We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great food, convenient location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burleigh Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Burleigh Court Hotel to your Saves list
Burleigh Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burleigh, Minchinhampton, Stroud GL5 2PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minchinhampton
Atlanta
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, convenient location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a hidden gem. It is not in a town and is very hard to find because the sign coming up the hill is not visible. It is on extensive property, beautifully landscaped and well kept gardens and has spectacular views. The view from our room (rm 5) was fabulous. The room was not huge, but was comfortable using the electric heater (which we found in the closet) in the evening and early AM. The food was excellent, and the staff was very helpful. Our room was in the corner, so we had views in 2 directions. Complementary sherry in decanter in room, alolng with shortbread
(and the usual tea-making stuff). What a find!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the few rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    33
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
87
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We happened across this place after a long search for b&b's around Stroud. It is a beautiful Georgian mansion with village views. A very welcoming, friendly and peaceful place to stay, with one of the best dinners I've had in my entire life! Sad to leave, and definitely hope to return one day. There is also a lovely lounge area, overlooking the valley, where you can have per or post dinner drinks. The staff were exceptional!

Room Tip: We had room number 3 and it was spacious, clean, comfortable and with full facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We have just spent a long weekend at The Burleigh Court to celebrate our daughter's 30th Birthday. We booked a superior room and they upgraded her to a superior also. Staff are friendly and provide an excellent service. Food is of a very high standard. Have afternoon tea on the terrace looking at the beautiful sights across the valley. Fully deserves a five star rating. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of single night stays and the service is super, very friendly & helpful the even remembered I prefer a duvet. Rooms are slightly dated , but very clean and comfy. The food is superb at dinner - I have had some outstanding meals. It's a pity they still charge extra for wifi . I will be back again though as its a very relaxing place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our second visit in 2 years and the welcome was just as warm. The house, grounds and surrounding countryside are just as lovely with great walks and pubs nearby. The website has recently been updated which was well overdue and shows the hotel in a much truer light. Local ales are available in the lounge - all good and distinctive and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Service was also beyond criticism, genuinely friendly and unobtrusive. The hotel's pool is one of its features which we love but it was looking a little sad this time. Possibly the awful weather prior to our stay contributed, but a daily clean with a net would clear most of the leaves and debris. Had one been available we would have gladly done it ourselves. The water was very cold which was apparently due to a faulty heating mechanism. It didn't bother us but I can understand how others would be less understanding. This is a quality hotel charging a commensurate rate for all rooms, food and drinks. With that in mind it did slightly annoy and disappoint us that wi-fi was chargeable - a facility whch once established costs the same regardless of use. Overall, a relaxing, stress-free weekend and still a hotel we would recommend for a treat.

Room Tip: First-Floor rooms are the largest and 5, the front corner room has stunning views over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton under Needwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Lovely country house hotel with stunning views and relaxed atmosphere. Restaurant food very good and public rooms comfortable and relaxing.

Room Tip: All the rooms look over the garden or the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

i have just returned from a visit to highgrove the garden of Prince of Wales we stayed over night at the Burleigh Court after chicking tripadvisor ?
First, it is very hard to find in the middle of the summer, and would be imposible in the dark
second, the food is very poor both my wife and i left ours, as it was cold and geasy
this was not helped as we were the only customers,
I did not sleep well because i was very hungery and the beds were very hard
i would not recomend this hotel but the vue is very nice
stuart

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burleigh Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Court Hotel

Address: Burleigh, Minchinhampton, Stroud GL5 2PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Minchinhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minchinhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Burleigh Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Burleigh Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burleigh Court Minchinhampton
Burleigh Court Hotel Minchinhampton, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burleigh Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.