We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want the perfect Cotswolds Pub?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ebrington Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ebrington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ebrington Arms
Save
You added The Ebrington Arms to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Ebrington GL55 6NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Ebrington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Want the perfect Cotswolds Pub?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

You've found it.
-Setting - idyllic.
-Quality of the futures & fittings - top notch.
-Staff - welcoming, friendly, inclusive.
-Food - excellent
-Drinks - great selection of guest and craft beers.
-Anything else to add? I found it hard to pay for drinks! As you get chatting to the very friendly locals and they just keep buying you drinks!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsacotswolds, Owner at The Ebrington Arms, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Wow thanks for your amazing review. Glad the locals were behaving and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    53
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
144
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Did you think you'd go to the Cotswolds and find that tiny village with thatched roof cottages and roses flowing over dusky-colored stone walls? And there, in the middle would be the pub where the locals still go -- not some place just rigged for tourists -- but a community center with folks gathered for a pint on their way home? In your dreams the place has ancient stone floors, low ceilings, lace curtains, a huge hearth, a friendly barman, and a great range of interesting ales and wine-- and most of all wonderful gastro-pub dishes from delicious locally-sources ingredients? You're not dreaming, you're at Ebrington Arms!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsacotswolds, Owner at The Ebrington Arms, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks so much for your review and we're so glad you like it as much as us!! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lunched here recently with a pre-booked party, and we were told we must order from the set menu. The 3 mains were lamb and sausage grill, pollock or a veggie filo parcel - hardly a classic selection. The veggie option was bland and stodgy, and the desserts (also a fairly unimaginative selection) were flavourless. Service, however, was attentive and well paced and there was a good selection of wines, and the overall feel of the place was friendly and unpretentious. Next time, we'll go for the a la carte menu, which looked much nicer!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsacotswolds, Owner at The Ebrington Arms, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. When we have really large parties we do need to offer a reduced set menu so that service is not slowed up for other customers and we squeezed you in on a very busy service on mother's day. Hope you come back to try the full menu some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My sister kindly gave us a voucher to use at The Ebrington Arms as a weekend away. We booked in for mid-december, meaning the pub was fully decorated for Christmas and the log fires were burning nicely!

We stayed 2 nights in Room 5 complete with its 4 poster bed, and huge TV hanging over the fireplace.

The pub is at the heart of the village and it's clear that the local neighbours use it regularly to meet up over a drink. Its nice because 'outsiders' aren't unwelcome and are taken in and made feel instantly welcome.

The restaurant has some great reviews and we were keen to try the food as many times as possible. The menu should suit all tastes, with traditional pub favourites 'with a twist'.

We enjoyed our stay so much, we've since been back for lunch on Valentines Day which was equally as impressive. What made it feel even better was Sara, Sam and Jean remembering us 2 months later.

Its a great visit, whether its just for food, or to extend your time there and stay over night

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Nice Sunday lunch hardly any vegetables two tiny roast potatoes.
Overpriced but more Importantly the service was terrible!
Stood at the bar for 10 mins before a drink and waited 45 mins for a glass of wine and a roast dinner!
Watched a couple next to us they had to ask twice for a pudding they ordered20 mins before! And e bill took 15 mins! Was not that busy ...
Ok food but crap service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsacotswolds, Owner at The Ebrington Arms, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for for taking the time to write a review and sorry you were disappointed with your experience with us. Please allow me to respond to some factually incorrect points. Jim (Landlord) was on the bar all lunch service, nobody waited for food for more than 20 mins, certainly less so for drinks. We are sorry if it felt like longer. The other couple you cite asked for coffee to be brought at the same time as their pudding and never complained. Our roast dinners are served with roast potatoes (at least three on every plate), parsnips, cabbage and carrots & the cauliflower cheese is brought in a separate dish as there's no room on the plate. At £12.50 using local beef, we feel is really good value (there are photos of our roast dinner from this Sunday on our facebook page we hope any readers of your review might take the time to look at). Most of all we are disappointed you didn't feel able to communicate anything to us at the time when we would have bent over backwards to give you anything you needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We live quite near by to Ebrington but park up the car in Ilmington and continue to do a nice hour long walk with the dog. Been here a few times now, and always enjoy. the food really is excellent. visited on Sunday unable to book a table in the bar, but managed to find one up the corner lots of locals in just coming back from shoot, but friendly enough. I had the pork & homemade black pudding with apple salad. Was on the starters but i had as a main course, it was very tasty. Partner had fish & chips which he said were excellent, fish was very white, and batter looked great. Would certainly recommend, place has lots of character too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just two and a half hours on the train from Clapham Junction with my bike (£20 return ticket with a Network Card) already wearing my thermals and a winter jacket in preparation for the snow and sub-zero temps as I had no more room in my small backpack (big enough for a few days change of clothes) the train delivered me on time, traffic jam and motorway free into Kingham, the heart of the beautiful Cotswolds on a crisp sunny Sunday morning ahead of Monday's forecast of 'arctic' weather. It indeed turned out to be a very accurate forecast. I had secretly wanted to be snowed in and decided against taking my roadbike and switched to my mountain bike for safety against the treacherous ice which would inevitably form once the beauty of the powdery snow had melted and refrozen. Not so much fun on a road bike but with care & caution, ok on a mountain bike. From the station I cycled over the Cotswold HIlls via the classic villages of Lower Slaughter (pitstop here in the gorgeous Mill Cafe by the river waterwheel on stone tables and seating), Longborough, Blockey, Chipping Camden into the sanctuary greeted by warm welcoming staff and equally warm log fires of the Ebrington Arms in the beautiful village of Ebrington. If only every one of the Ebrington Arms guests who are physically able, could dispatch of their cars and arrive by bike and have their senses stimulated by the sights, sounds and smells of experiencing the Cotswolds by bike. So good for the soul, inspiring and sure blows the cobwebs away. To all those cycle commuters either on road bikes or hybrids in Clapham or south London who daily head into central London and disappear in the spring or summer to the French Pyrenees or to watch the different stages of the Tour de France no need to go so far there is something quite special just outside of London and an equally special place to stay.
 
