So here we are, 50% into our Karnataka Kerala trip about to land up at the most expensive room we've stayed in, and this place is a bummer. From no housekeeping boys (the courteous front desk guys came and helped clean up) to ANT infested (yes hundreds of them in all rooms on the 1st floor) rooms, I just cannot under-recommend this hotel enough. And I've recommend some 35+ hotels already.
The root cause? Lethargic non-existent hotel staff & an absent owner/manager.
- Ants. You cannot be seriously running a hotel with the first floor OVERRUN by ants. The small bitey types.
- Cockroach. I had a BIG NASTY one crawling on my laptop bag. Immediately squished it but not a good feeling, eh?
- No housekeeping. The poor front desk guy only turned up with the broom etc - but they quietly complied with our insistence to change all linens/spray the replacement rooms
- Not busy at all. We are the only guests. Feels sorta eerie.
- Off the main road (600M). Deserted and definitely not the place where you'd wish to wander out at night - esp when Kalpetta main road has dozens of ok looking hotels.
- Lousy errr nonexistent room service. Woodlands hotel is better (smaller/ bit cramped rooms but old world fashioned) - the bed tea has just arrived by 7am, the breakfast should hopefully happen by 830am. Gawd - like I have nothing to do but wait, eh? In contrast, in Alpen Glow ( http://www.tripadvisor.in/ShowUserReviews-g641714-d1172442-r89662628-Alpen_Glow-Madikeri_Kodagu_Karnataka.html#REVIEWS ) the owner herself made YUMMY breakfast sufficient for a mini army starting 730am & all ready by 745am. Even woodlands hotel has breakfast by 730am.
- Slightly bad design of rooms - not comfortable if you turn up with enough suitcases - not enough places to keep stuff (all on the ground). Though money has definitely been spent in the construction but not well thought out. The hotel itself has been constructed with lots of money but no thoughtful touches.
- Sleep was absent despite a good bed because of ant fear - woke up thrice in the night to check for them!
- Inadequate quilts for cold weather. The nights are quite chilly and their quilts are fit for summer not winter chill. Again, lack of application of thought.
- In a suite of 2 joined double rooms, one room doesnt have TV - but the outside lobby had it. Lack of thought again?
- At Rs 1350 a night, you frankly have better alternatives. This isn't worth the headache. Not like the view is to die for.
In summary, its not an unfixable hotel. Its just alot of small things gone to the dogs by the current management. Minor additions, sensible & efficient staff and it could be an awesome place. But as it stands, avoid this AWWW-some place atleast in 2011 unless the management changes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review sir...
Report response as inappropriate
we have fixed up all the issues you mentioned as our drawback.
Hoping to welcome you back again ..,,.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.