We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food but couldn't eat outside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Terrasse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de la Terrasse to your Saves list
Hotel de la Terrasse
Route de Vasterival, 76119 Varengeville-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food but couldn't eat outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Came here with 3 friends for lunch. The fruits de la mer platter was lovely and the staff were really friendly. However, it was a lovely sunny day and we were disappointed that despite outdoor seating we had to sit indoors and look out through the windows.

We recommend a little walk down to the cliff to walk off the food- it's a really lovely view.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    27
    23
    16
See reviews for
25
80
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Varengeville -sur-Mer is a beautiful area well worth a visit. Gorgeous scenery, lovely village, dramatic coastal views. Unfortunately, there are not a lot of options in the area for overnight stays, and while the view from our room was pretty with its' vista of sea and stars, the overall property is mediocre. The exterior of the building looks quite charming, however, upon entering the lobby reception area, there was a very strong odor of fish emanating from the kitchen of the restaurant, which is also in the hotel. Our room on the second floor, was fairly basic, and while that isn't necessarily a negative, it could have been cleaner and better maintained (old discarded water bottle found in the corner of the room, broken toilet seat). We had dinner in the restaurant. The service was friendly, helpful, and responsive, and the meal was OK. The best part about the place is the walk down the hill to La Mer, with its' dramatic high cliffs and boulder-strewn beach. Try to catch the sunset! It offsets the drawbacks of the accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varengeville-sur-Mer hotels

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have been visiting this hotel since 1987. It used to be in the Logis de France which describes its level and the fact that they are usually fully booked without paying to be in the Logis any more says it all. If you want all 2010 mod cons and 5 star luxury this will not suit. The hotel is old , sweetly and simply furnished with basic modern amenities including wi-fi (not 100% reliable )fairly new en-suites. We have always found it clean and comfortable . I do not expect more for the 62e price we paid for our room with sea view. The food is up a star or too and very reliable, sometimes with a less formal style. The owners are curteous and polite, may be reserved on first meeting but warm up easily when not snowed under with customers.
Local walks and car tours are a delight.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a wonderfully French small country hotel, that lives up to all expectations. Hidden away down a country lane with magnificent view over the sea, very quiet, superb food, with a strong seafood bias. The no frills rooms are simple but spotless and comfortable. The owners very efficient and welcoming.

The rooms have recently been redecorated and new bathrooms fitted, (not all rooms have both bath and shower), but the towels have probably served their time.

It makes a short week end trip to the area an annual excursion which we all greatly enjoy as do the friends who come with us. We have returned for at least the past ten years.

The value of both accommodation and food is excellent. We will be returning again and have told many friends about this little hidden gem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and it never fails to delight us. Although the rooms are basic, the views are wonderful and the atmosphere is very French. It has been in the same family since it was built and the old photo albums are fascinating. The village has a marvellous patisserie/boulangerie, a beautiful ancient church overlooking the sea, a Lutyens manor house and gardens and the also the world collection of hydrangeas!

Room Tip: Ask for seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Some winding roads through foliage, unexpected near the sea, help you reach La Terasse. Overlooking the cliffs towards the Channel/La Manche, it has indeed a nice terasse. Lobby and staff are inviting. Small but cosy rooms all with different furniture and outlook. Do not expect television or internet, this a place to rest and relax. The restaurant has a variable and large menu of choice, not to mention the wines. Good service and even better food. And a view towards the setting sun.

Room Tip: Arrive early or reserve, best rooms go quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

It was awful, don't even think of booking a room there! First of all, we didn't have the choice to have only the room, so by booking a room we HAD to take also the demi-pension, which meant that we had dinner and breakfast in the hotel's restaurant. You cannot really choose what you eat since they already decided for you. The food was tasteless and when we got to order the desert they told us that they've run out of what we was supposed to have and offered us something else, quite disgusting. Second, the room is extremely small and on the top we had behind the door mushrooms growing, literally! It's an old building with carpets everywhere that probably no one ever cleaned under them hence the mushrooms (and we stayed on the 2nd floor). It does not have such a great view as they say on their webpage, maybe because the windows were dirty! We are a young couple and it was easy to notice that almost everyone around us was 80 years old and plus! so boring. All in all.. just avoid, there are many other nice places around the area, much better quality price ratio. For instance, we had a great experience and I do recommend to check bonaddresse.com, La Saulniere villa was amazing, the lady was super nice, the room was very clean and cute.. it was the best accommodation we had during this vacation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Terrasse

Address: Route de Vasterival, 76119 Varengeville-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Varengeville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varengeville-sur-Mer
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Terrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Terrasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.