Too much snow and ice to cycle Monday so I walked through the fields after breakfast to Chipping Campden. My great discovery later that afternoon was Huxley's, a recently opened, very stylish coffee and wine bar. In one room, Chesterfield-type armchairs in front of a log fire burning in the most beautiful hearth surround, the other room, a more refined Georgian-French style type 'salon'. Stunning polished flagstone flooring and seating. Good cappuccino served in stylish artisan pottery mugs.

After a superb breakfast on Tuesday at the Ebrington Arms with great coffee in a gorgeous breakfast room with a large vase of big yellow daffodils on a sub-zero clear, cloudless blue-sky day I delayed my departure an hour for the surface ice on the roads to melt in the late morning sun then headed off to Broadway. My pitstop today was to stand high-up on the hill overlooking Broadway and the many counties beyond from the Broadway Tower surrounded by snow and ancient moss covered trees with a chai latte in a white china cup and saucer from the 'Morris and Brown, At The Tower'  barn cafe in the late afternoon sun under clear blue skies was breathtaking. To then witness a large Barn owl in flight with its beautiful fawn coloured long wingspan and white underbelly looking to swoop on prey in one of the fields stopped me in my tracks on my ride back to the Embrington Arms(via another pitstop at Huxleys for a glass of wine in front of the fire). Earlier cycling up from Broadway just before Broadway Tower in the woods by the road I spotted a beautiful  fox with  a red-orange coat  with white chest and jowl  in close
proximity in the snow. It  gave me the once over and scurried off-beautiful. Britain at its best.

My ride back to Kingham Station,Wednesday, this time, was via Paxford, Blockey, Moreton-in-Marsh, Evenlode, Oddington (lunch at the excellent
'Fox Inn') and then a cappuccino pitstop at the Daylesford Farm Shop & Cafe before getting on the 3.30 back to Clapham. Was home at 6pm!
Moreton-in-Marsh station is much closer to Ebrington but you get to see more of the beautiful Cotswolds and work up more of an appetite if coming or leaving from Kingham.

Loved, loved, loved my Room 1 overlooking the peaceful village , the mushroom soup (I think with a drizzle of truffle oil), lemon meringue nest dessert and the breakfast marmalade with homemade toast, luxurious sheets & bathrobe, comfy bed, beautiful bathroom with quality tap fixtures and local handmade soaps from the village and bedroom decoration. Message to the landlords, Claire and Jim, you have to one of the best in Britain. Don't change a thing. Your staff are awesome (especially Jean-Marc, Sara & Stan).

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooks the village. Beautiful and cosy room with alot of character and stunning bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ebrington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ebrington Arms

Address: Ebrington GL55 6NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ebrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ebrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ebrington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, unspoilt 17th century Cotswold inn with roaring log fires, stunning beer garden and famous atmosphere. Surrounded by rolling hills by Chipping Campden & Hidcote Gardens in Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. CAMRA North Cotswold’s Pub of the Year award-winners 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 4 star letting rooms, and excellent homemade food (two AA rosettes, Good Food Guide, Michelin Guide). One of the few idyllic country pubs left that remain the hub of village and a hidden gem for those who find it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ebrington Arms Hotel Ebrington
The Ebrington Arms Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ebrington Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.