend not to spend too much time inside anyway.

The food is tasty and thankfully does not contain coconut oil in everything, quite unlike most place in Kerala. Its mostly South Indian fare, but it gives the impression of some variety and not just Mallu cuisine. We asked them to make us some pakodas to have in the evening and these were delicious. They serve you tea and coffee in your verandah when you wake up.

Shibu and Praveen are the people onsite and they are extremely attentive and friendly. They are not that fluent in English, but you can get by with English or Hindi with them.

Its a good idea to carry insect repellent and a torch. We were pretty happy with our stay till the morning we had to leave and found that one of us woke up with a huge number of insect bites on arms and legs. Once we reached home, we found that 2/3 of our group all had these bites, and since we didn't have them the night before, it must be something in the rooms. They need to do some serious fumigation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Like most of the Waynad region, this place is scenic and lush green all around. The home stay is so aesthetically done that it blends extremely well into its surroundings - the small little things like the lanterns, little wooden tea tables shows the attention to detail in keeping it simple and closer to the nature. The service was excellent, the staff (Praveen esp) were extremely knowledgeable on birds; and they mentioned, earlier they would have guests ask about birds and they weren't able to provide much insight, so they bought books on birds and spent time understanding more so they can provide details to the guests who were interested in bird watching. This commitment to customer service is just one of the examples; they truly were committed lot and made our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: If you want to be busy with your gizmos, this is possibly not the place, there is no electricity, ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

During our stay we were the only guests there and all staff took great care of us. The rooms are simple but cosy and well designed.
The bathroom was adequate and always had hot water with a good pressure.
There is only electricity from sunset until 22:30 but that was enough for us to read and recharge cameras. The care-taker will put a petrol-lamp outside the window of the bathroom and another is on the terrace.
For us the food (breakfast, lunch, dinner) was great with a lot of variety.We enjoyed the early monring tea/coffee which was brought to our terrace in the morning.
The climate was great. Warm and sunny during daytime and cool and fresh at night.
It was really quiet there.That was a big relief after the noise in the cities. It was nice to relax in and by the loevly swimming-pool with great view.
We were taken to a view-point for sunset.
One day we went for a little walk to a waterfall with natural swimming pool.
The views of the tea- and coffee-plantations were just great.
We really recommand this place for those who like peace, fresh air and very friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Trust me ! Excellent place , Excellent people in Annapara, Excellent food , Excellent service , excellent atmosphere. Looks like each and every thing has been placed after lots of thoughts of customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

One of the finest and memorable experiences we had as a family. I highly recommend to anybody who wants to get out from the daily montony, chaotic and stressful life. The place is in the middle of a friendly forest. No electricity. You are one with the nature. The hospitality was extremely good. Kudos to Praveen, Shibu, Kitchen in charge and the security person. Rooms are very neat. Bathrooms are well maintained. You have dining area, bonfire area, amphi theatre, a shuttle court and a small swimming pool which is optimum in size depth and breadth wise. A very small library with some books to pass time and carrom board can keep you engaged in late evenings. A small trekking for about a KM will lead to a waterfalls. Upon reaching, you feel as though it is a private waterfalls gifted by nature to you. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Gaude, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A house in the middle of the tea, coffee and pepper fields, a really good place to relax and spend time. The house is very well equiped: badbinton, swimming-pool with an amazing view over the mountains! Hospitality was very very well, Shibu and Praveen are very nice, and they explain us a lot of things about the fiels, the animals: very interesting! The food was very good also: sweet taste for india and very natural! So a really good place to discover jungle and nature in confort and in very nice atmosphere!
A place to see and where you will have one of your best memory in india!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Annapara Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annapara Home Stay

Address: Vythiri, Kalpetta 673576, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hideaway in the mountains where the serene atmosphere seeps through your pores and embalms the soul. It is ideal for a reunion with family & friends, a romantic getaway for couples, an open spa for stressed urbanites and a retreat for the Nature Lover, Bird Watcher and Outdoor Adventurer. Activities include Walks/Treks along picturesque trails through sprawling plantations & Rain Forests, Amateur adventure activities and Splash in the Waterfalls & Natural Pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Annapara Home Stay Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annapara Home Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.