We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at real Cotswolds Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ebrington Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Ebrington Arms to your Saves list
The Ebrington Arms
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Ebrington GL55 6NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Ebrington B&B and Inns
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at real Cotswolds Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for several days to walk and tour the Cotswolds and hike the trails. The area is as beautiful as a Cotswold postcard. The hiking was most enjoyable and the Inkeepers made our stay most enjoyable. The pub and restaurant was very good for breakfast and dinner.
Our room was upstairs and well appointed. In the morning, we would look out the window and see sheep grazing and the beautiful church across the way. Everyone was very welcoming to us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsacotswolds, Owner at The Ebrington Arms, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. One of the sheep escaped yesterday and was last seen on the village green outside the pub! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    49
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
133
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

You've found it.
-Setting - idyllic.
-Quality of the futures & fittings - top notch.
-Staff - welcoming, friendly, inclusive.
-Food - excellent
-Drinks - great selection of guest and craft beers.
-Anything else to add? I found it hard to pay for drinks! As you get chatting to the very friendly locals and they just keep buying you drinks!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsacotswolds, Owner at The Ebrington Arms, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Wow thanks for your amazing review. Glad the locals were behaving and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Did you think you'd go to the Cotswolds and find that tiny village with thatched roof cottages and roses flowing over dusky-colored stone walls? And there, in the middle would be the pub where the locals still go -- not some place just rigged for tourists -- but a community center with folks gathered for a pint on their way home? In your dreams the place has ancient stone floors, low ceilings, lace curtains, a huge hearth, a friendly barman, and a great range of interesting ales and wine-- and most of all wonderful gastro-pub dishes from delicious locally-sources ingredients? You're not dreaming, you're at Ebrington Arms!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsacotswolds, Owner at The Ebrington Arms, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks so much for your review and we're so glad you like it as much as us!! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lunched here recently with a pre-booked party, and we were told we must order from the set menu. The 3 mains were lamb and sausage grill, pollock or a veggie filo parcel - hardly a classic selection. The veggie option was bland and stodgy, and the desserts (also a fairly unimaginative selection) were flavourless. Service, however, was attentive and well paced and there was a good selection of wines, and the overall feel of the place was friendly and unpretentious. Next time, we'll go for the a la carte menu, which looked much nicer!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsacotswolds, Owner at The Ebrington Arms, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. When we have really large parties we do need to offer a reduced set menu so that service is not slowed up for other customers and we squeezed you in on a very busy service on mother's day. Hope you come back to try the full menu some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My sister kindly gave us a voucher to use at The Ebrington Arms as a weekend away. We booked in for mid-december, meaning the pub was fully decorated for Christmas and the log fires were burning nicely!

We stayed 2 nights in Room 5 complete with its 4 poster bed, and huge TV hanging over the fireplace.

The pub is at the heart of the village and it's clear that the local neighbours use it regularly to meet up over a drink. Its nice because 'outsiders' aren't unwelcome and are taken in and made feel instantly welcome.

The restaurant has some great reviews and we were keen to try the food as many times as possible. The menu should suit all tastes, with traditional pub favourites 'with a twist'.

We enjoyed our stay so much, we've since been back for lunch on Valentines Day which was equally as impressive. What made it feel even better was Sara, Sam and Jean remembering us 2 months later.

Its a great visit, whether its just for food, or to extend your time there and stay over night

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Nice Sunday lunch hardly any vegetables two tiny roast potatoes.
Overpriced but more Importantly the service was terrible!
Stood at the bar for 10 mins before a drink and waited 45 mins for a glass of wine and a roast dinner!
Watched a couple next to us they had to ask twice for a pudding they ordered20 mins before! And e bill took 15 mins! Was not that busy ...
Ok food but crap service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsacotswolds, Owner at The Ebrington Arms, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for for taking the time to write a review and sorry you were disappointed with your experience with us. Please allow me to respond to some factually incorrect points. Jim (Landlord) was on the bar all lunch service, nobody waited for food for more than 20 mins, certainly less so for drinks. We are sorry if it felt like longer. The other couple you cite asked for coffee to be brought at the same time as their pudding and never complained. Our roast dinners are served with roast potatoes (at least three on every plate), parsnips, cabbage and carrots & the cauliflower cheese is brought in a separate dish as there's no room on the plate. At £12.50 using local beef, we feel is really good value (there are photos of our roast dinner from this Sunday on our facebook page we hope any readers of your review might take the time to look at). Most of all we are disappointed you didn't feel able to communicate anything to us at the time when we would have bent over backwards to give you anything you needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We live quite near by to Ebrington but park up the car in Ilmington and continue to do a nice hour long walk with the dog. Been here a few times now, and always enjoy. the food really is excellent. visited on Sunday unable to book a table in the bar, but managed to find one up the corner lots of locals in just coming back from shoot, but friendly enough. I had the pork & homemade black pudding with apple salad. Was on the starters but i had as a main course, it was very tasty. Partner had fish & chips which he said were excellent, fish was very white, and batter looked great. Would certainly recommend, place has lots of character too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ebrington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ebrington Arms

Address: Ebrington GL55 6NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ebrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ebrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ebrington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, unspoilt 17th century Cotswold inn with roaring log fires, stunning beer garden and famous atmosphere. Surrounded by rolling hills by Chipping Campden & Hidcote Gardens in Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. CAMRA North Cotswold’s Pub of the Year award-winners 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 4 star letting rooms, and excellent homemade food (two AA rosettes, Good Food Guide, Michelin Guide). One of the few idyllic country pubs left that remain the hub of village and a hidden gem for those who find it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ebrington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ebrington Arms Hotel Ebrington
The Ebrington Arms Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ebrington Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.