We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Romantic weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burleigh Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Burleigh Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burleigh Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burleigh, Minchinhampton, Stroud GL5 2PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Minchinhampton
uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Romantic weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Although the weather was awful (snow and Ice) and the drive is on a slope it wasnt too tricky. Once we arrived the staff were very polite and welcoming. Walking into the bar/lounge was lovely, with a big open fire and comfy chairs. Room was excellent, comfy and clean and with a lovely view over the valley. Food was excellent both at dinner and breakfast, and again service was excellent. I would not hesitate in returning. Convenient for Nailsworth, and Westonbirt Arboretum.

Room Tip: corner rooms have lots of light and good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    30
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
82
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Burleigh Court is a delight - brilliant service, great food, drinks and coffees always great, staff very obliging and will serve pretty much any time. Location is stunning, gardens beautiful for a wander and a long chat with a friend, it's a regular with me and hopefully for a long time to come.
An old friend of mine stayed here recently and spoke very highly of the comfort, food and service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

It was my first trip to the Cotswolds and my boyfriend chose this lovely hotel. The hotel is only a 3 star but it should be more than that. Our bedroom was spacious, warm and very comfortable. The bar area was really nice and had a living room feel to it with bookcases and paintings around the wood panelled walls. The restaurant was also very nice, great breakfasts and lovely dinner with really interesting menu. The staff here at this hotel were very helpful and very pleasant. I would highly recommend staying here, I thought it was very good value. The views and grounds of the hotel were lovely. We too also noticed a good few ladybirds in our hotel room but this did not bother us, just thought it was very strange. If I was in the area again I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: If you book through bookings.com you can get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was our third visit to Burleigh Court hotel and yet again we were not disappointed.
As it was a new year gala dinner the cost was quite considerable, but that is the same at any
function to celebrate the New Year.
My partner and I like this hotel because it has the ambience of a country house with beautiful gardens and a view overlooking the valley (from our bedroom window) that is stunning.
Our room although fairly small was comfortable and 'cosy' and if I was to be really critical the only fault we found was the bathroom with a shower over a bath which proved precarious getting in and out (particularly if you were elderly). The only other observation we could make regarding the bathroom was that it did smell quite badly of mould or damp. I suspect that the carpeting in the bathroom and floorboards were or had been damp due to the shower glass dripping on to the floor. However, a word with the manager saw de-odourisers
being quickly placed to help rectify the problem. We were informed that the bedroom and bathroom were due for a refurb this spring and tiles would be laid on the floor.
The gala dinner (5 courses) was superb and quite rightly this hotel has a 'fine dining'
award which it justly deserves.
All in all Burleigh Court is a hotel that is delightful, relaxing with food of the highest standard.
We look forward to our next visit in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The Cotswolds on a clear and frosty winter's day are beautiful and Burleigh Court Hotel sits high up to capture magnificent views of this landscape. This was not the first time we stayed but on this occasion it was a far more memorable experience. A lovely big bedroom in the cottage alongside the hotel which was really comfortable and cosy. A fabulous bathroom with the right size bath and shower and lots of space to move around in. The hotel is very tastefully furnished and for us there was nothing to be critical of. Very attentive and professional staff. Breakfast was perfect with plenty of choice and cooked to perfection. This is worth five stars! We'll certainly return one day.

Room Tip: The cottage annex is worth every penny of the £200 cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Excellent rooms, staff very helpful and friendly, food exceptional.
Not east to find late at night in the dark but directions were good

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed here for two days on business. Lovely individual hotel - not for someone looking for bland corporate style. Gorgeous cotswold stone building, staff friendly and helpful and my room was small but perfectly formed! Two small criticisms - I much prefer a duvet to the blankets that I had on the bed. But everything was clean, the mattress comfortable and I slept really well regardless. And my shower was a bit interesting - on his tallest setting it showered my chest! I don't mind a bath instead but if you are in a hurry I could see this being an issue. But these were very minor issues. I love places like this that are unusual. So go out of your way and support the smaller hotel owners of this world otherwise places like this will disappear under the onslaught of your Premier Inns/Villages groups etc which would be a real shame. And this was so much better and way more individual. I will not hestitate to retunr next time I have to stay in the area on business.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burleigh Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Court Hotel

Address: Burleigh, Minchinhampton, Stroud GL5 2PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Stroud > Minchinhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Minchinhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Burleigh Court Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Burleigh Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burleigh Court Minchinhampton
Burleigh Court Hotel Minchinhampton, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burleigh Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.