We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay in the Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gates

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green Gates to your Saves list
Green Gates
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   T.B. Road, Kalpetta 673122, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 68 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Bangalore
1 review
“Comfortable Stay in the Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

Myself and my hubby had freezed our holiday option on Munnar & Kumarakoam, Thekkady. But due to bad weather and roads being closed in Thekkaday we finally choose "WAYNAD".

Now came the most difficult part of choosing right accomodation. Both me and my husband are a little choosy about it, with constraints like hotel being close to places of visit, neat, clean and well maintained room, good bathroom, good service etc....Little did we have the time to check reviews on Waynad hotels....Thanks to our software field....

I got in touch with a holiday planner agency called "Signature Holidays" and booked Green Gates Hotel/Resort through them.
I knew the way to Waynad was through Bandipur and what better than a private CAR , be the best to see the deers, elephants, etc and the nature of the forest.

Though its a *** hotel its equivalent like to a **** resort with good landcaping done around it, swimming pool, having dinning area both inside the hotel, in the lawn and an additional with a roof top dinning area.

We had booked for a delux double bed room which had a spacious room and a dressing area , bathroom with a bath tub, and 24hrs hot water supply, Care was taken even to give moisturising lotion and coconut oil, which can be generally found only in 4* hotels or above that...

The best thing that I liked about the hotel was hotel staff insisting on telling him when he could come and clean the room and bathroom , change the towels and bedspreads when we told them that we had to visit some places and would be late so they cud do it the next day.

And they promptly came and cleaned the room when we returned back to the hotel in the late evening.

will not forget to mention that the hotel location is such that first day we went in one direction and covered lakkidi view point, pookat late, waterfalls
Next day we took another direction and went to kuruva island, jain temple, sujipara waterfalls,
The last day we had been to eddakkal caves.

Buffet breakfast was really good. Both Veg and Non Veg food is was pretty decent in the lunch buffet.

So if Vytri resort is expensive on your pocket one can definitely try "Green Gates."

  • Liked — Spacious clean room and outer view of the hotel and pool area...
  • Disliked — Situated in the city, wud have been best had it been nears the mountains or near lakkidi view piont
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    80
    35
    9
    10
See reviews for
75
57
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

We stayed for a night at Green Gates on our way to Calicut and one of the reasons we chose GG was because of its accessibility - right in the centre of Kalpetta town. The hotel is fairly well-maintained and despite the weekend rush, the service was satisfactory. However the food was disappointing, especially the buffet lunch and dinner which were part of the room package.

The rooms are fairly large and accommodated the 2 extra beds we required, very comfortably. The cleanliness levels are acceptable.

Though the hotel is located bang in the middle of town, since it is located on a small hillock a few meters off the main highway, one isn't subject to the traffic and related hustle-bustle.

Overall, I would recommend Green Gates for a couple of days' stay while visiting Wayanad.

  • Liked — A nice play area which kept our children occupied
  • Disliked — Buffet food was very poor; their a-la-carte food is much better
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

This is a very average hotel with very friendly people. I guess the people are the only reason why anybody wants to go there. Their property is badly managed, rooms and their furniture are worn out some rooms have views of a hoarding sticking out (so much for "god's own country"). Food is average, Ker la food is better cooked than the other foods. They sell a package all meals inclusive. There is no buffet on the week days, but you can pretty much order what you want. But the highlight of our trip was river trek at the kuruva dweep, do not miss it. Take Ram (travel ad visor ) with you as a guide, he knows every stone out there. the other place we enjoyed was the edakkal caves. That was a bouncer! we had no clue what so ever that we had to climb so much to reach the pre historic cave with tribal carvings. It was well worth it. we were hungry by the time we descended. the meal at the edakkal hermitage made our day.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coimbatore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

we the two familys of six members stayed in this hotel five nights. Being three star hotel it is a only best hotel in kalpetta, wayanad.The rooms are good and its been cleaned everyday by house-keeping staffs.The food is very good. The quantity of the food is large.The staffs are very helpful to us.The atmosphere of the hotel is very greenish.It is easily acceicable from the town.
Their aurvedic massage also good.We recommend this hotel for a honeymoon couple and family get away.
Rajasekar

  • Liked — house-keeping and room service
  • Disliked — bathroom of the massage centre
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

I stayed at Green Gates, Kalpetta, Wayanad, Kerala Hotel.
My experience are as below
1. Worst hotel, I have ever stayed
2. All rooms have some problem or other
3. Some rooms have transparent glass on the bath room to facilitate voyours.
4. No hand towels
5. Stinking Waiters
6. Waiters barge into the room
7. Poor interior
8. Acquired lice, as the linen were really not good.
9. Breakfast without options.
10. Good tour guide
11. Hopeless reception staff
12. Not worth the money you pay

  • Liked — None. Changed room twice
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gates

Address: T.B. Road, Kalpetta 673122, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gates 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green Gates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gates Hotel Kalpetta
Green Gates Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.